8/27, Bell, AMPS 257, +2 254, +4 192, +6 127, +9 159, PMPS 250

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Yesterday

Had a vet appointment today to recheck Bell's anal gland rupture. The vet thought the outside looked very well healed. She felt some "firmness" and slight swelling of the gland when she felt it, but didn't think this was abnormal with healing from a rupture. She didn't feel any liquid in the gland to express, so I think that is good?

I asked about how to prevent this in the future and there doesn't seem to be anything I'm not doing already... I'm going to be pretty aggressive about the vet checking and expressing the gland in the next few months. I just really don't want this to happen again.

The vet did explain that sometimes a rupture heals in a way to block off a portion of the anal gland from the duct, so that the gland is still secreting in a little pocket with no way to drain without rupturing. I really hope this is not the case for Bell. I am more leaning towards the cause being the infection that didn't clear up from the first rupture. The bacteria they grew in the culture of her wound was resistant to all antibiotics except a couple, one of which she is currently on (Clavamox). So fingers and paws crossed that once the infection is gone for good, so are the ruptures.

The vet did say that surgery to remove the gland is an option if they can't stop this from reoccurring, but I have read about some significant side effects from surgery, including potential incontinence. Don't want to go that route unless there is absolutely no other option.

Bell is getting extremely tired of people sticking fingers up her butt o_O.

The good news is that she was cleared for the cone to come off. She's free!
 
As far as insulin goes, her curve looks more "normal" with a nadir around +6 today. Before she kept getting nadirs at +2. She's using a "new" repackaged vial from the vet. I am wondering if the last one had lost some juice. Her Solostar Lantus pen arrives tomorrow, but I think I may wait until Thursday morning before I switch to it, just to make sure I'm available and awake to fully monitor her for any extreme reactions. I'm nearing cycle 10 for a dose increase, but I'm going to wait until she's on the new pen before doing so, unless anyone else has really strong feelings otherwise.
 
Hopefully the last cone picture in a very long while!
upload_2024-8-27_16-30-15.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-27_16-30-15.png
    upload_2024-8-27_16-30-15.png
    649.8 KB · Views: 143
Yesterday

Had a vet appointment today to recheck Bell's anal gland rupture. The vet thought the outside looked very well healed. She felt some "firmness" and slight swelling of the gland when she felt it, but didn't think this was abnormal with healing from a rupture. She didn't feel any liquid in the gland to express, so I think that is good?

I asked about how to prevent this in the future and there doesn't seem to be anything I'm not doing already... I'm going to be pretty aggressive about the vet checking and expressing the gland in the next few months. I just really don't want this to happen again.

The vet did explain that sometimes a rupture heals in a way to block off a portion of the anal gland from the duct, so that the gland is still secreting in a little pocket with no way to drain without rupturing. I really hope this is not the case for Bell. I am more leaning towards the cause being the infection that didn't clear up from the first rupture. The bacteria they grew in the culture of her wound was resistant to all antibiotics except a couple, one of which she is currently on (Clavamox). So fingers and paws crossed that once the infection is gone for good, so are the ruptures.

The vet did say that surgery to remove the gland is an option if they can't stop this from reoccurring, but I have read about some significant side effects from surgery, including potential incontinence. Don't want to go that route unless there is absolutely no other option.

Bell is getting extremely tired of people sticking fingers up her butt o_O.

The good news is that she was cleared for the cone to come off. She's free!
Glad she’s doing so well!! Great news. And I’m sure Bell will be thrilled with no one poking around her butt. Poor girl. And Her dignity ;)
 
Yesterday

Had a vet appointment today to recheck Bell's anal gland rupture. The vet thought the outside looked very well healed. She felt some "firmness" and slight swelling of the gland when she felt it, but didn't think this was abnormal with healing from a rupture. She didn't feel any liquid in the gland to express, so I think that is good?

I asked about how to prevent this in the future and there doesn't seem to be anything I'm not doing already... I'm going to be pretty aggressive about the vet checking and expressing the gland in the next few months. I just really don't want this to happen again.

