8/26 Scully AMPS=249 +8.5=117 PMPS=356

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124164

Scully had a lower AMPS number this morning, but I went ahead and increased her dose back up to 1 U anyway since we haven't had any green numbers in 6 cycles. I wasn't able to get a mid-cycle reading today due to work, but the 117 at +8.5 indicates to me that she probably did drop into the green for a bit. I also think she may be bouncing tonight. We still can't seem to replicate those low, flat cycles we had for a few weeks in July, but hopefully we'll get there again.

Mulder is still continuing to eat and seems to be completely back to normal. I am soooo relieved! Thank you again, Marje and Elise, for reviewing his lab results. I do plan on getting a urinalysis done soon. I'd like things to calm down around here first. I've never attempted to obtain a urine sample from either cat, so any suggestions or advice at how to get one easily would be welcome! Each cat only pees about once every twelve hours, so I feel like I have a limited window of opportunity. When I got up at 5:30am this morning, Mulder was just coming out of the litter box. I guess I'll have to try to pay attention to see when he usually goes.

Since I'm thinking of it, I do have one question. Until the urinalysis is done, should I switch Mulder to a low phosphorous food now? I found he and Scully do like Friskies Special Diet Turkey & Giblets, so I'd switch from Fancy Feast Classic to that since Scully can eat it, too. To recap, Mulder's creatinine was 2.8 and the BUN was 31. His phosphorous level was normal, but his potassium was high. My vet recommended he switch to k/d food, but is it necessary right now? I'm inclined to wait until the urinalysis is done and we know why his creatinine is high. Is there anything else I should be doing right now?

You would think my vet would say, "This number is abnormal. Let's run some additional tests to find out why and address the problem." Instead, I got, "Doc said this number is a little high, but he's not concerned. He would like you to start feeding Mulder this Rx food. Have a nice day."

Thanks in advance for your help! Hugs and healing vines to the sugar kitties (and civvies!) and their beans who need them!

Tara & Mulder & Scully
 
Tara

I think it was fine you took her back up. It looks like she had a failed reduction. Normally, we say most cats can take up to six cycles to clear a bounce. There have been a few who took longer but if Scully were my kitty, I would have also taken the dose back up. Sometimes they will lose momentum and you might have to go up higher than the highest dose to get her kick started.

Because I try to test Gracies urine for ketones once a week, I made a bunch of little trays out of aluminum foil. I tear off a piece about 4" wide and then cut it in half and fold the edges so three of them are turned up and one is still flat. As Gracie squats to pee, I slip it under her bottom and she pees in it. If I need a sample from her, I get up a little early and put her in the litter box and slip the tray under her bottom.

I would suggest you get some little glass tubes from your vet to put the urine in. As soon as you collect it, label it as to cat/date/time and put it in a Baggie in the frig until you can take it to the vet.

I've never fed any of my CKD cats the prescription diet for kidneys. It is low phosphorus which is great but it is also low protein. My vet, who is a nutritionist, and I have discussed how little sense it makes to feed a low protein diet to a cat who is losing protein. This thought is also widespread but some vets are still old school. Also, the ingredients of the food are very poor quality. Because the only low P foods are the prescription diets, it would be fine to feed Mulder the lower P foods as they are made for cats in general. You just want to be really certain a kitten does not eat a lower P food. They need it for bone development.

I would print some info about higher potassium and take it to my vet and ask why he's dismissing it.
 
You're welcome. Some people also use a ladle but Gracie is little and, while she'd let me, she wouldn't like a ladle under her bottom :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top