8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 +4.5/47 (wow!) +7.5/71 PMPS/113

Status
Not open for further replies.

pixiesmom

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=103034&p=1097374#p1097374

Wasn't online much yesterday.
And I won't be home much today.

So if you all think it's time for an increase for Pixie, tomorrow would be a good
day. I can be home to get multiple tests.

Take a look at his SS and let me know what you think.
I really appreciate this board and all of you.
I probably would have hypo'ed him by now if it weren't for all of you.
(Not to mention the $hundreds$ in vet bills)
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??)

No advice on the dosing here but I wanted to stop by and say hello. Pixie is looking great! Love all the green. Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??)

If you increase, I would fatten the dose. I don't think you have all that much room for an increase.
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??)

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you increase, I would fatten the dose. I don't think you have all that much room for an increase.

Do you think I should just stay put with the 0.5U for now?
Ride it out for another week and see what happens?
Fattening the dose is not a full .25 increase... You mean just to up the plunger a bit, correct?
I am fine doing whatever.
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??)

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me either .. but that sure is a nice start to the day! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??)

Fattening the dose is not a full .25 increase... You mean just to up the plunger a bit, correct?

Yes. it would just be a smidge more....
You said you were thinking about an increase tomorrow.....
Wait and evaluate how it goes today to decide.

But with 108 start today.... seems Pixie is doing good. ( the goal is to stay under 120 after all)
Hope he is going downward ....
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??) +4.5/47 (wow!)

Just did a +4.5 and Pixie dropped to 47.
Lowest # yet.
I gave him 1 can FF (he usually get one at +6, but i won't be here)
Hoping that the can of food will bring him up a little.
I need to leave in about 45min and will be gone for about 1.5hr.
I can test him before I go....
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??) +4.5/47 (wow!)

I would definitely check again.
Looks like he earned a decrease instead.... to 0.25 u unless they tell you differently.

Must have read his condo about the thought of increasing.....
He said "no way Mum"
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??) +4.5/47 (wow!)

I think, after this reading, I will stick with the 0.5U at least for a couple more days.
Unless there is a reason to increase right now that I am not understanding...and that is ALWAYS a possibility!
He has always been a bungee jumper....
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??) +4.5/47 (wow!)

There is no need for an increase.... Pixie has shown you that with the 47.

Pixie has earned a decrease.
You have the option to go down to 0.25 u...... or it is possible to shave instead....
I would send a pm to Sienne or Marje and ask what they think.
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??) +4.5/47 (wow!)

I can't advise on the dosing either other than to say it doesn't look by the 47 that Pixie will be getting an increase!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Seems if you threaten them with a dose increase, it has the same effect! :lol: :lol: :lol:

OK Pixie, you've made your point, now stay in a nice gentle surf (a little higher, please) so your Mama bean won't worry.........
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??) +4.5/47 (wow!)

Yep, Pixie earned a decrease! Good job, Pixster! :mrgreen: Normally, you would reduce by 0.25u but that would be cutting the dose in half. On the other hand, he may do fine on 0.25u. You could go ahead and try the 0.25u and if his numbers go too high in a few days, go back to 0.5u. That's call a failed reduction and it's not a big deal.

Definitely test him before you go and give more food if he's still low.
Liz
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??) +4.5/47 (wow!)

Yeah Pixie has earned a decrease. He says, "less juice please mom."

The protocol we use says an automatic reduction is earned by a newly diagnoses kitty, less than 1 year from diagnosis, anytime they go below 50. The exception to this may be if they have just earned a reduction and a second reduction taken too soon may fail. No big deal, you increase to the last good dose.

Pixie is ready for less juice, down to a 0.25U dose.
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??) +4.5/47 (wow!) +7.5/71

Well, I love it when I threaten a dose increase and the kitty takes matters into his/her own hands and decides otherwise.

Rather than increasing Pixie's dose, the drop below 50 indicates that a decrease in dose is warranted. You have a choice. The usual decrease is in the amount of 0.25u. This would drop Pixie's dose to 0.25u. With newly diagnosed kitties, a decrease in dose by 50% is usually fine. The alternative is to shave the dose. In other words, shoot a dose that is between 0.5 and 0.25u. This is entirely your call. I suspect that Pixie will do fine on 0.25u and if not, I'll just threaten another dose increase!!
 
Re: 8/27 Pixie AMPS/108 (Increase??) +4.5/47 (wow!) +7.5/71

I hope you can find a way to threaten all sugar kitties out there.
You must have magic powers!!
I will decrease down to 0.25U tonight.
Keeping my fingers crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top