8/26 Savannah amps 138 pmps 146, I did it again

Status
Not open for further replies.

dd & savannah

Member Since 2010
Morning!

Yesterday

So I guess I am a big fraidy-cat with lower numbers. She dropped to 57 around +3.5 and I fed her some hc. I even thought I should just wait and see where she goes and stay up an extra half hour but for some reason in my haze the reasoning didn't sink in. Well, I have a few more days before school begins so maybe I will try to let her drop to those "scarier" numbers without breaking into the hc.
I really would feel more comfortable shaving the dose down to .75, even though a few weeks ago it didn't seem to work for her. I was thinking maybe she would surf in the 100's rather than dip into those greens. I'm not sure Lantus would work that way though. Is that wrong of me to prefer blues as opposed to greens?

Anyhoo, the rain in Mass is gone and we are supposed to be headed back in to the 80's today. Hooray!

Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 8/26 Savannah amps 138 fed hc last night

dd & savannah said:
Morning!

Yesterday

So I guess I am a big fraidy-cat with lower numbers. She dropped to 57 around +3.5 and I fed her some hc. I even thought I should just wait and see where she goes and stay up an extra half hour but for some reason in my haze the reasoning didn't sink in. Well, I have a few more days before school begins so maybe I will try to let her drop to those "scarier" numbers without breaking into the hc.
I really would feel more comfortable shaving the dose down to .75, even though a few weeks ago it didn't seem to work for her. I was thinking maybe she would surf in the 100's rather than dip into those greens. I'm not sure Lantus would work that way though. Is that wrong of me to prefer blues as opposed to greens?

Anyhoo, the rain in Mass is gone and we are supposed to be headed back in to the 80's today. Hooray!

Have a great day everyone!
Do not feel bad first time Do Lou had a 55 I was on the board early one morning having a complete panic attack OMG to me 55 was just soooooo low and of course now I do not worry about 50s but it takes time to adjust to lower numbers and ECID on how they act with lower numbers as well so I think IMO you are doing GREAT :mrgreen: :mrgreen: and btw great amps for Miss Savannah today
 
Re: 8/26 Savannah amps 138 fed hc last night

Everyone gets scared with lower numbers at first.
Maybe next time Savannah is in the 50's you could try giving a little lc to see what she does. If that keeps her surfing then you will have more data as to how she reacts to lc. You could also mix a little gravy in the lc to make mc. You will get comfortable with these numbers and you will get comfortable with green. Pretty soon you will be complaining about blue and only want green. :mrgreen:

I am not sure if I have posted in your condo before....so welcome.
I also live in MA.....where do you live?
 
Re: 8/26 Savannah amps 138 fed hc last night

Thanks for the words of encouragement!
I did give her some lc @ +2 when she was 70 and it didn't seem to do much. My concern is that I will not be around to remind her to eat. I guess I will see where her numbers go these next few days.

Hi Miriam- I am in Maynard (near Concord/Acton/Hudson). Easton is really nice, my husband is from Brockton and we used to go to Maguire's for dinner all the time.
 
Re: 8/26 Savannah amps 138 fed hc last night

I have a sister-in-law in Maynard.
MaGuires is pretty much a staple in our house at least once a week.

The more data you collect the more you will get to know how Savannah reacts to different foods and if she will eat on her own.
 
Re: 8/26 Savannah amps 138 fed hc last night

Wow, weird! Maynard is such a small town, we just moved here last year. I haven't been to Maguires in a long time, we miss it, such good food!

Well, she's been doing pretty well eating, she tends to eat more at night. I don't really feed her anything else but her wellness canned chicken and treats are usually boiled chicken and deli turkey, which if I feed before +8 it doesn't effect her too much.

Talk soon!
 
Re: 8/26 Savannah amps 138 fed hc last night

Savannah's looking great this morning! I'm with you - those lower numbers make me NERVOUS! I haven't encountered all that many though...

I just read your post that your husband is from Brockton - I'm originally from Brockton too! How funny is that?!?
 
Re: 8/26 Savannah amps 138 fed hc last night

Miriam's right on all counts. The first couple of times you have low numbers, it's very scary. The first time you test and get a number in the 40s is worthy of a panic attack. And after a few times, it's not a big deal. Look at Putty's SS or Gabby's. Frankly, if you're going to keep Savannah surfing, I'd much rather see her surfing in the upper greens. Like I said the other day, a week of greens earns a reduction.
 
Re: 8/26 Savannah amps 138 fed hc last night

Nice AMPS Savannah! You are doing great!! Remember that Food is your Friend! You are testing and have HC gravy on hand so you can deal with this just fine....you will get used to it as everyone has said. If you get a low Preshot, remember to NOT feed, post the number and retest in 15 to see if the number is going up on its own without food, k?
Low numbers during the cycle are manageable....and you can abort the low trend with HC as you did so you are in control...right? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/26 Savannah amps 138 fed hc last night

those low numbers are very scary at first but you'll get used to them and even want them, yes want them!
 
Re: 8/26 Savannah amps 138 fed hc last night

Kristen, small world, huh? Mmm cape cod cafe pizza, delish!
Notice I know every town thru food landmarks? :-D

It's a comfort to manipulate with food and I understand that greens are really great, but I guess what I don't get is that I won't be home to monitor or "remind" her to eat and that's the part that makes me nervous. I guess I need to keep getting some more info these next couple of days, and no hc unless below 50, does that sound okay?
 
Re: 8/26 Savannah amps 138 fed hc last night

Wow - I haven't been to the Cape Cod Cafe for a LONNNGG time. You're bringing back the memories dd! We loved to go to Christo's for pizza. Yum!

My folks moved from Brockton to the Cape back in the early 90s right after I finished college, and most of my high school friends have moved away from the area, so I don't get back there all that often. But hey, if your husband went to BHS and graduated in the late 80s, we might know each other!
 
So I did it again. I am so afraid of her dropping too fast. I put some hc on top of her lc before leaving for work for a few hours. I didn't like how she dropped from 96 to 75 and I wasn't sure how low she would go. nailbite_smile

Well, I'm home tonight so we will see what happens throughout the course of the night.

Kristen-
Mmm Christos is excellent too! I love their salad. He ended up going to Cardinal Spellman and graduated in 1990. His older brother Rick DeChellis graduated from BHS in 1987 though. I also work with Steve Colombo who is also a BHS alum.
 
Safe is good if you have to be away. you will get used to the 50s, Tess was there all morning and i took a nap. :lol: I wouldn't be that confident if I had to leave her though. You have to do what is comfortable for you.
 
Don't worry about it. There are several beans who will do exactly what you did if they are not going to be home. Safety is paramount.

I think you would be more confident if you were able to collect some data that shows you how Savannah was responding to low numbers and how you can control the numbers. The more data you can collect when you are going to be home and can monitor, the better.
 
yes, don't worry - I have done this when I know I will be gone for an extended length of time. You have to be comfortable with what you are doing, and know that your kitty is safe. It's OK.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top