8/26 Rusty PMPS 137, +4.5 124

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50795

Good Friday Morning, Everyone,

Rusty is starting off green!!! He had a bit of respiratory congestion last night and early this morning (allergy? asthma?), but seems OK now. He got 1/4 teasp. of L-lysine this morning (I had been giving 1/8 teasp., but read yesterday that the dose should be 1/4 teasp.). We had a good test and shot (I hope it went in OK) and 2 sittings of breakfast, followed by a good brushing/combing. Rusty is getting ready for our houseguest! (my cycling friend from NYC is braving the hurricane and arriving here this evening on the bus, with her folding bicycle). We're supposed to have nice weather for the ride tomorrow, but Sunday we will feel the effects of the storm. Fortunately, she won't go back on the bus until Monday in the late morning.

Busy day today. Back later. Continuing to send good thoughts and healing vines to Garland, Rocket, Tiberious, Tarragon, Lanky, and all kitties in need of support.

TGIF

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98

WooHoo Rusty! Great AMPS buddy. Poor guy. Hope the congestion cleared up. Enjoy your company this weekend. She is a brave soul to venture out with the hurricane coming. Maybe it will weaken and just be a big rainstorm.

Have a wonderful day Ella and thank you for thinking of us!
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98

Wonderful AMPS Rusty!! :mrgreen: Glad your morning is off to a good start! I am wishing you all the best for the weekend with your cycling and a nice visit with your city friend! :mrgreen: Sending you all hugs and lots of safety vines for the effects of the hurricane Ella...try to stay dry and safe....

ps...it had been said to me that the <50 numbers required for a dose reduction should come within 7 days....or the count down must start all over again. So, Shadow needs to get three <50 numbers to earn a dosecrease and they should not be over an extended period of time.... The second <50 should occur within one week of the previous low and so on.
If he stalls too long in getting a second <50 then it makes sense that he is not quite ready for a dose reduction.

Through the years, it has proven to be right on. If he seriously needs a doscrease, he gets three within a short time of each other (or goes under 40 earning an immediate dosecrease) If he doesn't get an <50 within a week of the previous one, it shows that he is not really ready for a decrease yet....
I notice that the Tilly page doesn't really spell that out, but it does refer to waiting 7 days when a kitty has <100 in order to reduce the dose....the 7 days seems to be an accepted guideline when the kitty is getting all greens. But maybe others can add their thoughts here...
Hope we can get some expert opinions on this....it's just something that I have done for the past 2 years....so it has worked for us in the past..... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98

Hi guys .. so nice to see rusty back into greens! This is where the boy belongs .. hope the L lysine works for him so he becomes less congested .. Have fun on your biking tomorrow and good luck with the storms you may get Sunday .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98

Does Rusty ever cough? The two symptoms Maverick had for asthma were a cough (started dry before diagnosis and then became croupy) and mucous. He didn't sniffle but you could hear the mucous in his purr and he swallowed a lot.

Based on the info sent to me I've started my two snifflers on 1/8 teaspoon also. Henry has to be syringe fed his and his horrible bean forgot his dose last night.
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98, +5.5 112

We seem to be going the wrong way! Usually Rusty is lower than AMPS by +5. I hope it's not another fur shot!!

Pat: Thanks for the clarification about the three numbers <50 having to be within a week. I've never had that particular situation: either Rusty doesn't go that low at all, or he goes below 40 and gets an automatic reduction (very seldom; mostly we seem to be going up, not down!!)

Karrie, Rusty only coughs when a hairball is the cause. But he sneezes and sneezes up "snot". He also "sounds" congested when he purrs, or sometimes when he breathes. I suspect this condition is chronic. It comes and goes and is more prevalent in the warmer, more humid weather. He could be having herpes flares. Nothing is known of his life before Nov. 2008, when he was found wandering the streets of Plymouth, MA. It's not even certain how old he is. I'm going to ask the new vet about the congestion when we make our first visit to her, maybe as soon as next week. I know that Phoebe gave him L-lysine for his "sniffles". I don't know if Claudia did. I'll have to ask her.
In any event, Susan says Lanky improved when she upped his L-lysine from 1/8 teasp. to 1/4. You say you are giving 1/8 teasp. to your kitties:
Based on the info sent to me I've started my two snifflers on 1/8 teaspoon also
I gave 1/4 teasp. this morning for the first time. Which dose is the preferred one, do you know?

