8/26 Skooter +6.5 71 PMPS 102 +2 95 +3 82 +4 75 +6 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Skooter's Chillin' Condo (08/25)


Morin' LL....

I don't know what it is, but the last several days it seems that alarm is going off far too early, but nope, same time every day. I am going to bed around the same time, so not sure what is up, but oh well....Skooter is doing just dandy.....

I have to leave for work early this morning, so no +1 or +2 this morning, but I should be able to get home at lunchtime to test.

Today, I think of my friend as they have a memorial service that I wish I could go to. But with work and Skooter, he would have to miss two shots or not get monitored as the service is several hours away. I am there in spirit, which isn't the same, but it will have to do.

Happy Tuesday one and all...healing vines to all of our kitties and great big hugs to da beans....
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99

Just couldn't force myself to go in early.....so I got a 1.75 and heading out the door....


surf safely my sweet Skooter boy.....
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99

Simmie is licking a bowl of ice for you Skooter and mommy!

We all understand the sacrifices you are making Mombean. Our support and care is with you, especially today.
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99

Hi guys .. nice dip into the greens skooter! Now surf safely ... Thoughts are with you and your friends during this time ..
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71

Love, love, LOVE when my Skooter listens to me....

Nice surf Skooterboy! Just keep it going....maybe you can give momma a double digit preshot number tonight to give her some practice with them (vs doing it in a cycle where I am not home to monitor you).....
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71

What a good kitty you are Skooter!!

Very nice cycle today (again)....You're getting a little boring!....LOL

Molly....don't forget, if there's something that's important for you to do or can't be missed, Skooter has skipped before and gets right back on track. You can also do the 18 hour cycles if it'll help get you out when you need to be

I know how you feel about that alarm seeming to go off early lately!! Oh wait....In our case, it HAS been going off early!! :lol:

Thank goodness we can get back on schedule tomorrow morning....All my other cats stomachs are on the old schedule too and it's been crazy around here the last few days

Surf them pretty numbers for your mamabean Skooter....she loves you so very much and takes such good care of you!
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102

DOH! Soooooooooooooo close to that ever elusive double digit preshot number....watch, tomorrow he will be like 70 and I will be too scared to shoot :roll:

Thanks for all the visits....I know that I can skip if need be, but I was not comfortable with having to skip two shots in a row......

Now he has just jumped in my lap.....

I recently switched back to his normal litter (we were using Yesterday's News as his urine was so concentrated that it was making the litter clump)....I am a bit concerned as I am noticing that it is better but not as good as I assumed it would be now that he has been in normal numbers for so long....I am thinking of bringing him in and seeing if they can test to see if he still has a lot of sugar in his urine....it makes me concerned there is possibly a secondary, or I guess this would be a third medical condition (IBD and Diabetes being the first two) that I now need to be concerned with. Trying not to be paranoid, but wondering if it wouldn't be better to be proactive about it now.....

I really should be getting some stuff done around the house....but I am still feeling a wee bit down....maybe tomorrow night will be better....
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102

Looks like skooter and charlie were plotting today. Charlie's pmps 106
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102

I'm seeing a lovely trend with these pre-shots. ;-) Great cycle today!

It's tough when we're forced to choose between our sugar-babies and other things that are important to us. Probably the worst part of this process.

Hopefully, you won't have much longer having to make those kind of decisions. (anti-jinx).

Surf safely tonight, Skooter! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102

Molly, is Skooter still drinking a lot and peeing a lot? If so, you should probably get his kidney values checked. Chronic renal failure is a very common condition in older cats. (But you can manage it with fluids.)
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102

I have seen a slight increase in water in take, but nothing huge....

Having his kidney values check, does that involve blood or urine tests or both? If I call to make an appointment, can I just say I want to have his kidney values checked?

The idea of doing subQ fluids myself makes me want to cry a little bit.....so I am hoping that is not the case.....
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102

Just made an appointment for Friday.....

The vet tech said she would set us up for an exam and the vet would then decide what tests they would want to run....but my vet has been very open to all the suggestions here....

Is there something specific to test for or just a general test of kidney values?
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102

102 is still in normal number range. Go Skooter!

You need both a urinalysis and blood work to check the kidneys. The urinalysis tells you how dilute the urine is. I like to get a basic blood work and urinalysis done every 6 months for Neko. FD can be hard on kitties, although Neko's latest B/W was better than it's ever been. There are quite a few people here with kitties with kidney disease too. And you are now feeding lower phosphorus foods which is good. But it could also be the heat that is causing Skooter to drink more liquid.
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102

I figured it would also be a good idea to get an overall check, plus not gonna lie....

the last time they saw him he was not very active, not very playful, basically not him at all....kinda wanna show off how much better he is doing anyways :)

She did check his file and they did some stuff in April when he was dx'd, but I am sure some of that stuff will have changed by now (at least hopefully it has)....

I just realized though, his appointment is 40 minutes before shot time, so I will have to call back and see if I can get an earlier time....
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102

I totally understand your trepidation of doing fluids (not something else... :-x ). Have you seen this awesome video that Marje did?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TtSzMuDgx78
I've even been able to give Zener fluids by myself. And I used to get queasy at the mere mention of blood or medical procedures. Of course, Zener is the mellowest cat ever so that helps. :lol: :lol:
Great day for Mr. Skooter! :mrgreen: I'm sorry about your friend and that you couldn't go to the memorial service. Many comfort vines for you.
Liz
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102

I just watched it.

