8/26 Biggie AMPS 381 +2 386 +5 331 + 7.75 329 PMPS 334 + 3 286 + 9.75 379 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

8/26 Biggie AMPS 381 +2 386 +5 331 + 7.75 329 PMPS 334 + 3 286 + 9.75 379

Jackie and Biggie

Member since 2022
Previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-126-8-109-9-25-118-10-5-135-pmps-156.267581/

gave .25U this morning.

It’s a challenge to get .25 in the syringe. Once I get it past the .5 it seems like it’s too far. I’ve read a lot of the guidance on twisting it and counting drops. I also have calipers but haven’t used them yet. Any suggestions truly appreciated.

Biggie says good morning and thank you for caring about me ❤️
upload_2022-8-26_9-18-37.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-8-26_9-18-37.jpeg
    upload_2022-8-26_9-18-37.jpeg
    77.3 KB · Views: 99
Last edited:
People have figured out how to adjust the calipers for many syringes. Which syringes are you using? I used the ones Marje used in the video on dosing with calipers so that was already calculated. Have you watched the video? I’m guessing you have but if not here it is.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/#post-862835
G
enerally counting drops is for 0.10 but you could try. Find a used syringe with a good starting line and fill with colored water. I bet someone will already have it figured out for your syringes. You will lower your no shot number as you get more data and are more confident with lower numbers. It will be interesting to see how .25 works.
 
Morning Jackie Is your migraine gone I hope so and you got some sleep last night
Hi Biggie you handsome boy :cat:

Will this pic help
So looking at the syringes I posted you have the half unit ones right?
0.25 is right between the 0 line and the 0.5 line



49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg





49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
 
Last edited:
Biggie is glorious! That belly!

Also, thanks for asking this question... we aren't yet at .25/.1 but it's hopefully coming soon and I want to learn/practice a bit beforehand.
 
People have figured out how to adjust the calipers for many syringes. Which syringes are you using? I used the ones Marje used in the video on dosing with calipers so that was already calculated. Have you watched the video? I’m guessing you have but if not here it is.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/#post-862835
Generally counting drops is for 0.10 but you could try. Find a used syringe with a good starting line and fill with colored water. I bet someone will already have it figured out for your syringes. You will lower your no shot number as you get more data and are more confident with lower numbers. It will be interesting to see how .25 works.

I got monoject and sure comfort and will plant to stick with one for consistency but wanted to see both. I like the monoject b/c the rubber stopper is skinnier but I swear it looks like it is bending on one end when I twist the plunger to tweak the dose.

That is a great video and I did watch it. I will spend some time tonight looking at my syringes under my magnifying lamp which I think will help b/c the area is just so miniscule. I got out my calipers and I do think that when I put them under the magnifier with the syringe it will (hopefully) seem a lot less challenging. I also haven’t tried colored water yet so I will try that with my experimental syringes.
So, when I am measuring, am i looking at the empty space only? In other words for .5 u, I’m measuring the empty space between the .5u and the zero line?

Morning Jackie Is your migraine gone I hope so and you got some sleep last night
Hi Biggie you handsome boy :cat:

Will this pic help
So looking at the syringes I posted you have the half unit ones right?
0.25 is right between the 0 line and the 0.5 line



49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg



49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
My headache is finally gone, thank you!
I do have half units now- they finally came yesterday. I couldn’t find any in town at all. This pic is wonderful, I have studied it a lot. My eyes just can’t process that tiny amount of space without a magnifying aid so I think that is going to be the trick for me. Also, the top of the stopper (part that is closest to the needle) would be flush with the half mark if it was at .5, correct? Because in my head it doesn’t seem like it moved enough to be half way between the two markings but I think when I actually do it under the magnification hopefully the measurement will make it more clear when I can plainly see the distance.

Biggie is glorious! That belly!

Also, thanks for asking this question... we aren't yet at .25/.1 but it's hopefully coming soon and I want to learn/practice a bit beforehand.
Thank you! He is a real ham. ❤️
These syringes are really a challenge!
 
Back
Top