8/26 Stu PMPS 211; not the greatest vet news, +4 220

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=232394#p232394

This has turned into quite a day: here it is thus far:

AMPS 207
+2 71 Gave him his antibiotic after +2 and also fed some 9% Merrick Turducken to keep him from steeper drop.
+3 90 At this point he vomited all of his Turducken--what a mess!
+4 58 Tried to interest him in a little Wellness Turkey because he needs to eat, but unsuccessful
+5.5 44 Still dropping. He ate a little Thanksgiving Day Dinner (12%)
+7 35 Still dropping. He ate a little more Thanksgiving Day Dinner with Karo on it
+8 87 I hope we're out of the woods. He just finished the little 12% with Karo that I put in his dish at +7
+10 167 Bounce has started. Stu had a little snack of LC at +9 and another small snack at +10
PMPS 211
+4 220



Good Morning Everyone,

Stu had a good night. Ate everything in his automat in addition to an extra bedtime snack. Good AMPS this morning (I went back to the fat 1.00 dose after giving him 0.75 at PMPS yesterday). At +2 he has dropped sharply to 71, so I fed him some Merrick 9% (this amounts to the 4th installment of breakfast). Litterbox has received its contributions. Methimazole 1.25mg taken in butter. And, at +2, the first antibiotic half-pill (Cephalexin 1.25 mg for the half-pill) was eaten in a Pill Pocket (it worked!; but it's the kind with the dried corn syrup, since that's all I could get here). We've been outside, in the drizzle, Stu under the car waiting for the chipmunk and I standing under the roof ledge. Chip-Chip didn't show his face and then the rain really started coming down, so we both came inside. Stu will get some Greek yogurt in chicken chunks as an "appetizer" at lunchtime to counterract the antibiotic.
So that's the story so far today. I want to thank everyone again for looking in on Stu's condo yesterday. It was a very emotional day for me and I appreciate your help. I'm going to go back to Plattsburgh this afternoon to return the large cans of Cowboy Cookout that I suspect are a bad batch (Stu won't eat the food that came in these cans, but eats with gusto from the batch in the small cans; I don't think it's the cans themselves!!)

Have a good day, everyone,

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71

that's quite the drop there Stu, no dramatics ok?
I wonder what was wrong with the large cans. Glad he didn't eat any.
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71

WOW, and will you look at that drop! Might be a busy day for you - :lol: at least it is the daytime. Be good Stu!

Wow on the large canned food. I ran into a similar thing with small can wellness vs large can wellness: Mannie just didn't like to food that came out of the large cans. weird - one would think it was the same stuff...

Exceptionally nice too that the pill pockets worked. YAY!

have a great day today - even if it is pouring there. we have sun: whoa (!) I shall be waiting to see what Stu does with this day.
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71, +3 90

(((Ella))) I didn't realize how scared you felt yesterday.... :YMHUG: You never really said how you were feeling about his vet visit...but I am so glad that he is doing well after his dental and that everything worked out okay...That's a good +3 for the boy... :mrgreen: Hope you two have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71, +3 90

Done! 90 at +3. It was probably the combination of the corn syrup in the Pill Pocket and the teaspoon of 9% (Merrick Turducken).
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71, +3 90

Read yesterday's post this am!! Fell asleep last nite early-so just catching up now!!
Yes, looks like an emotional day for you & my heart feels for you--We all love Stu & hope for the best for him--And a Dental!!
I'm sure that helped! Personally, I strongly feel Stu is going to be fine!! May take a bit, but end result will be totally positive! I'm keeping Stu close in my prayers!
We all love these babies so very much, they are indeed our children!

But Just Look at Stu's Numbers!! That is the BG's of a getting well cat!! Just incredible!
Hope you have a lovely green day--
Enjoy the trip to Plattsburgh, It's a nice day here!! Big Hugs!!
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71, +3 90

Ella, I'm sorry you were so worried about Stu yesterday! These kitties do make us anxious when there's something not right! I think Stu is going to get the tx he needs for the hyper-T and bounce back beautifully, I hope it will be soon! He seems to be doing pretty well in the meantime, thanks to your vigilance, I'm sure.

Hey, the sun just came out here....haven't seen it in days! Hopefully it is on it's way up to you too!

Is there a Petsmart in Plattsburgh? That's where I found the allergy pill pockets.
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71, +3 90

Stu is looking good today. so sorry about your worries yesterday, but everything will be fine. You can do this! Tess is keeping Stu company today, just about the same number at +1. She will keep an eye on him and help get rid of the last of the vetty smell.

