8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45 +5 54 +6.25 84

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacspets

Member Since 2011
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50866

So we started our reduced dose last night. She seemed to be on a pretty standard track at +2 and at +10.5. I had to feed her before AMPS, so that likely bumped her into the reds. She purred right through the shoot which was nice. Mabye my "listen here young lady" speech did some good. :lol: We shall see what today brings.

I hope everyone has a great Saturday!
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 (just fed due to nausea)

How did you determine that Jetta was nauseated? From your SS, you said Jetta gets nauseous from an empty stomach. If this is the case, you might consider a timed feeder. Rather than feeding 45 min before shot time, you would want to give a teaspoon or two a few hours before shot time.

I suspect that red has less to do with food than it does a bounce!
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 (just fed due to nausea)

Hi Sienne,

Jetta has always vomited on an empty stomach, basically her whole life. I can usually tell becuase she starts licking her lips repeatedly and eventually retches. This morning she had a sip of water, started licking her lips, and a minute or two later, out came the water. She had been begging for food but I was trying to hold off for PS. She had food down all night, but never ate past 1 am to the best I can recall which time I checked on her through my sleep-fog. I'll be more diligent with her Pepcid and that should help a great deal. And how long can I leave canned food out/down before it needs to be tossed? Since I've always been a dry feeder (lesson learned) I'm not clear on the open food lifespan.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 (just fed due to nausea)

RE: food stability

My understanding is that the "pate" varieties of wet low-carb food are just fine at RT for 12 hrs. Smokey eats it that long without a problem. As I feed a can and a half BID, I have a lid (you could use a baggie) and put the open half can in the fridge for the rest of the day or until the next day. Then, when I feed, I either sprinkle hot water on it to heat it up (plus then Smokey gets some more liquid) or microwave it for 5-10 sec- usually the water though!

Good luck!
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 (just fed due to nausea)

Another option is to make "catsickles." You add enough water to canned food to make it soupy and then freeze it in ice cube trays, cans, etc. You can leave a frozen puck out if you're gone during the day or overnight. It will stay cold and wet for hours -- unless Jetta who's like Gabby and will start licking the frozen food.

When you leave food out for a while, just add water. It's more that it gets crusty than goes bad.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 (just fed due to nausea)

Good point Sienne- when I've been out of town, I put one can in a baggie and freeze it (out of the can- I'd never get it out otherwise). Then when the cat sitter comes (this was in the pre Lantus BID days) they would put out a fresh can and a frozen can in separate bowls and it would last till the next day.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 (just fed due to nausea)

Good Morning!!

I always water to Zoe's food...she likes it soupy which does help it stay "fresher" during the day. I have an autofeeder that I use overnight for her....put in frozen food and when it opens, she has fresh wet food. Another suggestion is plain cooked chicken breast (boil it or nuke it)....I put some of that in Zoe's feeder for +11......otherwise she is in waking me up too early. It doesn't seem to affect her PS numbers at all.

Have a good day, Jaclyn and Jetta!
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 (just fed due to nausea)

I use the Petsafe 5 compartment programmable feeder and, like the other folks said, add a bit of water to the food. It's a life saver.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 (just fed due to nausea)

poor jetta - we hate feeling nauseated. i hope she feels better today. lots of good ideas here for getting her some food throughout the night.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 (just fed due to nausea)

I can't thank you all enough for the fantastic ideas! I never would have thought of using a timed feeder with a foodsicle. That's just genius! So there IS hope that I may sleep though an entire night at some point!!!?!! I'll give some chicken a try too!
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +1.5~287 +4 43!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok- just got a 43 and this is on our newly reduced dose. I am without words. OMG. What do I do now?

Retested 44.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +1.5~287 +4 43!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Don't panic, just give a little HC, preferably just the gravy and retest in 20 minutes.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +1.5~287 +4 43!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Not panicking. Hoping her poor little pancreas is sputtering back to life. Now 45.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +1.5~287 +4~43 +4.5~45

Give a little more HC (did you feed the last test?) and test again in another 20. Wash rinse repeat until you have at lest 2 good rising numbers w/ out food.

