8/26 Heathy +pmps +10.5-133 Give 1.50u? not urinating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heathy and Mommy

Member Since 2011
Since Heathy dipped to 36 last night reducing dose. Concerned that he hasn't urinated since yesterday morning. Will take him to vet to check for ketones and blockage since he had crstals a month ago. Acting normal.

Should I hold off the AMPS dose or give it to him.


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50793
 
Good morning - just reading through your post and wondering if you slept at all last night! You did a great job and are becoming an old pro at this!

Heathy has earned a dose reduction for sure last night, so you're right on in the 1.5U dose.
I'm not an expert and have to leave shortly.....so please let someone else confirm this.

I just referred back to the "How to Shoot Low Numbers Sticky" and there's no hard fast rule (except that we never shoot 30s or 40s :smile: ). In general, since Levemir is a 12 hour insulin, you can shoot in most occasions. The last number I can see on your SS was +10....do you have an AMPS number yet? Are you going to be around today? When is the last time you fed Heathy? If you're above your +10 PMPS and you're going to be around to monitor, I would shoot through without any worries. If your AMPS is lower than your +10, I would consider still shooting through as long as I was going to be home and could monitor (as long as it wasn't too low of course and then you could always stall to see if you were in an active cycle....if your schedule would allow).

Heathy is on such a great path and you're doing such a great job. As long as you can monitor, you're doing all of the right things! :-D
 
I'm glad your taking him to the vet. Not urinating can be extremely dangerous. I'm sure you know that.
I hope everything goes well for you and Heathy, at the vet. Please keep us updated.
I have to leave for work, so can not help you with the dose question. Someone will be along to help you, shortly.
 
Hi and good luck at the Vet. You've done a good job with Heathy. I'll bump you up for help on the dose. To get more attention that you need help, can you go up to your first post and edit - in the subject line, click on ? in the little icons. This will call more attention to your condo with the ? mark in the subject line. Take care.
 
I think you should be fine to shoot. Just be aware that there may be some "left over" shed action during this cycle. Since you've just reduced the dose, the shed hasn't quite caught up to the dose reduction. It can take a cycle or two so numbers may drop today. Don't take another reduction -- just be aware and keep an eye on Heathy's numbers.

Good luck at the vet.
 
Good luck at the vet! What a great night you had last night, but I bet you are exhausted. You are doing so wonderful. Hope you are able to get some rest today!
 
Hi guys .. wow, what a night! Congrats on the dose reduction .. I hope that heathy urinates for you today so you know he isn't blocked .. if not, I hope the vet visit goes well ... have a great weekend!
 
Re: Heathy 8/26 amps -148 no urine -high insulin doses

Well, even though Heathy is still not urinating. No issues with cyrstals or ketones. The vet said Heathy has stopped producing urine, becuse he can't handle the high doses of insulin. So no dose tonight and start 1u tomorrow. How sad. I just hope we make it through this. He was also concerned about his 2 hypo so close together.

Have any of you ever had this problem? Comments?
 
whuuut? this is a new one for me and i've been around here for awhile. never heard of insulin causing a kitty to stop producing urine. i'm not a vet, but that sounds kind of weird. i guess i'm not comfortable with that conclusion.

it won't hurt to skip a dose tonight to drain the shed. starting over at 1u bid might work. the numbers will tell the story. you can always fast track back up the dosing scale if necessary. we can help you with that.
 
OK - I'm not a vet either, but I can tell you with all my experience in nursing....insulin will not cause oliguria. But I do know that oliguria and anuria are medical emergencies that require immediate treatment. If left untreated, these conditions can lead to death within a very short period of time as his kidneys will fail.

Various conditions may be responsible for different types of oliguria and anuria. I'm not going to get into the particulars right now....as it's more important for the moment to figure out what's going on.

I have to ask you, what specifically did your vet do today in response to no output. I'm going to assume since you report no obstruction that some of the key diagnostic tests were done to help rule out an obstruction, i.e. urethrocystoscopy, (which uses an insertable diagnostic tool to view the interior of the urinary tract and bladder wall, a urine analysis, an electrocardiograph , abdominal radiographs or ultrasounds.

Please confirm this and also let me know if any blood work was done, and if yes, any abnormal results. Did they catheterize Heathy for a urine specimen and if yes, any abnormal results?

Lastly, has Heathy been drinking less lately? Had vomiting or diarrhea? Does he appear to be "swollen" anywhere on his stomach? If you look at his mucous membranes (inside his lips would be easiest), does it seem dry and pale or pink and moist?

I'll wait for your response.

I'll wait to hear from you.
 
That's the dumbest thing I've ever heard. (I'm less tactful than Jill or Jessica.)

The only other question that I'd add to the ones Jessica listed is there any chance that Heathy has been peeing somewhere other than his box?
 
OK - I'm not a vet either, but I can tell you with all my experience in nursing....insulin will not cause oliguria. But I do know that oliguria and anuria are medical emergencies that require immediate treatment. If left untreated, these conditions can lead to death within a very short period of time as his kidneys will fail.

Various conditions may be responsible for different types of oliguria and anuria. I'm not going to get into the particulars right now....as it's more important for the moment to figure out what's going on.

I have to ask you, what specifically did your vet do today in response to no output. I'm going to assume since you report no obstruction that some of the key diagnostic tests were done to help rule out an obstruction, i.e. urethrocystoscopy, (which uses an insertable diagnostic tool to view the interior of the urinary tract and bladder wall, a urine analysis, an electrocardiograph , abdominal radiographs or ultrasounds.

Please confirm this and also let me know if any blood work was done, and if yes, any abnormal results. Did they catheterize Heathy for a urine specimen and if yes, any abnormal results?

Lastly, has Heathy been drinking less lately? Had vomiting or diarrhea? Does he appear to be "swollen" anywhere on his stomach? If you look at his mucous membranes (inside his lips would be easiest), does it seem dry and pale or pink and moist?

I'll wait for your response.

I'll wait to hear from you.

Bumping to the top.
 
Jessica & Boo Radley said:
OK - I'm not a vet either, but I can tell you with all my experience in nursing....insulin will not cause oliguria. But I do know that oliguria and anuria are medical emergencies that require immediate treatment. If left untreated, these conditions can lead to death within a very short period of time as his kidneys will fail.

Various conditions may be responsible for different types of oliguria and anuria. I'm not going to get into the particulars right now....as it's more important for the moment to figure out what's going on.

I have to ask you, what specifically did your vet do today in response to no output. I'm going to assume since you report no obstruction that some of the key diagnostic tests were done to help rule out an obstruction, i.e. urethrocystoscopy, (which uses an insertable diagnostic tool to view the interior of the urinary tract and bladder wall, a urine analysis, an electrocardiograph , abdominal radiographs or ultrasounds.

Please confirm this and also let me know if any blood work was done, and if yes, any abnormal results. Did they catheterize Heathy for a urine specimen and if yes, any abnormal results?

Lastly, has Heathy been drinking less lately? Had vomiting or diarrhea? Does he appear to be "swollen" anywhere on his stomach? If you look at his mucous membranes (inside his lips would be easiest), does it seem dry and pale or pink and moist?

I'll wait for your response.

I'll wait to hear from you.

Just wanting you to know I'm here and will keep checking for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top