Yesterday or rather early this morning, Neko slapped the dosecrease gauntlet back in my face.
8/26 Recap:
AMPS 198 +3.5 305 +9.5 231
PMPS 180 +3 173 +4.5 110 +6 83 :mrgreen: +7 74 :mrgreen: +8 63 :mrgreen:
One of my goals this week was to try to see how low Neko was going at night and figure out what I should do about her dose. For those who aren't regular readers, Neko pretty much only goes low at night. @-) Since I am not by nature a nocturnal person, this is somewhat difficult to do. Did I also mention that Neko has no consistent nadir? And is getting less predictable. It's not like I can test at +6 and assume she's done dropping for the night. Neko as an acrocat has a working pancreas, so her numbers can keep on dropping. This is a new trend. It used to be that Neko would hit a number in the middle of the night, and then surf for a while before going up.
Last night I got that +6 and when Neko starts in blues, it used to be that around +5.5-+6 was a typical nadir. So after the +6 test when Neko wandered into the kitchen for gravy, I told her she wasn't low enough for gravy and did a one hour nap. She went even lower. :shock: I debated for the longest time giving gravy so I could sleep, but I really wanted to see what Neko was doing. So back for another power nap. Even lower! :shock: :shock: She finally got her gravy at +8. :roll: Neko might have gone even later, but I knew I'd be toast if I didn't find some solid pillow time. There was no way I could wait for a couple of increasing numbers, so gravy came to the rescue.
I'm debating shaving Neko's dose again. She didn't go below 50, although she might have if I had been awake to monitor and hadn't given her gravy. A +9 is not an unusual nadir for her. This is not following protocol, and I may have to go back up, but I'm exhausted and can't continue these kinds of nights. Cat's are snoozing, I'm so jealous, might have to join them later.
Well, enough griping. Thanks for listening. It's great to see so many OTJ trials going on and another successful one today!
8/26 Recap:
AMPS 198 +3.5 305 +9.5 231
PMPS 180 +3 173 +4.5 110 +6 83 :mrgreen: +7 74 :mrgreen: +8 63 :mrgreen:
One of my goals this week was to try to see how low Neko was going at night and figure out what I should do about her dose. For those who aren't regular readers, Neko pretty much only goes low at night. @-) Since I am not by nature a nocturnal person, this is somewhat difficult to do. Did I also mention that Neko has no consistent nadir? And is getting less predictable. It's not like I can test at +6 and assume she's done dropping for the night. Neko as an acrocat has a working pancreas, so her numbers can keep on dropping. This is a new trend. It used to be that Neko would hit a number in the middle of the night, and then surf for a while before going up.
Last night I got that +6 and when Neko starts in blues, it used to be that around +5.5-+6 was a typical nadir. So after the +6 test when Neko wandered into the kitchen for gravy, I told her she wasn't low enough for gravy and did a one hour nap. She went even lower. :shock: I debated for the longest time giving gravy so I could sleep, but I really wanted to see what Neko was doing. So back for another power nap. Even lower! :shock: :shock: She finally got her gravy at +8. :roll: Neko might have gone even later, but I knew I'd be toast if I didn't find some solid pillow time. There was no way I could wait for a couple of increasing numbers, so gravy came to the rescue.
I'm debating shaving Neko's dose again. She didn't go below 50, although she might have if I had been awake to monitor and hadn't given her gravy. A +9 is not an unusual nadir for her. This is not following protocol, and I may have to go back up, but I'm exhausted and can't continue these kinds of nights. Cat's are snoozing, I'm so jealous, might have to join them later.
Well, enough griping. Thanks for listening. It's great to see so many OTJ trials going on and another successful one today!