8/27 Reuben AMPS HI +6/377 PMPS 437 +2 461

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

Reuben continues to wave 'Hello' from the platform, and got a dose increase of .25u this morning after 3 full cycles at 2.0u - more than half of which time he spent up on the platform. He is keeping himself hydrated, resting well on the bupe and pepcid, and yesterday evening ran around outside with Zack for a while. His bean is practicing patience.

All the messages yesterday were my mantras all day long... read and re-read - I came to understand that this is just the way it is!

I`m sorry I didn`t answer the last three msgs :oops: so here it goes...

Dale - I looked at your spread sheet and wow! Inspiration! I appreciate you taking the time to describe your journey with this, it.helped.so.much!
Tracy - Thank you so much for the information and support! I started the pepcid again, along with the bupe, while we wait for the cerenia, which will be in the pill form. The long term use of the pepcid sounds good, we'll try that!
Leslie - When you put it that way, well yes, there IS progress and new knowledge - and that is all I can hope for! Thaaaaaaaaank you ...

:YMHUG: Hugs to all the kitties and beans, we are all fighting the good fight! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI

Hi guys .. Reuben, aren't you tired of being way up there? I don't think any of the kitties are playing on that floor! I know how hard it must be, to consistently see such high numbers .. but take a deep breath, remember you are doing all you can for your little one and know we are all here for you!! Hang in there!!
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI

Hi, I'm sorry about the "HI" amps! It does sound like the bupe, Pepcid is helping. And running outside with Zack. I bet that was nice to see. I hope you get the cerenia soon. Sending Reuben more healing and feel better vines.
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI

Hang in there, Alexa, ok? Chances are that Reuben wanted more insulin, and with the increase to 2.25u just now, the shed is still catching up. I know those highs are upsettng to see. We're here for you. Vent when you need to, alright? Don't bottle up that frustration. Won't do you or Reuben any good.

Sienne reminded you of the option to be quite aggressive with increases, and she's absolutely right to do so. At Cycle #4, on the 2.25u, if we're not seeing movement, get ready for the possibility of the next increase. This part of the sugardance is rough. Chasing those high BGs. But there WILL be a point when you've got ahead of things. And things will become easier.

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI

Jane, Okay, I`ll be ready for the early increase. I`m drowning myself in music, it`s keeping me sane! I started to see a little neuropathy last night, so gave him vitamin B water... And I'm plying him with liquids in general, although he is plying himself pretty well. I know now not to think that seeing numbers and colors for a day means that the Goth Dance is over. My bad!! :lol: Thanks for everything Jane!

Ann - yes the pepcid does seem to be helping now, yeah! no throwing up at all last night (the bean loooved this) And no, I hadn`t thought about checking the meter... hmmm... it`s not a bad idea to have a back-up anyway, this is a good time to make that happen. Thanks!

Devon - Let`s see if the dose increase turns the 'going down' light on at the elevator stop on the rooftop terrace!!! :razz:

All we can do is follow protocol and give the best medicines... and the TLC medicine to of course sweet snuggly cat! I must get a picture of him up!! The one I tried was the wrong size, then I went to a site to resize and it kept crashing the computer. Hmmm, I`ll try a different way!
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI +3/408

Yeah Rihannon, that`s the site. I must have just been doing something wrong... I`m going to try again.

I'd settle for some yellow grass on the other side of the fence :lol:
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI +3/408

Yay an actual number for Reuben at +3!

I've got an email from Dr. Timian regarding pancreatitis treatments (she's an internal medicine specialist) let me know if you'd like me to pass it along to you.

Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI +3/408 +5/415

Uh, okay, looks like we`re surfing the low 400's... beats waving at the crowds from the rooftop terrace :lol:

Tracy - oh yes please! that would be great! thank youuu so much :razz:
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI +3/408 +5/415

Hi Alexa. It's a good idea to keep email addresses in PMs rather than threads. You may want to remove i from the condo for the sake of privacy protection.
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI +3/408 +5/415

Hi Alexa!

I'm sorry Reuben went up so high again! What a drag. Just remember what I said about Racci at one time being all the way up to 5u just to get out of those pinks! She's been working her way back down since and is now down to S3U with greens and blues. It just takes time and patience sometimes. ECID. Some of them are lucky enough to find the right dose the first time going up and some have to go up and then down again to find it because of other circumstances like being sick or food or a combination of factors or just because they're cats. He'll get there. I think not feeling well is holding him back right now. Every time Racci and a lot of cats don't feel well they run high bg's. Hang in there and like Jane and Sienne said, keep increasing. Sometimes it takes a few days to settle in though so be careful that he's not still bouncing but the increase really is needed.

I was wondering, is Reuben still taking ab? If not, maybe he should? Just a thought.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI +3/408 +5/415 +6/377

Hi Alexa, I see Reuben started out today with HI and instead of getting HI all day he has eased down through reds and pink, already better than yesterday :smile: .
If you have not already done it, you may want to compare your meter with your vet's meter and/or lab. We did that last time we took Jasper in, all tested from the same blood sample, our meter reads lower than the vet meter and our vet was surprised to see his meter reads lower than the lab.
Hope you and Reuben have a great day!
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI +3/408 +5/415 +6/377 +7/380

Tracy Thank you!! Much appreciated. I'll take a look this evening! :smile:

Dale - Oh yes, you helped so much by sharing your story. Way more than a little bit :razz:

Melanie - Ah yes, it's true. We are just at the beginning of the increases. Can`t get to the top of the mountain without taking lots of steps! Yes, he`s on 50mg Clavamox bid. Maybe he needs stronger a/bs.....possible.

Leslie - Yes, Pink is prettier that Black! Hmmm, you are the second person wondering about the meter... I`ll ask the vet if he has one and if we can comparison test... or like Ann says, buy another one and compare myself. Then there's comparing with my own BG - it says 104 which seems about right.

Hope everyone and their kitty cats are having a great day!
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI +3/408 +5/415 +6/377 +7/380 +9/445

Hi Alexa, it's so nice to see numbers on Reuben's cycle today instead of "HI". Can't wait to see what Reuben has up his sleeve for tomorrow. Hav e a good night.
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI +3/408 +5/415 +6/377 +7/380 +9/445

Yay - some mid-cycle numbers! Keep those numbers coming, Reuben...you can do it!!
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI +3/408 +5/415 +6/377 +7/380 +9/445

Hey Alexa, check out those +6 and +7 numbers!!!! I know they are still high, but it's a curve, nonetheless!

Reuben, come on down and join the rest of us down here!!! We would like to meet face to face! :-D Shasta is so bored right now, she's snoring! Come visit!!!!

Hope you guys have a good night with even lower numbers! ~Deborah & Shasta
 
Re: 8/27 Reuben amps HI +6/377 PMPS 437

Lisa - You crack me up!! And, he totally listened to you! :lol:

Ann - Yeah, numbers were nice! Thank you for looking in on us :razz:

Amy - Thanks for the cheering on, it helps! :-D

Deborah - He says he's looking for his ladder to climb down from the dizzying heights to come meet you and Shasta!

Have a great night beans and kitties! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top