8/26 Walter AMPS 275, +4 59, +4.75 44 (!!!), +5.5 63, +7 48, PMPS 130 / Mandarin AMPS 307, PMPS 259

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

My day started bright and early - thanks to the unmistakable sounds of Walter hacking up a hairball. :eek: Since his numbers have a tendency to go up when he has a hairball brewing, I am giving him one more cycle before I increase his dose. If there's no green by tonight, I am taking him back up to 1.75 U.

Whatever it is that Mandarin is doing, I am not liking it one bit. Today marks his one month "anniversary" back on the juice. :arghh: No sign of improvement. His numbers are hardly budging. And he is back to spending a lot of time at the water bowl.

I also received the first online application on Ivy... and I was instantly reminded why I hate adopting out my fosters. There are five unrelated adults at the home and two children under the age of 2, the other animals are not spayed/neutered and they couldn't even come up with the name of a vet. Needless to say, they are not getting my baby girl... but now I have to deal with them today and explain why this might not be a good time for them to adopt.

Meanwhile, the kittens are having all kinds of fun with their brand new Ripple Rug:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="
" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
 
Ah cute that they're all playing together!
I'm happy you have the ability of saying "no" to that family! There are too many shelters around that would allow it just to get the kitty out of the shelter, without ensuring it's a good fit.
 
Such cuteness!!!

C'mon, Mandarin, time to work that juice!

Must be National Hairball Day...we also woke up to civvie Zeh hacking one up at 5:00 this morning :eek::confused:.

I couldn't agree more about not adopting Ivy to that family...sounds like a terrible environment for pets and I feel sorry for the other animals in that home. Good luck with telling them "No way!".
 
They're so cute. I can't believe how big they've gotten. I hope Mandarin and Walter slide down today. I couldn't foster cats. I'd want to keep them all.
 
That is just too cute!!!! Really made me smile and laugh this am!!!

I could literally just sit here and watch them play all day. They are just too adorable... and they are still at the stage where they play hard for a while and then all curls up and sleep for a while. :kiss:

...and I guess I am glad that I foster for a rescue where we are allowed to be picky and make sure that our fosters go into a safe environment. I don't think I wold be able to sleep at night if I put my babies into a home where I know that they would never get vet care.
 
Yep, I could watch that video a million times. Poor Capone just takes the wacks dished out by the kitts and Walter looks to be trying patrol duty. Mandrin saw blue so hopefully it's a sign he's going to work this dose soon. Good work on the hairball Walter but come on back down today please. Thank goodness you can screen adopters and say no. If DH & I weren't in so much pain with Doodles I'd snatch that little Ivy up.
 
What an adorable video. That could be a product ad. Those kittens are losing their fuzz but still very cute. Good luck finding good homes. I was amazed at the shelter at people who applied, like the 8 month pregnant lady wanting a puppy needing lots of exercise, the person wanting a kitten for their 80 year old mother. Really folks?:rolleyes: I am glad you get to be picky.

Um boys, the threat has been tossed - work it! Mandarin got up to 2.25 the first time, often kitties back from the falls have to go as high as before or even higher. You are doing a good job keeping on the increases.
 
So glad that I trusted my spidey senses this morning and didn't give Walter an increase. 59 at +2!! That's quite the dive - even for him! :eek:

All those grey kitties:cat::cat:
That really seems to be my color scheme at the moment. Mandarin would have been the only splash of color - but he was too busy drinking at the water fountain to check out the rug.

It's still hard to believe that they didn't even weigh a pound when I first took them home - they really are huge now compared to that.

. I was amazed at the shelter at people who applied, like the 8 month pregnant lady wanting a puppy needing lots of exercise, the person wanting a kitten for their 80 year old mother. Really folks?:rolleyes: I am glad you get to be picky.

Yes, we get that all the time! ...and we also get quite a few owner surrenders where people made stupid decisions. We have a 6-month-old purebred Pointer in a fosterhome right now that someone surrendered. They paid quite a bit of money for him and thought he would make a great playmate for their 14-yet-old dog.. :rolleyes: I guess I am glad that they surrendered the puppy and not their senior dog - but still.

Poor Capone just takes the wacks dished out by the kitts and Walter looks to be trying patrol duty.

Capone really is the best "daddy." He has endless patience with the kits... and I think Walter is just in awe that they are this wild. He likes watching them... but he enjoys sleeping on the rug even more. :smuggrin:
 
Seriously, Walt??? Dosecrease threat is off the table - time to come back up!

Since the LC food 45 minutes ago obviously didn't do the trick, I cracked open a can of MC food and will test again shortly.
 
I guess I should be thankful that Walter saved these shenanigans for a Friday afternoon where I can be home to monitor. :eek:

He just dropped below 50 for the second time today and got some more gravy. The kittens are thrilled with these events.... they love their gravy just as much as my big boys.
 
Glad the kittens enjoy Walter's gravy, and that he decided to go low when you were home to monitor!
Thanks so much for posting the video, your fosters and kitties are incredibly fun to watch.
 
Walter! Did you and Smokey get on your cells last night and plan to drop at the same time (@Woodsywife)??

The video is sooo cute! I love how the adults are just patiently watching the kittens freak out. Iris loves that rug! Flora seems to have as much fun playing with Iris's tail as she does with the rug. :woot::kiss: So glad you get to say no to unsuitable homes for the kitties.
 
What the heck Walter?? Glad you were there to catch. Something going on today at the lagoon.

Wish I could help with Mandarin.....it is a puzzle for sure.

The kittens have gotten big! And what a busy household! Who flew in front of the camera with something in his mouth??

The bad adoptees remind me when we are screening rental applicants and we know they are not the ones how we have to say "there are few applicants before you and we are waiting for their employers and references to check out and in the event they don't, you are next in line" ......
 
alter! Did you and Smokey get on your cells last night and plan to drop at the same time (@Woodsywife)??

Apparently so! I told Walter that he is grounded and lost his cell phone privileges for tonight. Now let's hope that Mandarin won't let him use his phone. ;)

The kittens have gotten big! And what a busy household! Who flew in front of the camera with something in his mouth??

That was Fern - my one-eyed girl (and she was carrying a catnip pillow that our vet's office sells - the cats all love them!). She weighs almost 5 pounds now. :oops:
...and, yes, it's busy for sure. And now imagine that kind of play at 3 am. On the bed. While I am trying to sleep. :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top