8/27 Asher amps 264, +5.5 234, PMPS 244

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Morning kids: ~O) ~O) ~O)
Can’t believe August is coming to a close already. Jeeze the summer went fast!

We are pretty much back on track with Asher’s schedule now. And I was getting ready to raise again, then we had some nice greens last night. So now I wonder if I hang here at 3 units longer or it we should go up a bit? What do you guys think?

Last night we had pmps of 224, shot 3u, had a 138 at +3, and a 51 at +5. Fed a little gravy then he was 61 at +6 and 85 at +7. He seems to go green like this at night, and rarely and not as low during the day. Makes me wonder about the dose even more.

Spreadsheet is current if anyone has a minute to take a look.

Whole cat report is good. Many birdies in windows to keep us happy :lol:

Thanks for all you guys do! Happy kitty day to all out there!
 
Re: 8/27 Asher amps 264

I think this is your last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77783&p=839957&hilit=asher#p839957. Please remember to link them together so if we need to backtrack, it's easier than searching the entire board.

FWIW, a lot of cats tend to experience lower numbers at night. (It's why I carp at people about getting PM tests!) In addition, there is dawn phenomenon which tends to raise numbers in the AM. This is when naturally occurring corticosteroid (i.e., cortisol) levels increase to help the body prepare for the stresses of the day.

If it were me, I'd wait a bit to see what Asher is going to do with these numbers. You were seeing numbers that are close to dose reduction territory at this dose. He may be winding up for a dose reduction. You may want to think about whether to intervene with HC and instead, test in 30 min. It may have been that Asher would have dropped low enough for you to have reduced his dose if you hadn't fed HC.
 
Re: 8/27 Asher amps 264

Thanks Sienne.
I never know what to do about intervening with the HC. Once he hits 50, and if it’s late and I need some sleep, I usually feed. He shows no hypo symptoms at 50, I’m just trying to avoid any problems. But I can hold off next time and just test so we know for sure.
 
Re: 8/27 Asher amps 264

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but it looks like sienne answered most of your questions .. Isn't it wonderful how cats like to go low at night? They are just so thoughtful :lol: have a great day guys!
 
Hey Coverboy! You look great in yellow preshots! What a difference he's seen since the change!

Keep it up pretty boy!
 
Hi Donna

Looking at Asher's SS, I agree with Sienne - Asher looks like he's getting ready for a redux I believe. If you can, try and hold of the HC next time he flirts with the 40s. He responds well enough to carbs that you can stay safe holding the HC for half an hour and seeing if he'll visit the sub-50 BGs for his reduction. His numbers are looking promising.

Hang in there!
Hugs
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top