While you're waiting review these posts:

this could be some pancreas action as well as carry over from that over full shed that gave you the 47 yesterday.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +1.5~287 +4~43 +4.5~45

Yes, fed between the 43 and 45. Some FF Gravy. I was going to ask if this could be shed related.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +1.5~287 +4~43 +4.5~45 +4.75~48

Gave her food, she was acting like I hadn't fed her in a month. Now 48.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +1.5~287 +4~43 +4.5~45

WOW....Jetta, slow down there girl....let's get up a little bit, OK??

Lather-Rinse-Repeat, Feed some more gravy and test again! You are doing great.....
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +1.5~287 +4~43 +4.5~45 +4.75~48

You are doing great, keep it up just like you are. We want to get her up, preferably at least into the 60s and the keep testing until you see that she is staying there without food.

This will probably cause a bounce in the following cycles so don't worry about that.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +1.5~287 +4~43 +4.5~45 +4.75~48 +5~

I didn't like how she was acting and rubbed the teeniest bit of Karo on her gums (I think I got some on there). She went to sit and seemed to forget what she was doing. She was staring off into space, half sitting half standing. Very weird looking. Stood there a good 20 seconds, shook her head, looked around and sat. Now she's sprawled out on her side. I'll keep testing till we're safe. Her past numbers tell me she'll stabilize and climb after +4 but who knows what sh'es got in mind today.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +4~43 +4.5~45 +5~50 +5.25 48 +575~56

Creeping up ever so slightly now. whew. I talked to my vet and let them know what was going on. Their advice was to skip the shot tonight completely to drain out the shed. They said test tomorrow AM and if above 250 give 1u. If below 250 give token dose or none. Thoughts?
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +4~43 +4.5~45 +5~50 +5.25 48 +575~56

I would wait and make that decision after you see what Jetta gives you for a PMPS number.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +4~43 +4.5~45 +5~50 +5.25 48 +575~56

I agree with Sherry. It's possible that a bit of shed draining wouldn't be a bad idea. On the other hand, I wouldn't want to see Jetta lose the momentum. Vet's get a little panicky when they hear about these numbers since most of their clients don't home test. You're doing great.

FYI - you can add a drop or two of Karo to Jetta's food. I would probably see where the next test puts Jetta's numbers and if she's still in the 50s, add a couple of drops of Karo to her food to get you into the 60s or so.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +4~43 +4.5~45 +5~50 +5.25 48 +575~56

Nice catch, Jaclyn. In answer to your question, yes this can be from a full shed. I also think you should see how the cycle goes and where she is. If she's high, you don't want to skip a shot. If she's lower, you might want to shoot a reduced dose just to keep some insulin in her and not have an enormous bounce + skipped shot effect tomorrow.

Nice job getting her up. Numbers may wobble as the karo wears off so it's important to keep testing as Ann said.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +4~43 +5~50 +7.5~56

First, thank you all for the hand holding and words of encouragement. You are all such a wonderful kind group of people. Your kitties are blessed to have you as their beans.

Jetta's been wobbling in the 50s, I can't seem to get her past them, though I"m likely missing peaks between tests. I've given her Karo twice when she seemed spacey. She's eating again now a mix of LC and MC with a few drops os Karo. She really doesn't like the HC formulas we've tried. Picky girl. I'm really curious to see what the next few hours brings us. I hope someone of you will be around at 8 pm EST which is her normal shot time. I'm sure I'll be posting/asking and nervous whichever way we go.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +4~43 +5~50 +7.5~56

These numbers are very nice and as long as Jetta is in the 50s, should be safe. I think you should wait and see too. Vets are much more conservative, most get scared to death that we can't handle numbers under 150 or even 200. WE know we need to get them under 100 for the health of our cats.

