8/27 Christy - 83 PMPS, Too Low To Shoot? Edit: Shot 0.25u

Michele A & Christy

Member Since 2022
She earned a reduction when she hit 84 at +3 today, so her PM shot would have been 0.5u.

But since I'll be asleep in 2 hours and can't monitor overnight, should I skip the PM shot?

Or should I give a token shot (as close to 0.25u as I can get)?

Or what?
 
I’m sorry no one was around to help you.
For future reference with SLGS you do not give the dose if the BG is under 150. As you gather more data this may change but until then I would follow the method closely.
Please get a +2 before you go to bed and I would suggest you wake up around +6 to test again
From the SLGS dosing method


4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
 
Last edited:
Her +2 was 110, and her +6 was 147. She was very much not happy about being woken up for the +6. :p
I’m glad you were able to get those tests done. Well done!
Looking at the SS I see you are swapping between 0.8u, 0.7 and 0.75 U
Is that because you are having trouble with getting 0.75U?
It is better to stay with the one dose if possible, unless you earn a reduction or need to increase the dose so as not to mess with the depot.
 
Back
Top