I don't know if I should cry or throw up first.....I really really hope that is not something I will have to do, I am just not sure I could do it....
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102

I have had to give fluids to several cats and I always had to do it by myself. It's like anything else. Both you and your cat get into a routine and there is nothing to it - once you get the hang of it. I wouldn't worry about it right now. Wait for the test results. The blood test will measure BUN and creatinine. Of the two, the creatinine is the most important. Skooter is probably fine. You would notice a sigificant increase in drinking and peeing if his kidneys were failing. Keeping my paws crossed that everything is fine.
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102 +2 95 +3

I am liking this nice smooth surf he has going on (antijinx) right now....I sure hope he can keep this up....I am hoping to get like a +4.5, which would be about close to 11 p.m. my time) and then go to bed.....

I agree, right now I am going to assume it isn't really anything to be worried about and that this is more for just making sure all is well after having been through all he has over the last few months....I just don't know if I could handle another medical concern for him without completely losing it....

I hope everyone is having a great night....
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102 +2 95 +3

Molly...IF Skooter needs fluids, you'll just do it...because that's the kind of mamabean you are!

But let's not cross that bridge until we get to it!

You started out thinking you could never test either...now look at you :lol:

Surf those pretty numbers Skooter....Your mama needs a break and a little extra snooze time is just what she needs!
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter AMPS 121 +1.75 99 +6.5 71 PMPS 102 +2 95 +3

Apparently he has other plans for the night....

I wish I could get him into the vet sooner than Friday, just for peace of mind, but alas.....
 
Re: 8/26 Skooter +6.5 71 PMPS 102 +2 95 +3 82 +4 75

I am glad you think I can do it, Chris....

Here is hoping I don't have to find out ;-)

I think I am gonna try and get an hour or two of sleep and wake up at +6 to get a test....I know he normally nadirs around +4, but I also know he likes to be a lil s%#$ and change things up just cuz he can....

I figure if I can get a decent reading at +6 then I should be good for the night....I am a weeeeee bit nervous about what his numbers will be tomorrow and I am thinking if he is lower than tonight, I might chicken out with his shot....but again...crossing that bridge when I get to it, IF I get to it....
 
Molly, just want to add my two cents worth in. Like Chris said, you were a nervous wreck about testing not that long ago. Then you were scared about shooting low 100 numbers. Now you are begging Skooter to give you a green PS! You can do anything if it's for Skooter's benefit. Hey, if I can give fluids totally on my own, anyone can! Marje's video is fabulous. That said, we don't know if you'll ever have to find out if you can do it or not. Hopefully, you won't have to.

Sending lots of good vetty vines in advance. Just take one day at a time! Skooter is doing soooo well! :mrgreen:
 
Hi Molly,

For once I have something to contribute.

In my last large group of indoor cats I had the following babies to care for:

Moon - Diabetic and renal issues
Merlin - Moon's brother, renal issues
Whiner - heart disease, respiratory disease
Psycho - renal disease
Magic - renal disease
TashaTwo - passed over from old age!
Pandy - passed from blood clot

My point is we do what we need for our 'kids' depending on the situation. IF you have a kidney issue you will absolutely manage it with the aplomb you have use to address everything to date. DON't be afraid. I had to give sqs to 4 of my kids at a time when I was just trying to understand Moon's diabetes back in the late 80s. I was a bit more resilient then as I didn't think the world could be as challenging as it is now that I'm an old broad but you know, I had a MAGNIFICENT vet, one who I wished I had now (we moved) and I didn't know what I didn't know. :lol:

Bottom line, it really is no big deal. I installed a line in my kitchen so I didn't have to deal with getting out the little equipment necessary every time. Just put a hook into the ceiling, hung the bag, and had a way to wrap the line using the hook. I used to joke to our many visitors (we love to entertain) that I was doing scientific experiments on my hubby. Anyway, what you might want to think about it, if there is an issue, is that is no more than a couple minutes of an insulin shoot. My kids all had different personalities but we all adjusted. I didn't even give them any treats at that time!

You will do great if you have something to deal with...hopefully not. But you are an amazing mamabean - don't let this scare you! Contact me any time if you want to talk it through, if it is necessary.

As an aside, I have not watched the video yet. I am sure it has much better advice than I can give but you have been so good to me that I wanted to offer you my feelings after dealing with the same situation.

:YMHUG:
 
Hi!

I just watched the sub-q video and it was excellent. What I think most people need to understand is that is an instructional video so the 'real time' is much reduced when one actually does the procedure.

The only things I wanted to comment on were:

- warming the bag - we never did it because we had frenetic lives. Our vet didn't even recommend it but at the time, she was much more advanced and some processes for caring for kitties were new - none of my fluid kids seemed to care but it is always nice to do something special.

- the 'lump' of fluids from the treatment. It is kind of a funny lump. Soft, malleable, and weird. Our vet recommended that if we had a little time (a couple of minutes before running out to work) was to rub the lump a bit to allow for the displacement of fluids. I think that also helped in avoiding fluid build-up in other extremities.

That was a fantastic video and I am glad that we have them nowadays.
 
I suggest that you not put the cart before the horse. I've had cats with early kidney disease that didn't need fluids for years. "IF" needed, if I was able to do it, anyone can. Tiffany was quite difficult at first and it turned out that I was given a particular type of fluids that often sting. I had to have a vet tech come to my condo to help me learn how to handle her at first. She had a memory that was way too good. I solicited the help of a neighbor who hates people, me included, but loves cats, to help me at first. Then she went on vacation and I was on my own. I was forced to go it alone and I did. Later I taught my nephew how to give them to his cat. I was terrified of testing for diabetes and literally cried about the prospect. One of my first posts was labeled something like what do you do if you won't be home testing.I brought Max to my vet a few times a week at first. Eventually when he was off insulin for a few weeks but had to go back on my vet handed me the needle while in his office. I did it there a few times and now it is no big deal. You don't even know yet if there is a kidney issue but I want you to know you and Skooter will be fine. I promise you that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top