8/26 Catmn AMPS 261, +2 263, +6.3 51/47/64, +6.6 80, +9 80, +11 166, PMPS 231 shot 3, +2 395, +3 465

AliceR

Member Since 2020
I was trying to mix up our testing schedule since I got feedback to try different times. Anyway at 14:20 ET US when I got the first strip back as 51, I figured it was an error so I tried another strip (Prime) and got 47 so then I took out the Premier and got 64.

I told Google to set a timer for 20 minutes and fed some 12% fancy feast. His behavior is normal, a little wobbly but really wants to keep eating a lot so I'm holding him back a little from finishing off the can.

Never expected this! Have the hypo kit ready just in case but of course now we're going to expect another bounce right?
 
Last edited:
Okay 20 minutes later (14:50 ET) he is at 80.

How long should I wait to test him again to measure his actual blood glucose and not the carbohydrates in the food he just ate?
 
He is at 80 again and I am going to test at +11 but if he's still low at PMPS... I'm not sure with such a big fast drop I'm comfortable giving him his full dose.
 
Bump. Will start tagging folks after 19:00 (+11) If it's not clear what to do.

I just thought I remembered seeing something in the protocol about big fast drops?
 
Ok so:
+6.3 51 fed 12%
+6.6 80
+9 80

Have you fed any snacks at all since +6.3?

Glad to hear he came up for you and is currently in a nice safe green :D

You will still want to stop feeding between +10 and +12 so that the +12 isn't directly food influenced.

How far away are you now to +12?
 
He was at 166 at +11 so we are fine for now. He was warm and lethargic but no temp and now he wants to eat. If PMPS is in the yellow I may go with a BCS (3?) and MC (15%) over night? His +3 after the PMPS should also help me know.
 
Last edited:
While waiting for the preshot test, again, we are looking for a rising number. You fed MC (12%) at the lowest point of the day and he came up nicely and safely, so that's good. Looks like the regular food is 9%. If we have a rising number, I'm not sure we would need to feed a MC all night.. Only if needed.

For tonight's cycle - do you have strips, supplies, food and ability to monitor if needed?
 
If it were me, I'd take the reduction back down to 3 units.
My reasoning: the 12% brought him up to 80 but then he stayed flat (or dipped a bit and came back up between +7 and +9.
Let's see what others think.
 
Alice, take a peek at Luci's SS from yesterday...Little Miss Luci went from to over 200 to 54 in two hours...looks like Catman did a similar move today...it's something that happens and is why we always ask people to test.

However, now it looks like Catman is steadily climbing.

He did earn a reduction today by hitting that 47 - not sure which meter that was...but it's a low...so reduce by .25 tonight and test/feed/shoot according to your schedule...is there any other reason that you are concerned about giving him his insulin tonight? Health issues or something that I didn't see in this condo?
 
The other thing I noticed is that you didn't get any readings at 3, 4 or 5+ ... it might be a good idea to start testing no further than every two hours to catch these drops...and if he's going to make a habit of this - looks like he hits his nadir around 6+ or so, but remember these cats can't tell time, and they aren't going to follow any of our silly rules about when to drop...his depot is most likely full and he's starting to respond to the insulin.

The best way to head these things off is to test, test, test...you'll soon start to see when he's likely to take off...

I know I've learned that I'd better get a 2+ otherwise I'd find Luci swimming with the sharks every day (below 50 or 40..even worse)...she's a daring girl...and can get away from me in a hurry...
 
Ladies, I've had another very long day at work...I was up at 4 a.m. to check on our new server...and never got a break all day, so I'm calling it a night (yes, it's only 8 pm...but that early morning call is not very far away...

I hope Catman will be fine this evening...I suspect that his next move is going to be a bounce from hitting that low number...

Have a good evening everyone.:bighug:
 
Thanks everyone!
231 at PMPS 20:00 and I gave him 3u.

His normal food is 4-5 % but I froze 15% for overnight just so I can sleep....

Do I hold at 3 now?
 
QUOTE="AliceR, post: 2620101, member: 30519"]I froze 15% for overnight[/QUOTE]
Get a test before bed if you can. And another test if you wake up to use the facilities during the night.

Are you using an automatic feeder? If so, when does the feeder open for the 15%?
 
Hope kitty has a nice and safe evening!

When you get a chance, would you like to update your thread title to include your PMPS to let others know you have given a shot?

A +6 or +7 might be needed based on what you get at +2/+3. Ie. If +2/+3 is a declining number, you may be in for an active cycle and will want a later cycle test around +6. My money is on a bounce though.
 
Do I hold at 3 now?
Yes, unless (a) he earns another reduction after at least a few cycles (after the depot of 3.25 units is depleted) or (b) after the bounce is resolved he doesn't see any green, in which case the reduction has failed. Good luck with the reduction.

By the way, best to stick with just one meter rather than double checking with the Premier. One possible interpretation is that he didn't go below 50 on the Premier. That indecision can drive you crazy.
 
395.... Honestly he is going to drive me to drink with these bounces.

We'll stick to his regular 5% carb meals overnight.
 
ff600e35ee264b46a5bcff5ff80fa54b7351d748942ddf0a3bb4e1ccdfb0e719.0.png
 

Attachments

  • ff600e35ee264b46a5bcff5ff80fa54b7351d748942ddf0a3bb4e1ccdfb0e719.0.png
    ff600e35ee264b46a5bcff5ff80fa54b7351d748942ddf0a3bb4e1ccdfb0e719.0.png
    41 KB · Views: 82
Back
Top