Stu, you're green too! We can surf after we get done w/ your spay day! gotta get rid of that vetty smell. These beans worry so much, like we don't know what we are doing. Just have to be patient w/ them, they are learning. Be nice to your mom, I think the vet scares her more than it does us. -- Tess
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71, +3 90, +4 58, +5.5 44

Hi again, Well, the day has taken a turn. Shortly after giving the antibiotic in the Pill Pocket and the 9% Turducken at a little after +2, and getting a 90 at +3, Stu proceeded to vomit up all of the Turducken. He never vomits his food (only hairballs), and this was a great, sprayed mess. So was it the antibiotic or the Turducken??? In any event, he wasn't hungry and wouldn't eat the little bit of LC Wellness turkey I put out for him after getting the 58 at +4. He did eat some of the 12% Thanksgiving Day Dinner I put out after getting the 44 at +5.5. I hope that little bit of MC helps and that he doesn't go any lower. I don't know much about antibiotics (I am severely allergic to penicillin and stay away from them). I know that either you ARE supposed to give them with food, or you are NOT supposed to give them with food. Which is it??? I wonder if I should give the other half of the pill tonight, as prescribed.
So I'm going to stick around for another half hour to see how Stu is doing and then head "down" to Plattsburgh (it's actually north, and normally I would say "up", but since we are in the mountains, the natives here say that we are "up" and Plattsburgh is "down"!! Yes, Laurie, there is a Petsmart there, but they were completely out of any kind of Pill Pockets the last time I was there. I'll check today.)
Wish us luck!

Ella
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71, +3 90, +4 58, +5.5 44

awww stu .. I'm sorry you threw up .. that is never any fun ... But I know your momma bean is taking care of you ... so just follow her directions and she will get you all better, ok?
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71, +3 90, +4 58, +5.5 44, +7 35!!

Ive always been told its best to give a/bs with food. That is how I have always done it for myself and did with Latte.

You could try some karo to get those numbers up, if stu is not keeping food down. Rub a little on his gums...I did see a bg in the 30's, right.

Hang in there. Hugs to you!
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71, +3 90, +4 58, +5.5 44, +7 35!!

Thanks Carolyn, That's what I needed to know. Your post crossed with the one I am writing. Plattsburgh is on hold. Stu is 35 at +7. He did eat a little 12% Merrick with Karo. Can antibiotics cause drops in bg??

Ella
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71, +3 90, +4 58, +5.5 44, +7 35!!

Yikes Stu! Where are you going buddy? Come on back up and have something to eat too!

Ella, I've always heard to give a/b's with food, but honestly Emma will often throw them up whether I give them with food or not. She won't eat pill pockets at all, so I have to shove them in. And I swear sometimes she vomits them up just because she's mad I stuck them down her throat, not because she's nauseous.

Good luck getting him back up today. I hope he's cooperative in eating!
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +5.5 44, +7 35!!, +8 87

Yes!! 87 at almost +8 Whew! And he's finishing what was left in his dish. I think we're OK now. Maybe we should take a dose decrease tonight,--to a skinny 1 unit (down from a fat 1 unit)??

Ella

p.s. Thanks Kristen. Our posts crossed. He's better now.
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +2 71, +3 90, +4 58, +5.5 44, +7 35!!

Oh my, come on back up, Stu! There's really nothing to see down there!

Honestly, I would call the vet (when you have a chance!) about the AB. Maybe he can give him something that he can tolerate better. With all of his issues and his diving skills, I wouldn't want to be dealing with vomiting. JMHO
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +5.5 44, +7 35!!, +8 87

Whos, Stu! come back up, man! Scuba diving is out. You and me're on the buddy system today ! She made you take a pill huh? No need to get rid of the good fud though. Stay up here now! -- Tess

No advice on the abs, can you check with you vet today? Hang in there!
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +5.5 44, +7 35!!, +8 87

Hi Ella,
I want to apologize if I added to your stress yesterday. I didn't mean to, I was just trying to give you more info. I have a suggestion - when you go to Petsmart see if you can find a food syringe. Then in an emergency you could always get some food into Stu even if he won't eat. When Blackie stopped eating at the end of June I was so grateful that I had a syringe that I could feed him with. Pat uses one too for Shadow.

Stu is certainly keeping you busy. I'm glad you got his numbers up and can breathe again. You and Stu are never far from my thoughts. I hope the rest of your day goes well.
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +5.5 44, +7 35!!, +8 87

Thanks, Ele, for the suggestion about the food syringe. I will look tomorrow when I go to Plattsburgh (too late to go today). Stu is feeling better. He ate some LC and we went outside for a while. I called the vet (who was at his other clinic, but who will return this afternoon and was going to call me with more test results anyway) about maybe substituting Clavamox for the Cephalexin. I know that Stu can tolerate Clavamox (although he hates it) because we were giving it to him when we thought he had a UTI (that was at the beginning of this "journey").

