8/27 Curry AMPS 243. +1.75- 84 2.5 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tena and Curry(GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23369

Last night was not my best effort in this. Curry was doing her part....I pooped out. Got a 134 at PMPS which was a really nice number. My vet sd to shoot a lower dose if she got below 140. Just see what may happen. I also think he is very tuned in to where I'm at w/all of this.


I could have waited the 30 minutes to retest for a higher number and shoot, but honestly, I was too darn tired to deal w/any scuba diving numbers last night. I feel asleep on the couch got a couple of values last night and went to bed at 9:00pm. If I could gone to bed earlier, I would have.

So its a new day....I've got a bit more energy and I shot a .5.

Happy Friday.
 
Re: 8/27 Curry AMPS 243....momma bean too tired last night

I can appreciate your wanting to shoot a BCS dose if you knew you were going to be unconscious and were concerned about Curry's safety. And now here's my "However." Your vet is not thinking about how Lantus is use. He's thinking about the way other, shorter acting types of insulin work. With short and intermediate acting insuliln, the strategy is to slide the dose based on pre-shot numbers. It's the pre-shot BG that dictates dose. This isn't the case with Lantus. With the long-acting types of insulin, it's the nadir that dictates the dose. We get pre-shot numbers to make sure it's safe to shoot. I'm sure you've seen this statement in any number of condos -- Lantus likes consistency. If you shoot different doses at each shot time, there won't be a consistent amount of insulin in Curry's shed. You won't get those flat curves that you're looking for with Lantus. So, that's my long winded way of saying that your vet's advice is not consistent with Lantus dosing strategy.
 
Re: 8/27 Curry AMPS 243....momma bean too tired last night

I guess it's nice that you vet is there for you when you call like that. You have to do what you have to do Tena.
Hope Curry's shed will fill back up soon ...her numbers were looking so good and she will get back to some nice blues soon.
Happy Friday!
 
Re: 8/27 Curry AMPS 243....momma bean too tired last night

Sienne and Gabby said:
I can appreciate your wanting to shoot a BCS dose if you knew you were going to be unconscious and were concerned about Curry's safety. And now here's my "However." Your vet is not thinking about how Lantus is use. He's thinking about the way other, shorter acting types of insulin work. With short and intermediate acting insuliln, the strategy is to slide the dose based on pre-shot numbers. It's the pre-shot BG that dictates dose. This isn't the case with Lantus. With the long-acting types of insulin, it's the nadir that dictates the dose. We get pre-shot numbers to make sure it's safe to shoot. I'm sure you've seen this statement in any number of condos -- Lantus likes consistency. If you shoot different doses at each shot time, there won't be a consistent amount of insulin in Curry's shed. You won't get those flat curves that you're looking for with Lantus. So, that's my long winded way of saying that your vet's advice is not consistent with Lantus dosing strategy.


So, at +1.75 Curry decided to go scuba diving....She's at 84 now.

Yeah, I agree. And the vet does know. He's had another owner on lantus who was able to get OTJ. He's being cautious...Monitoring the owner and the kity.....As he sd, most owners don't monitor like we do....He knows that I'm not always able to be home for the low nadir numbers so he's going slow w/guiding me to shoot the low pre-shot numbers if that makes any sense. He said 140 yesterday since her lowest had been 147......that number he suggests has been slowly going down over the past month. First it was 200, then it was 180, then it was 170 and yesterday it was 140. So I think he's pacing me. I chose not to wait the 30 minutes to retest....I definitely was a zombie. I had actually planned to stay home this morning as I initially thought I could stay up last night, but my body said NO. So I listened. And I'm also listening to you Sienne and do appreciate the feedback.
 
Re: 8/27 Curry AMPS 243....momma bean too tired last night

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I guess it's nice that you vet is there for you when you call like that. You have to do what you have to do Tena.
Hope Curry's shed will fill back up soon ...her numbers were looking so good and she will get back to some nice blues soon.
Happy Friday!


So Curry didn't want a Blue Day, she wanted a Green Day. Eco-friendly kitty. She's a +1.75 = 84. Heck, she just wanted some gravy....got tired of the chicken dust and fish flakes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top