8/27 Neko PMPS 287 +4 157 +6.5 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday or rather early this morning, Neko slapped the dosecrease gauntlet back in my face.

8/26 Recap:
AMPS 198 +3.5 305 +9.5 231
PMPS 180 +3 173 +4.5 110 +6 83 :mrgreen: +7 74 :mrgreen: +8 63 :mrgreen:

One of my goals this week was to try to see how low Neko was going at night and figure out what I should do about her dose. For those who aren't regular readers, Neko pretty much only goes low at night. @-) Since I am not by nature a nocturnal person, this is somewhat difficult to do. Did I also mention that Neko has no consistent nadir? And is getting less predictable. It's not like I can test at +6 and assume she's done dropping for the night. Neko as an acrocat has a working pancreas, so her numbers can keep on dropping. This is a new trend. It used to be that Neko would hit a number in the middle of the night, and then surf for a while before going up.

Last night I got that +6 and when Neko starts in blues, it used to be that around +5.5-+6 was a typical nadir. So after the +6 test when Neko wandered into the kitchen for gravy, I told her she wasn't low enough for gravy and did a one hour nap. She went even lower. :shock: I debated for the longest time giving gravy so I could sleep, but I really wanted to see what Neko was doing. So back for another power nap. Even lower! :shock: :shock: She finally got her gravy at +8. :roll: Neko might have gone even later, but I knew I'd be toast if I didn't find some solid pillow time. There was no way I could wait for a couple of increasing numbers, so gravy came to the rescue.

I'm debating shaving Neko's dose again. She didn't go below 50, although she might have if I had been awake to monitor and hadn't given her gravy. A +9 is not an unusual nadir for her. This is not following protocol, and I may have to go back up, but I'm exhausted and can't continue these kinds of nights. Cat's are snoozing, I'm so jealous, might have to join them later.

Well, enough griping. Thanks for listening. It's great to see so many OTJ trials going on and another successful one today! :-D
 
Re: 8/27 Neko AMPS 136 +3.5 344

((Wendy)), I wish I had an easy answer for you.
I bet someone will provide some insight soon.
I wonder why kitties think their non-nocturnal beans function well at night :roll: and then the next day after not much sleep... Silly kitties.
 
Re: 8/27 Neko AMPS 136 +3.5 344

Nice greens last night for Neko. I can sympathize with needing sleep and not wanting to see those low greens at night.
 
Re: 8/27 Neko AMPS 136 +3.5 344

Oh Neko!
Your momma needs sleep.
Wendy, I hear you about testing throughout the night, but I'm lucky Lucy is kind of a flat girl in mid-cycles.
I really admire people who care for kitties who like to visit 3 colors in one day.
For what it's worth, Neko's last night's cycle looks good!
 
Re: 8/27 Neko AMPS 136 +3.5 344

Hi Wendy,

I hear ya on being sleep deprived. I rarely test past +3 or 4, but twice I've given R in the afternoon, and worry about a night time drop. Boy, I can't do that even two nights in a row.
Unlike Neko, at least Checks normally drops during the day.

I hope you get to make up the sleep tonight. I-)
 
Re: 8/27 Neko AMPS 136 +3.5 344 +9 320

Nice greens last night! I do the gravy too when I am exhausted. I don't blame you for shaving the dose. I would too. Have a great night Wendy!
 
Re: 8/27 Neko AMPS 136 +3.5 344 +9 320

I bet you felt like this ....all..... day......
mig
 
Re: 8/27 Neko AMPS 136 PMPS 287

+9 320 PMPS 287
Same old same old inverse day curve. I snuck a bit off the dose and will see how she does on it.

@Josie - Neko gets more sleep at night than I do. :lol: She's definitely more active during the day. I'm sort of muddling through dosing here. As an acrocat who's had SRT, Neko's in a small group in LL so it's more of a science experiment. :?

@Carla - I see Furball is doing to you what Neko does to me. Hope you get some sleep too. :shock:

@Mariko - Neko is usually a 4 colours in a day kind of girl. :oops: Her cycle last night was almost ideal - just wish she'd do more of them during the day.

@Liz - I have fallen asleep on the floor of the solarium. Kind of hard, need some cushions there. :lol:

@Barb - Lucky you for drops during the day. Neko will occasionally go lower during the day, but her last daytime reduction was mid February. :o Wish I knew how to switch her. I've been watching your R experiment. At one time I considered it for Neko but she clears bounces too fast now.

@Melissa - What would we do without gravy at night? :lol: Paws crossed the shave doesn't make her bounce worse.

@Rhiannon - I felt like I was sleeping standing up, or rather painting. :lol: I wish we could get 18 hours a day like a cat.
 
Re: 8/27 Neko AMPS 136 PMPS 287

Wendy, you have my sympathies re. those PM wakeful zombie nights @-) @-) @-) - then days.....

You know way more than I do about dosing, but I would seriously consider shaving. OK, its not protocol, but ECID, right? The protocol should withstand a little tweak here & there to account for individuality - like a bell curve.

Tigger doesn't always have a definite nadir, either, & I get scared, wondering if I can go to sleep safely after a +6. That's stressful, too, on top of sleep deprivation, so I know how you feel.

You know your own safety limits - if you need rest, then take care of yourself so you can take care of Neko. If that means shaving and / or HC before nadir, then so be it. You be rested & able to do battle another day!

And - cushions for the solarium!!!

Hope you get some good I-) I-) I-) time tonight. Maybe give Neko one of those sunlight lights - then you could turn nighttime into day & vice versa?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top