8/27 Klinger AMPS 199; +3 311; +6 496; +11 517

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good morning,
Klinger's AMPS 199, gave 1.5

Home today so I hope to get a few more tests in to see how his numbers look throughout the day.

+3 311
+6 496
+11 517

I'll keep him on 1.5 and do more spot checks tomorrow. :?
 
Re: 8/27 Klinger AMPS 199; +3 311; +6 496

Oh wow, that is some PS!!!! Scratch what I said about him maybe needing a considerably higher dose, looks like I was WRONG! ohmygod_smile

I'm a bit on the fence what to make of the #s. If this was a nice breakthrough to a good PS, I would expect to see a U-curve today. Since you aren't seeing that, I'm wondering if the dose may be too high. If you get lower #s later in the cycle, like a late drop after maybe +10 or so, I would say that confirms this dose is too high. If the #s just keep going up, well then, hmmm, cross that bridge once you have the data. :)

If you end up with an inverse curve by the time you are done testing this cycle, if it were me, I would go back to 1u, or 1.25 if it seemed clear to you from his behavior that 1u wasn't working well for him, and try to collect more mid-cycle data on that dose.

If today doesn't turn out to be an inverse curve, I would probably hold the dose & try to get more data to figure out what is going on. Although inverse curves are scary b/c you know that means their body protected them from a hypo, it's a lot more clearcut, so that's what I'm hoping for :). It would give you a clear sign to lower the dose, clear signs make life SO much easier. :-D
 
Thanks Joanna. The needles I use for ProZinc only go up in 1u increments and I have to eyeball .5u's. So, I don't feel confident in eyeballing .25u's.
Anyone else on ProZinc that use a different needle??? I get these from my vet.
 
Hmmm, back to dose looking way too low to me. :cry: Maybe the 199 was a bad reading, or just general wonkiness. It's not a low # so nothing to be worried about in terms of a risk in raising the dose - maybe it was just a glimpse of good stuff, sometimes they seem to get that but can't hold on to it.

I'd probably go up to 2u if the #s stay red or black at tonights PS.

Bix sometimes used to get a good response early on in a new dose, but then it would be lost after that, so maybe that's what you were seeing. It was on cycle 2 not 1, but could be overlap gave better response, but then his body adjusted to it and went back higher. Just speculating. In any case, I'm not seeing any inverse curve stuff that would look to me like the dose is too high, just looks too low to me at the moment.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top