Re: 8/26 Achilles~AMPS290
Good morning Eva! That higher AMPS=290 is the bounce that Libby was talking about, remember?
I see that you did a lot of testing last night and did very very well with those lower numbers he got! Excellent job!!
That is all wonderful data that you have for his SS and gives a good idea of how he reacts to the insulin, right?
Sometimes, our vets do start our kitties out on a higher dose. The good thing is that you are home testing and can see what his
BGs are. That is THE most important tool you have, that and the HC gravy to get the numbers up when they do go low.
The reason we "Start low and go slow" is that we can slowly go up the dosing ladder in increments of .25u. That way, we hold the dose for a few days and we try each one on for size. If we go right to a random higher dose, there is a good chance that we will bypass the "right" dose.
(my vet recommended 4.0u for my Shadow and when I joined the forum, people here talked to me about starting out at a lower dose. I read a lot and then realized that the people here have seen hundreds of FD kitties and they know a lot about the subject. I realized the importance of what they were saying but at first, I thought my vet was the "doctor" and should know best. Vets have to be knowledgeable about so many varied conditions and most do not study FD exclusively....the people here do. I lowered shadow's dose to start. While none of us or vets, we do know FD....Achilles is your sugarbaby and it is up to you to make the ultimate decision though, right?)
Achilles might go higher than this yellow, or this might be his highest level of bounce right now. They get higher numbers called a "bounce' due to all the hormones that flood their system by the liver in response to lower numbers. Not much we can do to prevent the bounces, but we hope that they are short lived.
Great job Eva!! How is Achilles feeling this morning?
Hope you guys have a great day...great work! :mrgreen: