8/25 Trinity AMPS 309 PMPS 282 +1/310 +2/202 +3/200 +4/243

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeyB

Member Since 2013
Ate well after PMPS and again at about +2, LC food still raised BG at +4?

Raised her dosage to 2u BID this morning.

Today's partial condo, AMPS 298 and +5/259 +8/394!? <---Wasn't expecting that!

With the steady testing, I've noticed Trinity is sleeping under the bed a bit more then normal and doesn't always come when called like she used to. But overall, it's working out much easier for both of us. It lowers my stress level knowing much more about what is going on, and in the end, Trinity's care will be that much better since my awareness has already caused the increase in dosage shown in my SS.

Now to find a new Lantus pen. this one is starting to run low. :shock:
 
Re: 8/25 Trinity AMPS 309 PMPS 282 +1/310 +2/202 +3/200 +4/2

The last thing you want to do is run out. Do you have a 'script from the vet? Most pharmacies won't sell 1 pen, you have to get them in packs of 5. If you can't do that, you better start searching now for a place that will sell you 1. Check with DCIN if you run out of options. Lord knows, we wouldn't have made it without them in the beginning.

Keep in mind, cats will throw a weird number occasionally without any obvious reason. Just go with it, look at a full cycle, not a single number. Personally, I always keep a dose at least 5 days, because, over time, Lucian has shown me it takes him 5-7 days to settle in. That's not uncommon, some cats take 10 days or more. Nothing is cut in stone, ECID AGAIN! ohmygod_smile But that's for an increase, for a decrease, 3 days max for me. If it's not working, I take him right back up. Not going to waste the time or hurt his health on a dose that is too low. Again, JMHO. :-D

You're doing great, hang in there! :thumbup
 
Re: 8/25 Trinity AMPS 309 PMPS 282 +1/310 +2/202 +3/200 +4/2

Wow, look at you!! Look how far you have come in knowledge - and so fast! You'll be helping Newbies soon.

I agree with Debbie that DCIN could help you find a single pen especially since you and Venita are both in Wilmington.
Now you're going to stay at 2u for a while to see how that settles in. Put on your patience pants - this ride is not over. Hopefully you'll know better by the end of the week how this dosage is settling in.

Nice dance Trinity!
 
Re: 8/25 Trinity AMPS 309 PMPS 282 +1/310 +2/202 +3/200 +4/2

Yes, check with V. But know that there are some places that will sell you a single pen. I got my vet to call in the Lev script to Target Pharmacy and they sell me one at a time. I think it was about $54. It's been awhile, as the pen I have now I got from V when I was home for a visit (for a donation). Worth the extra effort to take it on the plane with me though.

Keep up the good work. It might take some time for you cat to get used to the testing. Do you heat the ear? I burned the rice sock I got, but my step-mom had bought Cedric a toy that had a small heating pad in it. I zap it in the micro for 23 seconds then apply it to his ear. The blood comes right out most times. I use a 33 g needle on the lancet.
 
Re: 8/25 Trinity AMPS 309 PMPS 282 +1/310 +2/202 +3/200 +4/2

nckitties3 said:
The last thing you want to do is run out. Do you have a 'script from the vet? Most pharmacies won't sell 1 pen, you have to get them in packs of 5. If you can't do that, you better start searching now for a place that will sell you 1. Check with DCIN if you run out of options. Lord knows, we wouldn't have made it without them in the beginning.

I do have a prescription that was given to me by the Vet, but think it may have ended up in the great black hole that orbits my place and things disappear into randomly. I'm sure I can get the vet to re-write or call it in once I find a place that has the single pens if possible.

I've still got a couple weeks left in the pen I have now, so it's not imperative that I get something done today or tomorrow, but I will get this done sooner then later. I'm trying to hold off on going to DCIN since I'd rather she spent her resources on those like me in the beginning who are true emergencies. I'm sure I can find somewhere around here eventually.

Another post later ITT said something about Target, going to check with them tomorrow.
 
Re: 8/25 Trinity AMPS 309 PMPS 282 +1/310 +2/202 +3/200 +4/2

doombuggy said:
Yes, check with V. But know that there are some places that will sell you a single pen. I got my vet to call in the Lev script to Target Pharmacy and they sell me one at a time. I think it was about $54. It's been awhile, as the pen I have now I got from V when I was home for a visit (for a donation). Worth the extra effort to take it on the plane with me though.

Keep up the good work. It might take some time for you cat to get used to the testing. Do you heat the ear? I burned the rice sock I got, but my step-mom had bought Cedric a toy that had a small heating pad in it. I zap it in the micro for 23 seconds then apply it to his ear. The blood comes right out most times. I use a 33 g needle on the lancet.

Checking on Target tomorrow, thanks!

Re Trinity's bleeding like a pro. I gotta be careful to stay away from the vein since the last couple times I've hit it the amount of blood was astounding! She's not thrilled with the process, but knows it doesn't last long so puts up with it. I've got a rice sock as well, but don't heat it. Just a few rubs on the ear once I've got her in place for the testing seems to bring more then enough blood out most times.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top