8/27 Eleanor AMPS 302 vomiting/diarrhea

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...277-3-249-6-267-pmps-250.163470/#post-1757285

I haven't posted in awhile so thought I'd give an update.
I had an early morning doctors appointment Thursday, Eleanor was too high when I left but at least she wasn't low, she seemed fine.
Got home 3 hours later to vomit on the floor and bed and three runny poops on the bathroom floor.
Her BG was 308 and it was time for her shot. I shot full dose in spite of the vomiting.

Talked my sister into loaning me money and I called the vet and was told to bring her right in. I wanted her to have a Cerenia injection to get the vomiting under control. I have
tablets but figured it would come back up.
She was due for blood work so that was done,
Vomiting resolved, diarrhea resolved, Eleanor acting like nothing had happened!

Vet called next day, said WBC was 32000. Top of the range is 19000, so this is quite high.
She is back on the antibiotic, Orbax. She just finished a round on the 19th for the skin
lesions she had. I am concerned about her having more so soon, plus I'm thinking maybe
it isn't working for what ever is wrong.
My alternative is to take her in for several days for penicillin shots. Oral Clavamox and
Amoxi make her vomit. Taking her in is extremely stressful for her, plus I can no
longer drive and a taxi costs me $43 r.t and I can't afford it.

Vet couldn't get urine from her and I have been supposed to take a sample in, but have
not been able to get it. Hopefully I can get it in to the clinic Monday so it can still go in as
part of the charge for the blood work. It's crazy, I can always catch her urine. I'll be able to
pick up a copy of her labs too, which I am anxious to see for myself.

Anyway, she has to go back in two weeks for a recheck on the WBC.
I'm worried, but trying not to think too much. I have never had a cat with a WBC this
high, who was not acting sick i.e. fever, lethargy, etc unless they had cancer.
Eleanor was fine yesterday, her AMPS today was 302, ate, had insulin, then threw up and
has had two soft poops in two hours. Her BG was probably so high because this was
brewing.

She was just lying on me, purring and kissing. I'm trying not to worry about her bg or
WBC, and just focus on enjoying and loving my girl.
 
Hi Julie! What a 'mess' you had! YUCK!

I'm no help with the WBC, I always depended on others to help me with that but I really should buckle down and learn it. Would the vet give you the penicillin shots to give at home? I don't know if syringes can be prefilled with that - guess that's another thing I need to learn too.

Boy I can't do much to help you today but I give good HUGS and HUGS! Hopefully someone else will come along soon that can explain...
 
Hi Julie! What a 'mess' you had! YUCK!

I'm no help with the WBC, I always depended on others to help me with that but I really should buckle down and learn it. Would the vet give you the penicillin shots to give at home? I don't know if syringes can be prefilled with that - guess that's another thing I need to learn too.

Boy I can't do much to help you today but I give good HUGS and HUGS! Hopefully someone else will come along soon that can explain...

Thank you Lyresa I can use those hugs!
That was quite the job cleaning up after Eleanor!!
This vet doesn't send home injectables. My previous vet sold me a vial and syringes on a couple occasions. I switched from him because of the much higher cost ( for example blood work $350 +$35 draw fee, urinalysis not included, same blood work at same lab with current vet $169 + $16 draw fee w/ urinalysis included). Plus he insisted a "little sugar" in liquid meds would not hurt Eleanor.
I'm thinking about taking her in to see him when I get a copy of her labs just to get injectable antibiotics. I honestly don't know what to do anymore.
I hope things are going well for you!!
 
Your vet may not like to send you home with injectibles to draw yourself but what they may do (mine did for Vyktor) is let you pick up the ready drawn shot and take it home to shoot yourself since you are experienced with giving subq shots Will be a pain for you going back and forward to pick them up (you can't leave the doses sitting in the syringe for long so you'd have to go back and pick it up fresh for each shot) but if the orbax hasn't worked so recently that's what I would do. Some are better kept cold until you shoot too so you might need to take a cold pack with you. Definitely worth an ask.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I also have a cat who can not take Clavamox. The antibiotic he gets is Zenequin. I don't know if it would work for what is ailing Eleanor but that's what he gets when he needs antibiotics. It is a pill.
Hugs and vines and throw in some chin scritches too! ( for Eleanor :cat:):bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top