8/26 Luna - AMPS 365, +6 247, PMPS 280, +3 300

For_Luna

Member Since 2019
:banghead: Yesterday

I thought we were going to get somewhere yesterday; low yellow start and blue at +6. By PM +3 we were at 382.

I don't know if her body is still mad at the 49 from 8/23, or if she dipped lower than 170 yesterday and she's reacting to that, or if the dose just isn't good. Honestly, it's hard to tell with all of this up and down. We'll wait another day or two for any possible bouncing to clear, then back up to 1.13.
 
Some kitties are just bouncy. I guess the food experiment didn't help with flattening her out. I hope she comes back down today.
 
Sounds like a winning comic book to me... but let's hope Luna the Rocket Cat is a limited series, and that she ends her moon missions soon :)
 
Some kitties are just bouncy. I guess the food experiment didn't help with flattening her out. I hope she comes back down today.
No, doesn't seem to be doing much. I might trying shifting the feeding times to an hour later and see if that does anything
 
The bounce (from the 49) is "due" to break today. I could be wrong, but I think Luna will do a slow slide into PMPS (nothing dramatic).

However, I do think you'll probably end up taking the dose back up. That 49 was so close to the reduction earning point (50) and it appears she came up easily.

Just something to think about...
She's lost momentum since being on the 1.25u dose. If you're able to monitor, Luna may be one of those cats who will benefit from lowering the dose when the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dL at least three times on separate days.

From tillydiabetes.net:
"Phase 4: Reducing the dose
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further."
(emphasis mine)


A suggestion...
If you haven't had time to read the section called "Becoming Data Ready" in the Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers sticky, you might find it helpful. As Luna's curves become lower, you'll want to know how much of a food spike she gets from being fed her normal meal at shot time, as well as knowing where the next preshot number is coming from (a downward slide into shot time, a number indicative of a flat cycle, numbers increasing at the end of a cycle, a second dip, or a late nadir).

Food for thought.

Have a good day! :)
 
The bounce (from the 49) is "due" to break today. I could be wrong, but I think Luna will do a slow slide into PMPS (nothing dramatic).

However, I do think you'll probably end up taking the dose back up. That 49 was so close to the reduction earning point (50) and it appears she came up easily.

Just something to think about...
She's lost momentum since being on the 1.25u dose. If you're able to monitor, Luna may be one of those cats who will benefit from lowering the dose when the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dL at least three times on separate days.

From tillydiabetes.net:
"Phase 4: Reducing the dose
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further."
(emphasis mine)


A suggestion...
If you haven't had time to read the section called "Becoming Data Ready" in the Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers sticky, you might find it helpful. As Luna's curves become lower, you'll want to know how much of a food spike she gets from being fed her normal meal at shot time, as well as knowing where the next preshot number is coming from (a downward slide into shot time, a number indicative of a flat cycle, numbers increasing at the end of a cycle, a second dip, or a late nadir).

Food for thought.

Have a good day! :)
Yeah, I think after the next failed reduction (probably this one), we'll try getting 3 #s in the 40-50 range before reducing again. I think reducing on a 49 was wishful thinking on our part.
 
Back
Top