8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77,+4/81,+5.5/87

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153

Whoo-hoo!! Go Cairo! She don't want no more stinkin' juice! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153

Let's go Cairo! Rooting you on to a lovely green day.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153,+5.5/172

Questions:

1) How will I know if Cairo is doing well without insulin?

2) Is there an under or over # (BG) that I should be on the lookout for? i.e.: it's too high (what number) or too low (what number)?

3) How will I know if I should start her back up on insulin?
 
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153,+5.5/172

We look to see if kitty is coming down with food. Any chance of testing and feeding her a small snack around +8 or +9 today? If the PMBG is down then we know her pancreas is working. If you can't do the test feed at that time, can you get a +11 and post here for advice?
 
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153,+5.5/172

I can definitely do a +10 and a +11 today. Usually, I can do a +9 but not today. Yes, I'll post here for advice after +10 and +11.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153,+5.5/172

It may be that she's not quite ready yet - I posted on yesterday's condo but it was around the same time you opened this one. She was coming so quickly down the dosing scale that giving her a break to allow the depot to "drain" some might allow you to give insulin again without having her plummeting like she's been doing.

Let's see where she is tonight.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153,+5.5/172, +10.5/151,+11/159

just a suggestion - would you add a new reply to bump up your post when you've got test results like this? it makes the post rise to the top of the page.

i'm thinking you might want to start back up with 0.1u now that the depot would be drained some with the skipped shot. I think you've got 45 minutes til your shot time, so let's see what others think.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153,+5.5/172, +10.5/151,+11/159

Julie, I usually shoot at 5:30 so I've got about a 10 min. window. Also, she ate at 4:00 pm so if I shoot, it's on a "semi" full tummy. Let me know if you still think I should shoot .1 units tonight.

I marked this as a question, hopefully for a speedy response. I have to go back and digest what you wrote about bumping my post.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153,+5.5/172, +10.5/151,+11/159

didn't you shoot at 6pm last night?

i just meant that today you edited the subject line and updated the test results. I was watching for your +10 and +11, but watching at the top of the page and on her ss. if you only edit the subject line, the post will stay at the bottom. so it's helpful if you edit the subject line of the first post, but also add a reply to the post. that bumps it up so it gets seen.

it's not a huge deal, so don't worry about it. :-D
 
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153,+5.5/172, +10.5/151,+11/159

Ohhhh, ok. I think I understand. No, I usually shoot at 5:30 but I guess I could shoot at 6. I'm able to change to that time.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153,+5.5/172, +10.5/151,+11/159

ok - well hang on then. sorry to be so confusing.

sometimes cats will bounce FROM the insulin and it can be hard to tell what's what.

be right back.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo AMBG 153,+5.5/172, +10.5/151,+11/159

Hi Jeannie

I've been gone and so haven't had a chance to welcome you all. Cairo has been on a mission!

Julie and I have been discussing and I just threw out the thought that Cairo looks like she's bouncing but is it because of not enough insulin or, as Julie said, she's bounding from the insulin. Although she's pretty flat today, she is up a bit at mid cycle which we call an inverted curve. An inverted curve can be caused by too much or too little insulin....wouldn't you know ;-)

Her last reductions came pretty fast and so we also don't know if it was depot from a higher dose still dropping her. I think the decision needs to be yours. If you shoot tonight, she could very well drop low again but none of us can predict it. I've seen cats that were bouncing off the insulin take more than six cycles for the depot to drain before they were solid green. I don't expect it would take Cairo that long.

On the other had, if she does still need a titch of insulin, I sure don't want her to sit at high blue numbers and stop her progress.

