8/26 Jetta PMPS 275 +2 138 +10.5 New Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacspets

Member Since 2011
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50787

TGIF LL!!

I'm tired today, ready for the weekend. Jetta woke me at 530 licking her lips, doing the nauseous thing. Fortunately she knows to get off the bed and out of the bedroom to the tile floor. First vomitus in a long time. Calling the vet this morning to see if I should start her back on Pepcid.

Hoping you all have a good day- those of you along the east coast, my thoughts are with you.
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331

Hi guys .. sorry to hear jetta wasn't feeling well this morning .. at least she got off the bed for you .. I hope you can get an answer from your vet .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52!!!!

So 52 at +3.5 I'm not entirely sure what to make of that. She just ate a bit, so it should come up a bit now.
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52!!!!

um, retest? Remember Garland's 25 that wasn't really a 25. Darn strips play tricks on you now and then.
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52!!!!

MJ+Donovan said:
um, retest? Remember Garland's 25 that wasn't really a 25. Darn strips play tricks on you now and then.

Nope, not a wonky strip.
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 still 52 +5 47

Our first under 50. She ate between 3.5 and 4. I'll see if I can get her to eat again.
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

Yesterday someone told me there may be some of you out there with Early Droppers like Jetta. Anyone have any pearls of wisdom for me on that or any thoughts on what her numbers did today?
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

Wowzer.....that is huge a drop!!! Zoe was like that too.....she drops early, her nadir seems to be +3. Sorry you woke up to throw-up....never a good way to wake up. Maybe Pepcid at night would be a good thing? Looks like she earned a reduction.......nice catch. Happy Friday!!
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

Miss Jetta has earned a reduction-

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Siennes Gabby is an early dropper - have a look at her ss - I believe the strategy is to do most of the feeding in the first few hours after shooting...
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

Ah, yes, I'll look at Gabby. And, well, this might make for an uncomfortable situation on Monday. Jetta's supposed to go to the vet for an all day curve. I guess I have to tell them I reduced her a bit before they go shooting her at 1.5 after they get their AMPS. :shock: Not sure I was ready for that interesting chat yet...
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

Since you're hometesting, there is no need for Jetta to go to the vet for a curve - you can do the curve yourself and save some $$! Plus, the curve at the vet will most likely be skewed, since stress can raise BGs; any curves you do at home will be way more accurate...not to mention by curving at home, you can follow your feeding schedule.

Amy
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

the vet wants to do a curve even though you're home testing? confused_cat

ETA - yeah, what Amy said.
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

hi jaclyn. jetta's spreadsheet is a little different than what you'll see on some of the spreadsheets of classic "early droppers".

my take on the early drops you've been seeing...
the 1.5u dose was too high. the clues were bounces from low numbers that were probably missed. oftentimes when a kitty is gearing up for a reduction you'll see those dramatic early drops and bounces that are every bit as dramatic. conversely, some kitties experience a dramatic drop very late in the cycle for the same reasons.

the other day i mentioned watching for the drop. knew it was coming. i suspect she already earned the reduction on 8/23 (PM cycle), but knew even though missed, it would come around again. :mrgreen:

take the reduction. good luck with it!


ps --- i agree with the others. a vet curve is a waste of YOUR money!
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

Thanks all. I'm being a ninny. Or is that a BCS? lol. :oops: I'm nervous to tell them about hometesting because the day she came home with her Lantus I asked about it (before I found all of you!) and they were like, "Uh uh No way. No need, don't do it, we don't recommend it". So i found you guys, started home testing and never told them since they were SO against it.

Anyhow, I just pulled my big girl panties on and called them. I said I want to talk to the Dr about hometesting and do my own curve. The Dr will call me back later today.

So tonight I do 1.25 right? How often should I test the first night of a reduction? ~O) And where is 1.25? Somewhere in the middle I guess, since there's no lines for 1/4s.
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

Just remember, she's your cat, and you're keeping her safe by hometesting. There's no way a vet can argue with that!
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

TrixieCat said:
Just remember, she's your cat, and you're keeping her safe by hometesting. There's no way a vet can argue with that!
Yep that was the point I made after the tech's stunned silence I said You guys told me she could die if she went Hypo, how would I know that was happening if you tell me not to test? response "I'll have the Dr call you".
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

Yay for you, Jaclyn! It is always hard to go against what the vet says, but when what they are telling you makes no sense....well, ya just gotta.

Our first vet told me, I could NOT test Zoe's bg as it was too complicated AND I would never be able to calibrate the meter AND it was too stressful on the cat. I just looked at him and said, well, since I worked in a hospital lab running tests on million dollar instruments, I'm pretty confident I can handle a $15 glucometer.....and there was no way I was going to shoot insulin into my cat without knowing if she was at a safe number to do so. He is no longer our vet...in fact, we had a new vet the next day. ;-) I know it is not too stressful....Zoe RUNS to her testing spot and purrs through the whole thing. Sheesh!!

How is the shooting going? Have you tried shooting Jetta's insulin while she is eating?
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta AMPS 331 +3.5 52 +4 52 +5 47 +6 61 Early Dro

1.25u is smack dab in the middle of the 1u and 1.5u lines. those reading glasses they sell in most drug stores help me with those hard to measure doses.

when you talk to your vet you could just tell him you've watched some youtube videos on hometesting and it's what you want to do. he might give you some song and dance about human meters not being accurate enough to test a cat's blood. you can just say it's close enough.

while i would never antagonize my vet (i prefer us to work together)... like trixie said, jetta is your cat.

my vet gave me some resistance when i asked him about hometesting. initially, i let it go. when i brought alex in for her first vet curve they could not get near enough to her to test all day. 4 vets and a couple of vet techs all tried unsuccessfully. i picked up a human meter on my way to pick her up at the vet's office after this 12 hour ordeal. my vet didn't think i'd ever be able to get blood from her. i tested her as soon as we got home and have never looked back.

today, my vet asks me to teach hometesting to caregivers of newly diagnosed kitties. let's just say we've BOTH learned a lot over the past 5+ years! :lol:
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta PMPS 275 - Dose Reduction tonight!

So the chat with my vet's office went well. I stayed with your advice and did 1.25 tonight. We've cancelled her Vet curve Monday as well.

How often do you recommend I test tonight at the new reduced dose? And I keep meaning to ask- If I ever do a fur shot will I be able to see the liquid on her and know I did it or generally can you only tell on the numbers?

On a fun note-Jetta was crazy this evening. A fly got in when I let the drooler in or out and Jetta was a like a Ninja warrior stalking, pouncing, chattering. I haven't seen her that interested in anything or that active in almost 3 weeks.
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta PMPS 275 - Dose Reduction tonight!

I'm so glad to hear that all went well with the vet!

With a fur shot, you may or may not see liquid. Surprisingly, I've never done a fur shot with Trix, but for me, if I feel like I may have done a fur shot, I smell the injection site...but I'm sure even that isn't a fool-proof method. I'm sure that you that if you suspect a fur shot or partial fur shot, no matter what, don't re-shoot...you never know if any or all insulin went in and you don't want a hypo situation.

As for testing...I usually test a bit more frequently on dose adjustments, whether they are up or down, just to get a feel for how things are going. With the first cycle of a decrease, you're also dealing with some leftover shed action from the old dose, so that can come into play and generate some lower numbers. It's never a bad idea to test frequently.

It's great to hear that Jetta was having some stalking fun today!!
 
Re: 8/26 Jetta PMPS 275 - Dose Reduction tonight!

Hi Jaclyn:

Good luck on the reduction. It's hard to say what she will do with the reduction right off the get go. Looks like she is bouncing a bit now. At the least, I would be sure and get a +2 and see where she is headed.

If you give a fur shot, sometimes you can feel it. Mostly you can smell it as it has a very distinctive smell. If you do give a fur shot in the future, even if you feel certain you did not get any insulin in her, do not reshoot. Sometimes you get in more than you think you do. We've just about all done it.....they'll get back on track.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top