I couldn't have been more stressed out yesterday by anything, so don't worry that you might have sent me over the edge!! I did worry about the anesthesia, but Edward reminded me that the vet decided to use it because he had so many things to do with Stu (the x rays, all the samples, the needle in the bladder thing) and he didn't want to stress Stu out. Then, because Stu was under anesthesia, he decided he might as well clean his teeth (Stu had originally been scheduled for the dental before all of the other issues arose.).

Thanks for helping us get a handle on things.

Ella
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +5.5 44, +7 35!!, +8 87, +10 167

Hi again, 167 at +10, so the bounce has started and Stu is eating again and feeling better. I probably will go down to a regular 1 unit at PMPS (not the fat 1 unit). This was such a strange day with all of the added factors (antibiotics, left-over stress from yesterday, methimazole, newish foods) that I think I'll just let it all settle and not go down to 0.75 unit. Any advice would be appreciated.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +5.5 44, +7 35!!, +8 87, +10 167

Just :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: He's doing great, hang in there!
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +5.5 44, +7 35!!, +8 87, +10 167

Oh gosh , it's so hard to see kitty not eating. I'm so happy to hear Stu is eating again.
Ella, my vet gave me syringes, when I had to help feed my Samantha. Your vet certainly has them, and may be willing to give you a few, to keep Stu nourished. He must be closer than a trip to Plattsburgh.
 
Re: 8/26 Stu AMPS 207, +5.5 44, +7 35!!, +8 87, +10 167

STU! YOUNG MAN! I leave for a few minutes, well my bean left and shut down the 'puter, and you decide to go scuba diving!!! Didn't we talk about no more scuba dives???? Stu - I was so scared when I finally could read posts again and you were in the underwater trenches!! uhhhhhh - did you see any cool mermaids?? well OK now you are back up - I'm surfin' blues today - you wanna go and catch a wave?

Ella - I'm not too sure on the anti-biotic, but as I remember I always gave them with food - as with my kids. Seems they want you to have food in the stomach. ?? anyways - sorry Stu didn't feel well there for a bit. It is such a nightmare when they vomit all they ate, you know your numbers are headed down, they end up in the 30's, and omg. You did great - he's better and on the way up.

And yes on the syringes!
 
Re: 8/26 Stu PMPS 211; not the greatest vet news

Hi again,
Talked to the vet tonight. Some of the results from ANTECH Diagnostics came back. Not great news. BUN is 69; Creatinine 3.1 (these are both high). But calcium, phosphorus, potassium, sodium, electrolites are all normal. The T4 test, however, was 7.9 (on Aug. 10th it had been 7.4). The number is getting worse. The vet says I should be giving more Methimazole (and wants me to give 2.5mg bid instead of 1.25mg sid), but that this higher dose will make Stu's renal values worse. He was troubled that both the renal values and the hyperT got worse: normally the hyperT would get better with the Methimazole while the renal values got worse. He doubts that Stu will be a candidate for the I-131. This is depressing, for sure. But I told him that I wanted Dr. Peterson at Hypurrcat to evaluate the tests and make the decision. I'm a little leery at upping Stu's dose of Methimazole by such a large amount all at once. I think I will give the 2.5mg sid (rather than bid) and see where Stu is at his next test. The vet changed the antibiotic (post-dental prophylaxis) to Clavamox because Stu didn't have any vomiting problems when he took it 2 weeks ago for the non-existent UTI.
The remainder of the tests should come back from ANTECH tomorrow and the vet will fax the results to Hypurrcat.

On Saturday morning we have an appointment to learn how to give SQ fluids. The vet is very concerned about dehydration.

Well, that's the report. I'm going back to the TV to continue watching the Mets lose! Stu had his Clavamox and enjoyed a second installment of dinner as a "chaser".

Ella

p.s. I shot a skinny 1 unit.
 
Re: 8/26 Stu PMPS 211; not the greatest vet news

Hi Elle, just got around to reading yesterday and today's condos...I am so sorry I didn't get a chance to stop by yesterday to give my support. Stu is really getting some diving in lately, I see.
I know you are really worried about your boy and with the news you are getting, you probably are just at your wits end. I wish there was something that I could say or do to make things better, but I am just a mere mortal. Sending love and vines to you and Stu.
 
Re: 8/26 Stu PMPS 211; not the greatest vet news

((((Ella)))) what a day. It will get better, right now you're just in the stage of trying to figure out your priorities.

