8/26 Beenie 103 AMPS, 113 +5.5, 81 +9, 68 +11

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beenie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-25-beenie-amps-206-201-5-166-8.182903/

Mornin' :coffee:

Ok so we got the Acro Dx yesterday! Yuk! and double yuk! And we move on :bighug:

Now its back to business. I'm going to take Beenie into the vet on Monday if she doesn't improve over the weekend. She only had loose stool twice on Thursday but she still has a teary left eye and gurgling thing going on. Maybe its just the little kitty bug that was going through the house, paws crossed. Otherwise she's eating fine. Back in the blues last night and this morning so that's good news.
Next I have to tag my Acro parents on this Cabergoline dosing and what I need to ask of my vet as far as script. @Marvin's Mom - Nat , @Adrian and Chino , @Wendy&Neko , @Bronx's dad

Thanks!!

Have a great day!!!

Caturday.jpg
 
I forwarded this email from RVC to my vet to get the ball rolling. Started with the lower dose, I believe Marvin is somewhere between the 2 dose recommendations and Chino started with the higher one. I did not use RVC for testing, did it locally here in NJ. If you PM me your email I can forward that email directly to your inbox:

From: Feline Diabetic Remission Clinic <fdrc@rvc.ac.uk>
Sent: Sunday, February 5, 2017 8:42 AM
Subject: RE: Acromegaly cat in the US is interested in drug trial


Hi Paul,

The trial for patients outside the UK is to offer to cover the cost of some of the monitoring while acromegalic cats trial cabergoline. We are recommending cats either receive 5 ug/kg or 10 ug/kg cabergoline once daily by mouth. We offer to cover the cost of running fructosamine and IGF-1 measurements at time points day 1, day 5, month 1, 3 and 6. We cannot cover the cost of any charges your vet may have for blood collection or postage (the samples need to be sent to our laboratory, see attachment). If this means to end up losing money on postage compared to the cost of running these tests in the USA, then you could try to medication and perform the monitoring all with your local vets. I am happy to discuss this further with your local vet if you would like me to.

The main possible side effects of cabergoline are gastrointestinal (diarrhea, vomiting or reduced appetite), other side effects include increased insulin sensitivity and risk of low blood glucose if insulin is given without appropriate monitoring, ,mild sedation, and rare cases of excitability, fine muscle tremors and seizures have been reported, abortion in pregnant cats and dogs (the drug should not be handled by pregnant women), very rare cases of allergic reactions have occurred, such as swelling of the face or limbs, skin reddening and itching.

Please get in touch if you would like any further information.

Best wishes,
Chris
 
Sorry to hear about the acro DX, but you and Beenie can handle it! :bighug:
103 is a great start to the day! Hope Beenie feels better soon, then she and Maggie can play in the lagoon! :cat:
 
I forwarded this email from RVC to my vet to get the ball rolling. Started with the lower dose, I believe Marvin is somewhere between the 2 dose recommendations and Chino started with the higher one. I did not use RVC for testing, did it locally here in NJ. If you PM me your email I can forward that email directly to your inbox:

From: Feline Diabetic Remission Clinic <fdrc@rvc.ac.uk>
Sent: Sunday, February 5, 2017 8:42 AM
Subject: RE: Acromegaly cat in the US is interested in drug trial


Hi Paul,

The trial for patients outside the UK is to offer to cover the cost of some of the monitoring while acromegalic cats trial cabergoline. We are recommending cats either receive 5 ug/kg or 10 ug/kg cabergoline once daily by mouth. We offer to cover the cost of running fructosamine and IGF-1 measurements at time points day 1, day 5, month 1, 3 and 6. We cannot cover the cost of any charges your vet may have for blood collection or postage (the samples need to be sent to our laboratory, see attachment). If this means to end up losing money on postage compared to the cost of running these tests in the USA, then you could try to medication and perform the monitoring all with your local vets. I am happy to discuss this further with your local vet if you would like me to.

The main possible side effects of cabergoline are gastrointestinal (diarrhea, vomiting or reduced appetite), other side effects include increased insulin sensitivity and risk of low blood glucose if insulin is given without appropriate monitoring, ,mild sedation, and rare cases of excitability, fine muscle tremors and seizures have been reported, abortion in pregnant cats and dogs (the drug should not be handled by pregnant women), very rare cases of allergic reactions have occurred, such as swelling of the face or limbs, skin reddening and itching.

Please get in touch if you would like any further information.

Best wishes,
Chris
Thanks Paul
I'll PM you with my email address. Thanks so much!!
 
I sent the same info to my vet and she went with the higher dose. We haven't seen results yet, but it's only the 8th day. I hope it helps Beenie. Her BG readings are terrific on Levemir!
 
Very nice start to the day Beenie. :cool:

No help from me on dosing. When I first contacted RVC about this a year ago, they were just starting out with the lower doses. I decided not to go ahead with it because at the time there were some possible side effects on the heart which Neko did not need to add to the mix. It was too late for us, but I am thrilled to see possible progress in treatments. Somewhere on the RVC website I found a quote from Chris that said the goal for his PhD was finding a cure for acromegalic cats. I like this guy!:) Finally research dollars at work for a cure for this not so rare condition.
 
