8/27 River AMPS:383 +2:292 +4:182 +6:101 +7:95 +8:124

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picknickchick

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

6:30 383 (21.3)
6:30 3u Lantus *
8:30 292 (16.2)
10:30 182 (10.1)
12:30 101 (5.6)
1:30 95 (5.3)
2:30 124 (6.9)

* I increased the Lantus to 3u

Fed canned Wellness at 6:30 and shredded roast chicken at 8:30.
 
Re: 8/27 River AMPS=383 +3=292

Hello, I don't think I've visited River's condo yet... He's such a handsome kitty.
Good luck with the new dose!
Enjoy your day :-D
 
Re: 8/27 River AMPS=383 +3=292

Thank you for the good wishes, Josie. I just looked at Ripley's profile, and she is a doll. I love her hattitude and big heart.

I know this isn't correct for insulin dosing, to increase the dose to 3u after increasing it to 2.75 from 2.5 two days ago, but the quarter unit for 2.75 is very difficult for me to see, so I think I might be giving a scant 3 units anyway.

Best wishes to you and Ripley,

Lara
 
Re: 8/27 River AMPS=383 +3=292

Hi guys .. I don't think I've been to River's condo before so welcome from us .. love the crown :-D Good luck with the new dose, I hope you see some nice numbers! have a great day!
 
Re: 8/27 River AMPS=383 +3=292

Thank you, Sienne and Gabby. I hope the 3 gives a good result, without the big highs and lows of last week.
Your cat pics are great, and I especially love the photo of Gabby's favorite box. I think I belong to a Flickr cats in boxes group (along with cats in sinks, cats in bathtubs, cats in baskets...)

Peter, thank you for the nice hello! You have a Mocha Jo Latte, and I have a black cat named Java.

The FDMB is a Godsend to me.

Regards,

Lara
 
Re: 8/27 River AMPS=383 +3=292

Hello Lara & a big welcome to you and River from another Canadian! I'm in Winnipeg.

As you can see from my profile pic Papaya is definitely a "cat in box" type girl too, I'll have to look for that Flickr group :lol:

It's good you're starting to see some lower numbers with the higher dose. (And I'm really glad you started hometesting on a regular basis regardless of what the vet may have advised!)
 
Re: 8/27 River AMPS=383 +2=292 +4=182

Hello Amy,

Your little fang-child is adorable. She's certainly travelled many miles with you. River has flown across Canada with me three times, but Papaya has definitely racked up more Frequent Flyer miles.

Just checked Flickr and there are 4 cat + box-related groups:
- Cats and Boxes
- Cats Like Sitting in Boxes/Cats Sleep Anywhere
- Cats in Bags/Boxes
- The Cat Box - for cats who are box addicts

Speaking of, I recently bought my cats a very deluxe water fountain, which they're utterly indifferent to, but the box it came in was a big hit.

May I ask you, which Friskies Pate flavours do you recommend? I would like to give these a try, but this is a food I've never considered. I use Fancy Feast pates, and I hate to admit it but often the cats prefer those to the expensive raw food I make.
 
Re: 8/27 River AMPS=383 +2=292 +4=182

Lara - I usually alternate between the Friskies chicken dinner and the ocean-whitefish-and-tuna pates, since I know fishy stuff isn't the best for cats but she gets tired of the chicken if that's all I offer. They are both 9% carbs - at least I'm assuming the chicken is since it's not actually on the wet food lists I can find on this site, but I am assuming it's the same as the other poultry-ish pates! Then I keep the turkey & cheese shreds around too for if I need a bit higher carb.

I used to feed the Fancy Feast until a couple of months ago (after trying every variety of better quality wet known to man, and getting snubbed) but Papaya bounces A LOT and it turns out what she needed was a little higher-carb in the low carb range. Kind of weird because I figured if low carb is good, lowest carb would be best, but for her it's not. And I have to say I don't mind paying half the price for food :lol:
 
Re: 8/27 River AMPS=383 +2=292 +4=182 +6=101

12:30, and 101 (5.6). I'm getting a bit nervous because that's a very low number for him, from 350+ to 100 in a few hours.
Is this okay/normal, or should I be concerned?
His behaviour seems fine.
 
Re: 8/27 River AMPS=383 +2=292 +4=182 +6=101

River dropped 50% in the first 4 hours. We usually like to see a 50% drop by nadir and it looks like River did a 75% drop. It's a little fast, so if you are home, you might want to get another test.

He's still safe, above 50 but have your supplies ready just in case.
 
Re: 8/27 River AMPS=383 +2=292 +4=182 +6=101

Thank you Deb & Wink!
He was at 95 (5.3) at 1:30, and I'm going to test him again at 2:30.
I'm going to the office for the rest of the week, and I don't want him going too low!
 
Did you stop giving him the higher carb Orijen? I noticed you have crossed it out in your signature. It's probably a big reason why you are seeing better numbers.

River looks safe to me, headed back up but still in those pancreas healing blue numbers.
 