Busy this afternoon cooking for the bicycle "party" tomorrow and getting the house in shape. May not be able to visit many condos!! So far the hurricane is not expected to be bad this far north and away from the coast.

Ella
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98, +5.5 112

Typo - brain burp - I meant 1/4 teaspoon. Sorry for the confusion.

If Rusty's lungs are clear I don't think asthma is a factor. Good luck with the lysine. Wish us luck also.

Henry's seems chronic also. He's had crusties and eye squints and sneezing since April. Who knows if he was like this at the shelter. He has calmed down enough that I can syringe him the medication. In the beginning I tried the vet lysine pump and I think it impacted his relationship with me. He's a biter LOL. I was told that it could be calici virus that is causing a chronic URI. We'll see how the lysine goes for him. I want his sniffles all cleared up before he gets his vaccinations. I'm delaying them. Hefner has only been here a month and I expect the 1/4tsp twice daily lysine will fix him right up.
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98, +5.5 112, +8.5 108

Very pretty green start to Friday......let's start the next cycle in green, too.....OK, Rusty?

I know when Zoe was diagnosed with asthma, she had a "wet" purr with lots of swallowing and what I thought was a hairbaLL cough, except she never brought up a hair ball. Has Rusty ever had a chest x-ray to rule out asthma?


Have a great time with your friend...enjoy the ride.
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98, +5.5 112, +8.5 108

just waving hi to you and rusty. i saw your comment in lanky's condo about rusty and allergies - sending him kleenex and well wishes.

and now i'm off to get my own allergy shots. ;-)

no canoeing today? hope you get some outside time this weekend . . .
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98, +5.5 112, +8.5 108

Lovely cycle for Rusty this morning! Hope the effects of the storm aren't too bad for you this weekend and that you have a wonderful time with your houseguest! We use L-Lysine for Willie when he gets the sniffles... I put a pinch in with his first breffis each morning. I think it does make a difference.
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98, +5.5 112, +8.5 108

Awesome numbers for Rusty!! Sounds like you have a good time coming up. So glad your friend could still make it despite the weather. Have a great time!!
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98, +5.5 112, +8.5 108

Ella...I guess I didn't explain myself properly.....all three do not have to be within one week....
but, you have to get the second one within one week of the first.....
and so on....
is that better? Apologies for the confusion.... :razz:
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98, +5.5 112, +8.5 108

Hi guys -

Good luck with Rusty's allergies - I have no clue on the dose for lysine. Another thing I have not had to deal with. Rusty - feel better OK?

I hope your friend travels safely. oh wow on the folding bicycle - I can see her and it on the bus., awesome! Enjoy your ride, and I hope you guys have a great ride.

and for pat - you have such a wealth of knowledge on all this stuff - what an asset you are!

have a great night guys!
 
Re: 8/26 Rusty AMPS 98, +5.5 112, +8.5 108

Wow...what a great day for Rusty. I hope his allergies improve.

Also hope you enjoy your friend's visit and the weather doesn't interfere too much. Be careful!!

Tobey sends big hugs to you, Ella.
 
Hi again,

Thanks for visiting and sorry I didn't get to any condos tonight. My friend arrived safely and we've been talking and watching the "Hurricane Irene" show all evening. Rusty is doing much better today with his congestion. It is clear that he's feeling good this evening. Excited because of the houseguest. Numbers somewhat higher, but I don't think I gave a fur shot.

Bike ride tomorrow morning and bike "hurricane" party here tomorrow afternoon. Today I made the bison chili for the party. (I'm the only real vegetarian in the group, and I want them to be happy eating meat (rather than stuffed pumpkin!). At least bison meat is grass fed and the animals are humanely treated.

Ni ni and stay safe in the hurricane. Thinking of Roni, Brad and Moonie tonight. They were about to leave for higher ground this evening.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top