The vet did explain that sometimes a rupture heals in a way to block off a portion of the anal gland from the duct, so that the gland is still secreting in a little pocket with no way to drain without rupturing. I really hope this is not the case for Bell. I am more leaning towards the cause being the infection that didn't clear up from the first rupture. The bacteria they grew in the culture of her wound was resistant to all antibiotics except a couple, one of which she is currently on (Clavamox). So fingers and paws crossed that once the infection is gone for good, so are the ruptures.

The vet did say that surgery to remove the gland is an option if they can't stop this from reoccurring, but I have read about some significant side effects from surgery, including potential incontinence. Don't want to go that route unless there is absolutely no other option.

Bell is getting extremely tired of people sticking fingers up her butt o_O.

The good news is that she was cleared for the cone to come off. She's free!
As far as insulin goes, her curve looks more "normal" with a nadir around +6 today. Before she kept getting nadirs at +2. She's using a "new" repackaged vial from the vet. I am wondering if the last one had lost some juice. Her Solostar Lantus pen arrives tomorrow, but I think I may wait until Thursday morning before I switch to it, just to make sure I'm available and awake to fully monitor her for any extreme reactions. I'm nearing cycle 10 for a dose increase, but I'm going to wait until she's on the new pen before doing so, unless anyone else has really strong feelings otherwise.
You may want to put a question in your title to ask about dosing to get some answers :)
 
Awwww. Space queen. She’ll be so happy to ditch her crown, errr cone :cat:
She was sooooo happy I didn't put it back on her. Just ran around playing for like 10 minutes, which is very much unlike her (she's a very lazy player). That is good news for her backpain as well. We take wins when we get them.

I was super stressed a few days ago with insulin running low, but feel much better now that she is not coned and I have supply of insulin. This has been a journey of problem solving. It is stressful all the new things thrown at you (insulin/shots/ear pokes/pilling/liquid syringes/cones/bad advice/etc) so having this community as a voice of calmness and experience and reassurance was really critical for me.
 
You may want to put a question in your title to ask about dosing to get some answers :)
Wendy gave me some a couple days ago that they would just not increase on cycles when you switch insulin. My gameplan is to switch to the pen Thursday morning and hold the 2.5 through Thursday. If she doesn't earn a reduction by then, I'll bump it to 2.75 Friday morning. I am doubting I got the full 2.5 in her 8/25 and 8/26 just because I was drawing up so many air bubbles on a mostly empty (and possibly not full strength) vial. I am curious to see if her habit of nadiring at +2 in the AM cycle goes away with this insulin change.
 
She was sooooo happy I didn't put it back on her. Just ran around playing for like 10 minutes, which is very much unlike her (she's a very lazy player). That is good news for her backpain as well. We take wins when we get them.

I was super stressed a few days ago with insulin running low, but feel much better now that she is not coned and I have supply of insulin. This has been a journey of problem solving. It is stressful all the new things thrown at you (insulin/shots/ear pokes/pilling/liquid syringes/cones/bad advice/etc) so having this community as a voice of calmness and experience and reassurance was really critical for me.
Awww. That must have been so great to watch her be sooo happy. And same on all you said about this great community of support. This FD journey is hard. And to help each other along is a beautiful thing.
You’re doing just great for Bell!! :bighug::bighug:
 
Wendy gave me some a couple days ago that they would just not increase on cycles when you switch insulin. My gameplan is to switch to the pen Thursday morning and hold the 2.5 through Thursday. If she doesn't earn a reduction by then, I'll bump it to 2.75 Friday morning. I am doubting I got the full 2.5 in her 8/25 and 8/26 just because I was drawing up so many air bubbles on a mostly empty (and possibly not full strength) vial. I am curious to see if her habit of nadiring at +2 in the AM cycle goes away with this insulin change.
Great plan!! Glad Wendy gave you great advice! :)
 
Back
Top