8/26 Achilles~AMPS290, PMPS201, 229 (+2.5), 264 (+4)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290

Very nice day yesterday for Achilles. btw - love that name - Achilles. Different and nice. I hope you guys have a great day today. You looked good in those lower numbers yesterday Achilles and a repeat today would be very nice. :-D
 
Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290

Impressive! You did very well last nite.

Glad you guys got those extra tests in too.
:mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290

I have to give my DH the credit for staying up and keeping an eye on our buddy. I think we got a fair amount of data which I will expand on this weekend.

Achilles has been such a trooper through all this. He sits for his BG tests without a complaint. Of course, the freeze dried chicken treats are a nice incentive. Thank you to whoever recommended them. They are a big hit.
 
Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290

Good morning Eva! That higher AMPS=290 is the bounce that Libby was talking about, remember?
I see that you did a lot of testing last night and did very very well with those lower numbers he got! Excellent job!!
That is all wonderful data that you have for his SS and gives a good idea of how he reacts to the insulin, right?

Sometimes, our vets do start our kitties out on a higher dose. The good thing is that you are home testing and can see what his
BGs are. That is THE most important tool you have, that and the HC gravy to get the numbers up when they do go low.
The reason we "Start low and go slow" is that we can slowly go up the dosing ladder in increments of .25u. That way, we hold the dose for a few days and we try each one on for size. If we go right to a random higher dose, there is a good chance that we will bypass the "right" dose.
(my vet recommended 4.0u for my Shadow and when I joined the forum, people here talked to me about starting out at a lower dose. I read a lot and then realized that the people here have seen hundreds of FD kitties and they know a lot about the subject. I realized the importance of what they were saying but at first, I thought my vet was the "doctor" and should know best. Vets have to be knowledgeable about so many varied conditions and most do not study FD exclusively....the people here do. I lowered shadow's dose to start. While none of us or vets, we do know FD....Achilles is your sugarbaby and it is up to you to make the ultimate decision though, right?)

Achilles might go higher than this yellow, or this might be his highest level of bounce right now. They get higher numbers called a "bounce' due to all the hormones that flood their system by the liver in response to lower numbers. Not much we can do to prevent the bounces, but we hope that they are short lived.
Great job Eva!! How is Achilles feeling this morning?
Hope you guys have a great day...great work! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290

Good morning Pat!

Thank you for all the advice and hand holding last night. It was a great comfort to us.

Achilles was his usual self this morning. Although, he and his civ companion Fluffy were not too happy with us b/c they are used to eating breakfast as soon as we get up at around 5:30 or 6. Well, this morning, we had to wait until 8am to feed them. You can imagine the yowling and the following. Fortunately for me, I had to leave the house early and left DH to manage.

I tell you, were it not for the excessive drinking and peeing, we wouldn't have suspected that Achilles was diabetic. He is such a happy go lucky cat. We are truly blessed to have him.
 
Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290

Eva and Achilles said:
...... Well, this morning, we had to wait until 8am to feed them. You can imagine the yowling and the following. Fortunately for me, I had to leave the house early and left DH to manage......
rolling.gif


Oh...YOU are SLICK Eva! "I HAD to leave" .... :lol:
That is one of the most hated things....kitties not being able to eat when they want to...and following you around...and crying ...sooo sad...starving kitties...what is WRONG with our Bean..has she lost her mind? We are starving...so hungry....dying here...
Glad you were able to get out. Wonder if DH bucked under the pressure. :roll:
 
Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290

I'm not convinced that my DH would have been so.... compliant! @-)

Any other numbers on Achilles today... I'm anxious to see if rebound (RBC) will be short lived.

Other comment, if I may.... I'm not sure how you feed Achilles, but his onset 'may' (don't know for sure because not a lot of data... you do what you can and that's ok) be a little strong. To attenuate the onset, it's good to feed a snack. You will notice that several people (can't remember exactly right this minute though) are very good at noting snack 'servings'. If you 'have to' go.... an automated snack machine might be a good purchase.

See you around.
 
Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290

Hi Helene

Pmps 201

DH could not get home to test during the day so that is the only # we have so far. We'll likely test at +2 and +4 before we go to bed.

I'm new to a lot of the terminology. Can you explain what you mean by his onset being strong?

We feed him bfast, dinner and a snack before we go to bed.

I like your idea of leaving a snack for midday and I'm going to buy an automatic feeder for an afternoon snack. My only concern is that I won't know when Achilles eats the snack and I learned yesterday that he cannot eat within 2 hours of his pm test and shot.
 
Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290, PMPS201

let's see if I can explain a bit...

onset being strong means that when the insulin kicks on, say at +2, bang, it's working - like taking an elevator vs the stairs. The food that was eaten at shot time is somewhat gone and the insulin has nothing to counteract per se. Food and insulin go hand in hand. By having multiple meals, not only it helps not overloading the pancreas (think how you feel after thanksgiving dinner) it is also good at what we refer to as feeding the curve. If you 'soften' the onset with food, it's like taking the stairs to the lower floor and not the express elevator.

As far as the snack machine is concerned, well, the not eating after +10 is understandably not so controllable... however, if fresh food is served at +2 and +6... it will likely be all gone by +10.

Does that help?
 
Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290, PMPS201, 229 (+2.5)

Blues or greens would be lovely...but Achilles seems to be going in the opposite direction tonight.

confused_cat
 
Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290, PMPS201, 229 (+2.5)

Hey not bad at all.
Don't stress, Achilles will see those pretty numbers again.

An auto feeder seems to do wonders for kitties, I don't have one (yet) I'm the auto feeder still around here :lol:
but it is good to have small snacks available thru the day or overnite, and like Helene said, you can set it for certain times to open up.

Take care and have a good nite!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top