8/26 Muffin amps 82 +.75 77 +5 104 pmps 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23293

Good morning LL!

I went to bed last night and got "Shnuggles with Shnookie." I love those. When I woke up this morning, Muffin was curled up next to me, Shnookie was at the foot of the bed, and of course the drooler had his usual spot under the covers. Very nice way to wake up! Another pretty amps for Muffin, but she'll probably dip into that "reduce" range and I won't be here to test. I can get a +.75, but then I have to drive my friend to physical therapy.

Just out of curiousity, what is the "normal" range for BG with the AT meter? (Ok, really I have my sights set on OTJ) I think she's been staying in the normal range. Am I right?

Hope everyone has a great day. I'll be back to visit condos later.
 
Re: 8/26 Muffin amps 82 +.75 77 What is "normal?"

Anne&Muffin said:
....
Just out of curiousity, what is the "normal" range for BG with the AT meter? (Ok, really I have my sights set on OTJ) I think she's been staying in the normal range. Am I right?.


Hi Anne,
the info you are asking about is located within the Protocol stickie.

Links to protocol guidelines:
Dosing Protocol for Cats on Lantus/glargine or Levemir/detemir Using Daily Home Monitoring of Blood Glucose Concentrations to Adjust Insulin Dose:

4th paragraph:
http://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&q=cac ... sTGUuNRLdg

target range 80-130

hope that helps!
 
Re: 8/26 Muffin amps 82 +.75 77 What is "normal?"

Great numbers again! :mrgreen:

This is from the Rand study linked in the Tight regulation protocol:
It is very important to note that blood glucose concentrations measured using a whole blood glucose meter calibrated for human blood may measure 30-40% lower in the low end of the range than glucose concentrations measured using a serum chemistry analyser or a plasma-equivalent meter calibrated for feline use. Therefore, if using a meter calibrated for feline use (eg. AlphaTRAK, Abbott Laboratories, CA, USA), or a serum chemistry analyzer, add approximately 30 mg/dL (1.7 mmol/L) to the target glucose concentrations (see Table 3B). For example, a target > 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) becomes > 80 mg/dL (4.4 mmo/L) when using a meter calibrated for feline use. Instead of aiming for 50-100mg/dL (2.8-5.6 mmol/L) , aim for 80-130 mg/dL (4.4-7.2 mmol/L [round numbers 4.5-7.0 mmol/L). Meters calibrated for feline use may read higher or lower than the actual value, in contrast to consistently lower readings for meters validated for human blood.
 
Re: 8/26 Muffin amps 82 +.75 77 +5 104

+5 104

Thanks so much for the info everyone! Does anyone think it's possible to go OTJ without Muffin changing her diet? Have no fears, tho, I am still trying!
 
Re: 8/26 Muffin amps 82 +.75 77 +5 104

I think anything is possible.
Just remember, once a diabetic, always a diabetic.
Although low carb wet food would be ideal, Muffin is doing well either way.

Don't give up hope, she's happy, healthier and you're doing very well managing her diabetes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top