Yes, the Orijen is history, but he hardly ever got it anyway. I'm wondering if yesterday's bupe made some difference.
But I'll gladly take *any* reason for lower but not too low numbers, though, and never did the phrase "healing pancreas" sound so sweet.

Now, I'm wondering if he's going to be bouncing high for the next couple of days, and if I should do something like give him 2.5u in the PM and 3u in the AM. I don't want him going too low while I'm in the office for the next 3 days. Over the long weekend, he will hopefully have had some time to settle into the lower numbers. Or another thing I could do is give him some carbs with his +2 breakfast. Leaving food out means I would have to lock him in the bathroom, because my civvies are chowhounds. Hoovers. Mieles. Dysons.
 
Leaving food out means I would have to lock him in the bathroom, because my civvies are chowhounds. Hoovers. Mieles. Dysons.
Oreck, Eureka, Kirby. :lol: :lol: :lol: Yup, I've got a couple of those also. ohmygod_smile Sometimes, before Wink got on a feeding schedule and I was able to switch him from free feeding, I had to put him in the foster room. It's a nice space and he did fine. Sometimes, you do what you have to do, so for me, that meant isolating Wink to make sure he got enough food to eat.

Yes, there may be a bounce. We'll have to wait and see. I wouldn't suggest a different dose AM and PM. We try to maintain the dose the same each cycle so the depot does not keep filling and draining.
 
Oreck, Eureka, Kirby are kind of cool cat names, actually.

Tomorrow it'll be the bathroom or the deck, depending on the weather. You got to do what you got to do, indeed. It'll keep me from climbing the walls.

One more question (maybe): should I be doing some serious nighttime testing, now?
 
There's the expected bounce from those low green numbers (that 95). River is in liver training school. His body is not used to lower numbers, so it pumps out counter regulatory hormones to bring the BG's back up to what it considers normal. His body may think 200's are more normal for now, so panics and bounces that number back up to what it considers a safe zone. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. Be patient.

Well, we always suggest at least a "One last test before you go to bed" test, to see how different that is from the pre-shot. Since Lantus onsets around 2 hours, a test at +2 can give you an idea of the direction the numbers are headed. If that +2 is much lower than the pre-shot test, it's a good idea to do a few more tests that cycle. That lower +2 often indicates an active cycle, where the numbers will drop lower, sometimes much lower.

Don't know if your +2 and last test before bed would be at much different times or not.

Sienne always says, "If you aren't testing at night, you're missing half your data." We never like to have people set their alarms to wake them up in the middle of the night, but in some circumstances it is important to do that. I don't think that is the case yet with River, but cats can always surprise us and do something unexpected.

River is leading this sugardance, we are simply following along the best we can.
 
Thank you Deb & Wink, for this great advice.
Now that it's Game On, I'm going to be doing more testing.
I just see that as my part of getting him to healthy.

It was really great to see how much more alert he was looking today.
Thank *you* for your patience and help!
 
"Alert looking" is telling us that he is already feeling and doing better.

Remember, River is much more than a set of numbers. The 5 P's, peeing, pooping, purring, preening, playing in combination with his appetite are the clinical signs that give us the WCR or Whole Cat Report and are a great way to start off your daily condo and tells us how River is feeling.
 
Noted.

Actually, up until now, he's been so tired. From the diabetes and from the effort of getting better. Something helpful I learned here in the last week is that getting better is tiring, as his body adjusts. Now I don't get quite as stressed about it.

But I was so happy today to see that old perky head-tilt and look of inquiry in his eyes, communicating with me.

My boy is coming back. cat_pet_icon
 
Hi Lara!
What a beautiful cycle for River!
I am also very glad to hear that River is feeling good in the lower numbers.
It makes me so happy when our kitties pre-diabetes behaviors return. :-D

Remember to be patient when he bounces!!! (<-- not easy :lol: )
 
Oh, Mariko, it makes such a difference to now know what a bounce is! If you look at the earlier months of my spreadsheet, my vet didn't want me testing "too much", so most weeks I'd test only on Sunday, and my vet would prescribe more or less insulin the next day based on that. No wonder River didn't improve. I feel so much hope now, because I have a little bit of knowledge, and kind people like you to help.

Best wishes to you and Miss Lucy.
 
Deb/Wink said:
We usually like to see a 50% drop by nadir...
I'm not sure who "we" are nor do I know where this observation came from. Given that some of us will shoot numbers in the 50s, I would hope that I don't see a 50% drop by nadir! FWIW, a "typical" Lantus curve is flat. Once a cat is regulated, there won't be a huge variation between pre-shot and nadir. Elian's SS is a good example of a "flat" curve.

You asked earlier if the drop from AMPS to +2 was big. Again, in a perfect Lantus world, you would see a spike in numbers at +1 due to the influence of food. By +2, numbers would roughly be close to your pre-shot. When you see a much larger drop by +2, it's often a signal that numbers will be dropping further (aka an "active" cycle) and you should be attentive and monitor to see where the numbers are headed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top