8/26 Macka AMPS 613, +4 496, +9 498, PMPS 545 question about vacation dose

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-do-i-shoot-2-419-4-646.218575/#post-2431685

Today was not spectacular. I think of increasing tonight to 2.75. I am sure everybody will agree on that increase.

In 10 days we leave town for 5 days, and a pet sitter will be here.
Here's the scenario I am concerned about: increasing systematically with TR for the next few days, possibly finding the breakthrough dose, and starting the decrease with greens, while I am away and she's there and not testing.
Most likely, nothing's going to happen, I will reduce to an acceptable dose and all be fine.
BUT
There are a few parameters that also require attention:
  • end of antibiotics tomorrow (infection cleared hopefully),
  • weaning off steroids (she'll still have to give him some, but 1/2 dose),
  • switch to raw food began 2 days ago
I have a few days to observe if there's a trend that will go downwards, but should I take the risk to follow TR right before we leave?

Thanks in advance!
 
Ask again 2-3 days before you actually leave....by then things may be very different than they are today.

Generally, we'll suggest you reduce the dose a little while you're out of town because most cats react to a change in their routine (like mama not being home) by not eating as well as usual. Better to let them run a little higher while you're gone than risk a hypo happening...especially if the sitter isn't there 24/7 to test
 
I agree with the increase, 2.75 wasn’t enough before hand, so you will probably need to increase beyond that. A dose that gives low blues is still OK as a vacation dose so you may not need to decrease while you are gone. 3.0 units will also be easier for a pet sitter to draw as a dose consistently.

As for the things to consider that you mention above. He has been on antibiotics for 7 days now, don’t think you’ll see much of a difference for the last days on AB that you haven’t seen already. You are tapering budesonide as the steroid. For many cats, budesonide does not impact blood sugars. It didn’t for Neko, it may not be impacting Macka either, so I wouldn’t expect much change for that. Switching to raw should have little effect on blood sugar if carbs are similar to his wet food. I think raw is better for them, so good to hear he likes it.
 
I agree with the increase, 2.75 wasn’t enough before hand, so you will probably need to increase beyond that. A dose that gives low blues is still OK as a vacation dose so you may not need to decrease while you are gone. 3.0 units will also be easier for a pet sitter to draw as a dose consistently.

As for the things to consider that you mention above. He has been on antibiotics for 7 days now, don’t think you’ll see much of a difference for the last days on AB that you haven’t seen already. You are tapering budesonide as the steroid. For many cats, budesonide does not impact blood sugars. It didn’t for Neko, it may not be impacting Macka either, so I wouldn’t expect much change for that. Switching to raw should have little effect on blood sugar if carbs are similar to his wet food. I think raw is better for them, so good to hear he likes it.

I will leave a syringe with colored liquid for her so that there's no misunderstanding. The good thing is that this pet sitter used to have a diabetic cat, so she has some experience. Weirdly enough, she never testing him... So I'll have to teach her, fingers crossed. I also bought an extra Lantus pen, in case she breaks the vial.

I agree that at this point, I should have witnessed that big drop in numbers that the vet (and I) were fearing. It did not happen, but I am starting to see some movement now, whereas a few days ago we were in total flat reds/blacks. At least it is my impression. I remember you wrote in an earlier thread that Budosenide does not impact BG. When he started taking it, he still had curves for a week or two, and then started to stay high. So I'm not sure, it could be many other things: the abscess maturing, the Dr Elsey's dry food because he didn't want to eat anything else, some other reason? Or just plain toxicity.

Switching to raw is beautiful! He eats with so much pleasure and appetite, I don't have to beg him to finish a dish anymore. He cleans it in the blink of an eye. I still give some Fancy Feast so that the transition is not too abrupt. This morning, he was a little constipated, with dry stools. I imagine it's the raw food? Or could it be the probiotics that I was giving him?
 
Back
Top