Any thoughts?
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMBG 175

I sort of understand all that. My gut feeling says I should give her the .1 units and if she goes low greens again I will bring her up with food. It sounds like that would give her more of chance to continue her progress...?
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMBG 175

I think that is reasonable. I just didn't want to make that decision for you of a potential all nighter. It's really hard for us to tell without a bit more data but Cairo doesn't seem to want to hang out here long :-D

I know you will watch her closely. Sometimes cats will go up before they come back down and she's back up a smidge. I would not go past +2 without a test.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMBG 175

I gave her the shot. I will check at +1, +2, +3, +4 and more if needed. It's just sleep...right! :lol:
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175

there's always tomorrow night for sleeping! ;-) :lol:

some cats are really obvious, some are more tricky - at the moment, Cairo isn't telling all so she seems a bit more tricky. fingers crossed that she'll drop below 50 to say clearly she's done with insulin.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175

Ya, I'm beginning to think sleep is overrated :lol:

C'mon Cairo! Let's DO THIS!!

I'll check back shortly!
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175

i have a friend who has a kinda tacky saying, but i'll share it anyway since it's appropriate here for Cairo - she says

"pee or get off the pot!"

hear that Cairo? make a decision here!
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158

One would expect a food spike here. I think you should expect an active cycle tonight ;-)

And sleep is not overrated :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107

Another active night!!

Feed her a couple of teaspoons of food and let's see if we can slow her down some
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107

Predictions are wasted on Cairo. :lol: :lol: :lol: Paws crossed for a clear answer tonight.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107

Her drop last night between +1 and +2 was close to the same as tonight in terms of mg/dL. I'm guessing an 80 at +3 :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77

Ohhh Marje (and Gracie) you were soooo close! 77 at +3

Questions:

1) Is it safe to go to bed? ...ME that is! :shock: ...I'm exhausted!

2) Do I need to test anymore tonight?

3) Do I shoot .1 units tomorrow morning?

4) Is there anything else tonight that I should be on concerned with?
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77

Hi. I wouldn't go to bed with Cairo still dropping at only +3. Let's see what Julie or Marje say.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77

1) Is it safe to go to bed? ...ME that is! :shock: ...I'm exhausted!

No, not yet

2) Do I need to test anymore tonight?

Yes...I'd get a 3.5 or 4

3) Do I shoot .1 units tomorrow morning?

Not if you can't test, I don't think I would

4) Is there anything else tonight that I should be on concerned with?

Keeping the coffee hot? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77

Haha. Love it when my crystal ball is working.

9c483c7c-c693-403b-9822-aa957f05e7cb_zpsa08a0a96.jpg


I agree with Elise and Chris that no sleep for you yet! I'd get a +4; I wouldn't test at +3.5. But I'd definitely feed her two good tsp of LC food.

Let me scratch my head about the dose and see if I can mull it around with Julie or Wendy. I think the others have gone to bed :-D
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77

I agree with chris. If you are sure you'll wake up you could set an alarm for 30 min. We need to know if she goes below 50.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77

I'm seeing a 50 pt drop in the first hour from +1-+2, and 30 point drop in the second hour. She's only 27 points above 50 right now.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77

It's only 20 min. to a +4. I can do that. If I have to do a +5 or beyond, I'll have to set an alarm.

For tomorrow, I'll only be able to get a +6 then not again until +8.5 and beyond.

I'll check in with new numbers in a bit.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77

Let's see where she is before we decide on a dose or whether to skip tomorrow.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77,+4/81

+4 is 81. I gave her a couple tsp. of LC food. I'll hang out for a bit longer and see what advice my amazing guru's have for me (umm, that's YOU) :lol:
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77,+4/81

Lovely surf! If she's hungry, I'd give her some more LC and test at +5 or +5.5. Then I'd see if she can surf.
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77,+4/81

Ok, I'm going to set my alarm for 11:30 (that will be +5.5). I'll post her numbers after I test. Going to try and catch an hours worth of winks :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 8/25Cairo PMPS 175,+1/158,+2/107,+3/77,+4/81

I set the cell phone alarm, sleep on the sofa with the light on. Makes it easier to wake up.
 
Jeannie

You said you'd be home at +6 right? Then do you stay home?

We were talking about you shooting on an 18 hour schedule. So instead of shooting at +12 which is 5:30 for you, you would shoot tomorrow at 11:30 (+18). Then you'd be home in a couple hours.

If that's not possible, I'm with Julie....if you can't monitor her, you might want to skip unless you can shoot less insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top