What meter are you using? A human meter or the Alpha Track? That can be significant. The AT meter is calibrated 30 points higher.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +4~43 +5~50 +7.5~56 +10 139

Hi Ann, We're using a ReliOn Confirm. At +10 she's moved up to 139. She did eat a couple tbsp at +9.5. I'll see what PMPS brings us!
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +4~43 +5~50 +7.5~56 +10 139

she might just shoot up high after getting so low and having karo/high carbs added to her system.

according to the protocol you would reduce by .25units. just fyi in case no one's around when you're ready to shoot. usually if they go high following their low episode you're fairly safe to just drop by .25 and keep on marching. of course, your choice and you have to feel safe. if she were 60 at preshot that would be a different story, but at 139 at +10, she's probably going up from here.

this is the part of the protocol guidelines i'm looking at:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +4~43 +5~50 +7.5~56 +10 139

Wow, lots of action here today!

I too disagree with your vet. Let's see what the PMPS looks like - please don't feed between now and then -
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta AMPS 421 +4~43 +5~50 +7.5~56 +10 139

It looks like Jetta is headed up nicely, but food just half an hour beforehand could have influenced that. next time if you are going to give a snack close to a test, do the test early. there is nothing sacred about testing on the + hours, just make a note of it.

Usually you don't give 2 reductions so close together as there could be residual shed effecting today's numbers. You can always shoot through a bounce and take the reduction tomorrow if one of the dosing gurus advises it.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 Shoot 1 or 1.25?

OK- haven't fed since her little snack. She is asking for food and is being really spunky this evening. I'm worried about doing the 1.25 again. I'm not sure I can be as diligent tonight as I was this afternoon. Should I do 1u just to be safer?
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 Shoot 1 or 1.25?

Thanks Sandy- I took it. I'm heading now for a nap and will check her at +2 and definitely +4 and see what transpires.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 Shot 1u- paws crossed

You did great today - I hope you have a quiet evening, and that you can get some sleep. FWIW, I would have shot 1.0 unit. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 Shot 1u- paws crossed

Just my gut feeling.
I was looking back at BKs ss, reading the comments column for the week of 06/29/2009-07/05/2009. Although ECID, sometimes reductions can come one on top of the other.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135

I do not test well at night. Just took me forever to get the +2. Anyway she's on par with previous recordings. BTB until +4.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45

HC please. You can give Jetta as much HC as you like and abort the cycle. Jetta's already earned a reduction today so you have nothing to prove. What you're seeing is left over shed action from the previous dose.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45

Sienne and Gabby said:
abort the cycle. Jetta's already earned a reduction today so you have nothing to prove

I'm not sure what you mean? Abort the cycle?
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45

I think Sienne meant give as much HC as you want now to get her numbers back up so you can get some rest.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45 +5 54

Hey Jaclyn -
Is Jetta OK?

What Sienne means go ahead and give Jetta HC, make sure her numbers rise. Add a few drops of karo as well. Just get her to safe numbers.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45 +5 54

She's not interested at all in food. I gave her a smidge of Karo. Not sure what else to do if she doesn't want to eat. OK She nibbled a bit of her favorite MC with Karo mixed in
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45 +5 54

Is she normally fussy?
I can remember Donovan plummeting at 1 am and opening can after can of HC to find one that he liked :roll:. Are you squishing the gravy out so she can lick it?
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45 +5 54

She's really picky. She's never eaten canned food before now, and she's still getting used to it...I'll go get more options.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45 +5 54

Hey Jaclyn:

Sorry....I wasn't sitting at my 'puter. Is everything ok? Is she eating yet?

eta: it's ok to take the 911 off.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45 +5 54

If you can just feed gravy (spooning it or squishing it out of the can), there's a good chance that will be a hit.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45 +5 54 +5.25 60

SHe nibbled a little. I have no more HC options. She's at 60 now and looking like she wants to nap.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45 +5 54 +5.25 60

Just like this morning, you'll have to keep testing her for a bit and make sure she is heading up. While I normally wouldn't suggest it, she's high enough now that if she will let you syringe food, you could mix HC gravy and karo to bump her bup a little more. If she'll let you syringe her. Please note you cannot do this if she's lower.....if a cat is in danger of a hypo, you cannot syringe in case the cat seizes......that's just for future knowledge.
 
Re: 8/27 Jetta PMPS 303 +2 135 +4.5 45 +5 54 +5.25 60

OK, I'll do that.

We can't keep doing this every cycle. I have no idea what to do tomorrow. :?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top