Giving squids is pretty easy. Probably somebody already gave you this link: http://www.weirdstuffwemake.com/weird/s ... juice.html

There are lots of videos on YouTube too.

I'm glad you're reducing Stu's dose, 30's are unnecessary!
 
Re: 8/26 Stu PMPS 211; not the greatest vet news

((((((((((((Ella)))))))))))) Don't give up until you hear from Dr. Peterson. You don't know exactly what his criteria are. BUN will always be more elevated in a cat on high protein diet, that in itself is not bad, it is just an indicator to look at other values more closely. Stu is an active cat who can handle a lot I'm sure that will be taken into consideration of his case.

And if the Nets are losing , DON'T WATCH. You do not need more grief right now. Watch a silly happy movie, curled up w/ DH and Stu.

Sending all sorts of white light and positive thought vines.
❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧
❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧
❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧
 
Re: 8/26 Stu PMPS 211; not the greatest vet news

I'm with Ann - don't give up yet until you talk with Dr. Peterson. I so hope this works out for you - even if not, you can still treat with the pills - you just need to find the right dose. Try not to worry - I know you are. Stu's a strong guy - he will do just fine. I think too that once you get the fluids going things should be better. It really isn't hard - I've done it before, and did OK. besides we stick needles in these guys and poke them constantly - I know you can handle fluids... And as Libby said - once you get the priorities set, things will start to click for Stu.

So take a deep breath, curl up with your guys - have a nice glass of wine. It's really where it is at anyways, the rest will all work out.
 
Re: 8/26 Stu PMPS 211; not the greatest vet news

Ella, I'm sorry about the news from the vet, but I agree that you should wait to hear from Dr. Peterson. He's the one who will decide if Stu meets the criteria, not your vet. I'm glad the vet changed the AB, one less thing to worry about!
 
Thanks, everyone! I'm OK and so is Stu. Just gave him his bedtime feeding (Wellness Chicken and he really liked it) and set out his +9 snack in the automat. Don't worry. I'm not giving up and will wait for Dr. Peterson to decide.

Hope everyone has a good night and gets some sleep.

Ella & Stu
 
Ella--Like everyone said, but we are sending Healing Vines to Stu.
I would also wait to hear from the Dr. who does the procedure..It is so difficult going through this-We all love you & Stu so much..
Hoping the stronger dose will help--Love & light to Stu!
 
Hi Ella: Sorry I missed what was happening the last couple of days. It's been pretty stressful for you I know. Sometimes I think I feel as much stress when Tori is having problems as I would if it was one of my actual children. What the heck they are our babies no matter what non pet people may say. Try and hang in there. Let the expert see the labs first and see what he says. Try not to second guess. I know it's so very hard believe me I do. Try and get some rest. You both deserve it.
 
I'm sorry that you got some bad news from the vet. I assume that the CBC came back OK, showing that he is tolerating the methimazole? I don't think it's a big concern that the T4 isn't responding, since the protocol is to start low with what is likely a sub-therapeutic dose, and work up gradually to effect. I think your instinct to increase to 2.5 mg sid and retest in two weeks is a good one. I hope the vet is getting ahead of himself by concluding already that the I 131 is not an option. I hope you get better news from Hypurrcat.
 
I am just now seeing this Ella wait and see what hypurrcats says since treatment may still be a option for him and I think starting out with the higher dose once a day is a good idea as well getting the T4 back on track can take time from what I have seen running labwork for 15 yrs at our clinic sending you and Stu a ton of snowflakes and healing vines that things get better for you ((((((((((HUGS)))))))))
 
You don't need to worry about giving fluids! When we are jabbing to test and give the daily shots, well this one is a slightly bigger needle that is connected to a tubing that is connected to a bag!
Easy peasy ... and just wait till you see how Stu reacts!

I tell you, when I give SQuids to Shadoe, she almost turns into a kitten, she is so bouncy afterwards. Even Ollie looks more 'alive in the eyes' after he gets some. They remind me of a plant that needed watering and how the leaves just perk right up after that watering.

And no taking someone else's "I don't think so" ... stay positive and hope for good news back.
Good luck with the change in dose.
 
Hey Linda, Lisa, Gayle, et al. Thanks for the good feedback. I am very glad to know about the meaning of the T4 results and about working up to a therapeutic dose. We're keeping fingers and paws crossed here!

Ella
 
Ella, I don't see a condo for today, Friday, so I'm adding to yesterday's
I know this gets you down, it's natural, but I am so impressed with your positive attitude. :smile:
I can't add anything to what these other wise people have said, but want you to know that we love you and Stu.
Sending big hugs to you, and schnuzzles to Stu. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top