Very nice start to the day Beenie. :cool:

No help from me on dosing. When I first contacted RVC about this a year ago, they were just starting out with the lower doses. I decided not to go ahead with it because at the time there were some possible side effects on the heart which Neko did not need to add to the mix. It was too late for us, but I am thrilled to see possible progress in treatments. Somewhere on the RVC website I found a quote from Chris that said the goal for his PhD was finding a cure for acromegalic cats. I like this guy!:) Finally research dollars at work for a cure for this not so rare condition.
Thanks Wendy. @Bronx's dad sent me what I need. We ended up at the vet this afternoon because she was gagging and wheezing a lot. Her lungs are clear so we're hoping its a sinus infection. So we're going to give Orbax (antibiotic 1cc/1x day) a whirl and hope it clears up. The vet and I know it very well could be the acro but hoping since there was a diarrhea issue this week with her and Buddy maybe, hoping maybe its just a bad cold/sinus infection.

Anyway while at vet I spoke to him about the Carbergoline and he is 100% on board for me to get him the info and he will write script. He said if I were to go the radiation route he would have to refer me to a specialist. I explained our treatment plan and he is 100% behind us.

Anyway speaking of dosing, do you think I can go to 13 U or hold off? She cleared her bounce and is looking good today, just got a +9 of 81


BTW I was so in a panic to get her to the vet I completely forgot to spray Feliway. We almost made it home but not in time she again pooped explosively:arghh:. The good thing it was much more solid and clean up was much much easier, she only got a little in her tail otherwise the rest was caught in the small towel I put in the carrier. So crazy that this happens to her. I can understand throwing up but this is too much.

:)
 
I sent the same info to my vet and she went with the higher dose. We haven't seen results yet, but it's only the 8th day. I hope it helps Beenie. Her BG readings are terrific on Levemir!
Hi Adrian! Will get script next week or perhaps wait until Beenie is off antibiotics. Don't want to overload her system with too many meds.

All the best to you and Chino...Beenie and I will be cheering you on!!:cat:
 
I hope the Orbax does the trick. Some kitties need probiotics to help restore tummy flora that an AB can harm, but from what I have seen here, Orbax is one of the better tolerated ones. BTW, sounds like your vet is a keeper. :)

Bummer on the poo incident. We had another member whose kitty did that reliably within the first couple blocks of home, so she would go round the block a couple times first, change the towel at home, then hit the road. :rolleyes:

As for dose, ask yourself where you want the nadirs to be. If she keeps coming back down into that range after the bounce is over, hold the dose. Neko with nadirs in the 70's was mostly under renal threshold somthat was my target, but ECID on what is best for Beenie. She did see 60's once on this dose, which doesn't leave lots of room for an increase. But as the tumour changes, so can dose needs so you have to keep an eye on it. The other thing I usually traded off was whether a dose was flat and predictable enough for me to get sleep. If I was losing a lot of sleep, I would sometimes back off the dose a bit until I got caught up.
 
Thanks Wendy. @Bronx's dad .

Anyway while at vet I spoke to him about the Carbergoline and he is 100% on board for me to get him the info and he will write script. He said if I were to go the radiation route he would have to refer me to a specialist. I explained our treatment plan and he is 100% behind us.
Your vet sounds awesome! I hope Beenie feels better soon and has a good response to the cabergoline!
 
As for dose, ask yourself where you want the nadirs to be. If she keeps coming back down into that range after the bounce is over, hold the dose. Neko with nadirs in the 70's was mostly under renal threshold somthat was my target, but ECID on what is best for Beenie. She did see 60's once on this dose, which doesn't leave lots of room for an increase. But as the tumour changes, so can dose needs so you have to keep an eye on it. The other thing I usually traded off was whether a dose was flat and predictable enough for me to get sleep. If I was losing a lot of sleep, I would sometimes back off the dose a bit until I got caught up.
I kinda felt it seemed a better idea to hold the dose for now. I don't want her to drop too low of course and since she cleared the bounce she's looking more like where I'd like to see her numbers so no need to mess with that now. Like you said that can and will change as we go but for now I'm going to hold the 12.5. Thanks for confirming!!
Bummer on the poo incident. We had another member whose kitty did that reliably within the first couple blocks of home, so she would go round the block a couple times first, change the towel at home, then hit the road. :rolleyes:
Silver-lining, I'm not the only one:facepalm:
 
Your vet sounds awesome! I hope Beenie feels better soon and has a good response to the cabergoline!
He really is. His been our vet for 12 years. We followed him when he opened his own practice. I think he has a better understanding of FD now. He was completely open to everything I was telling him today. He had no clue about the RVC's study that 1 in 4 diabetic cats have Acro. Never heard of Cabergoline being used to treat acro in cats...
I think with the Acro diagnosis he is more on board than before. He was originally so upset with me that I started Beenie on 12 U of Lev when he wrote the script for 1 U. I had left him out of dosing after 3 U on ProZinc. We went up to 14 U before switching. He thought I was going to OD her. Now he sees that what I was doing and am doing has done nothing but get her to better numbers. That's the one really good thing we have going, she's doing very well on Lev. Just need her to shake whatever she's got going on (possible sinus infection) so she starts acting like her numbers. :)
 
Last edited:
My mommy senses told me to get a +11 because I had a feeling she was going lower than 81 today. Now I can see if she's going up at shot time. Lets say she comes in at 74 than there is no question its shootable. We'll see what PMPS is.

I talked about a dose increase and here we are:woot:
 
Figures she'd be a couple points lower than that. :p Fine shooting tonight. :D Congrats on your new lowest preshot.
Thanks.:smuggrin: I decided to catch some zzz's although it took everything I had not to get a +9 or +10. I'm going to save those alarms when I feel she really needs monitoring.
Have a great day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top