8/26 Geordi AMBG 172 +4 78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dclove85

Member Since 2011
I am officially confused. I skipped Geordi's shot last night after low numbers. I decided to start over and was prepared to give him 1 unit this morning until his AMPS was only 172 after no insulin and he threw up some of his food with a hairball. Maybe it was the wrong decision, but there wasn't going to be anyone to watch him and I didn't feel comfortable shooting when I really am not sure how he reacts to the insulin other than to know 2 units was too much. I just tested him again at what would have been +4 and his BG is 78. How did it go down on its own?
 
Re: 8/26 Geordi AMPS 172 +4 78

Lantus has a "shed" that builds up, and if you skip a shot, the cat pulls from this reserve supply, so you often won't see a drastic rise the next day. Or maybe Geordi's pancreas is sputtering into gear. See what his numbers are doing later when you are able to monitor him.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 8/26 Geordi AMPS 172 +4 78

Hi guys .. glad to see that you got an answer to your question .. anyways, these are some nice numbers today! Hope you guys have a great weekend!
 
Re: 8/26 Geordi AMPS 172 +4 78

Good decision!
MJ is correct.
When you get a moment, please modify your header to read "AMBG" instead of "AMPS", since you didn't shoot.
How many hours have passed since his last shot? What was the dose?
 
His last shot was yesterday morning at 7:15 so 16 hours had passed at the 78 reading. The dose was 2 units.
 
I was re-reading your initial posts on Health - can you clarify?

Geordi was on Lantus 1.5U bid for 2 weeks, and then after a fructosamine test, the vet upped the dose to 2U bid and said "come back in 3 weeks" :roll:
You began hometesting as of yesterday on the 2U dose, and have only shot once (yesterday morning) since the numbers were too low to shoot comfortably.

Correct?
 
Re: 8/26 Geordi AMBG 172 +4 78 PMBG 135

Geordi is now going on 24 hours without insulin and his BG has yet to climb very high. Maybe this is a dumb question, but is he still dipping into the shed or is it possible he was misdiagnosed? I'm sure that's wishful thinking, but I am thinking I will be taking him to a different vet come Monday. I am just so thankful that I came on here and found out about home testing. I would have just kept going with the vets directions if I hadn't.
 
Re: 8/26 Geordi AMBG 172 +4 78 PMBG 135

Some cats do indeed go off insulin rather quickly. Keep testing periodically and you'll probably have your answer. 135 is still higher than you would like to see in a non-diabetic cat, but if anything he may only need a tiny dose of insulin here - not 2U. If he uses up his shed reserves and his numbers start climbing again, re-evaluation of his dosage is definitely in order. Cats here often start at 1U and work their way up or down from there.

MJ&Donovan
 
I haven't visited you yet, so welcome!!! I sure hope Geordi is one of the lucky one's who spend only a short time on the juice. You'll probably know in the next day or two whether he'll need to start back on or not. It seems you've realized what the rest of us have realized....vets are wonderful, but when it comes to FD, well, here is where you want to get your dosing advice. MJ is very knowledgeable, along with Sienne, Jill, and Libby. You absolutely cannot go wrong in listening to their advice. Good luck with everything!!! I'll be reading your condo everyday to see how you're doing!!
 
In addition to what MJ said, switching Geordi to low carb food may have done a huge amount to lower his overall BG levels. We've seen any number of cats that have been put on insulin while they were eating dry food. Once they are switched to low carb, their numbers drop and they become diet controlled very quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top