8/25 Tibbs amps 379

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
i will be getting another mid cycle reading today. if it's still up there, i'm thinking 2 units next. i hope everybody else's kittys are ok. i'm so sorry that alot of them have been sick this week. tibbsy sends his love !!
 
Nadine - I can't believe Tibbs' numbers are still so high! I've been out of the loop, but did he finally transition over to just wet food? I am certainly no expert, far from it, but just reading here at FDMD I've seen other cats who weren't responding to Lantus make the switch to Levemir with good results. Is that a possibility for Tibbs? I wish there was something I could do to help that beautiful boy.
 
hi Geneva
he still has a tiny bit of purina d/m when i go to work but it's very little. we have only been trying to bring him down since july 14 so maybe it's too soon???? idk. i would def consider levimir. everyone else seems to have lots of success with it. don't know how long i should try lantus b4 thinking of switching to levimir.
 
Hi Nadine,
Sorry Tibbsy is still in tutus. Noodle had a little sunshine but a tutu also. I am just like you--wondering all the time whether to go to Levemir. The vet I trust is a total Lantus fan so don't know if he'd agree but if a few more weeks pass with no improvement maybe he'll hear me out. But in the meantime, it sure is frustrating, isn't it? Ruins my day when I see all those 300s! :cry: Keeping a good thought for sweet Tibbs. Noodle sends loves.

Christi
 
thanks Christi
sending good thoughts & hugs to noodle too. my vet has never worked with Levimir but i think he would give it to me if i asked. i'll have to ask the experts here how long we should wait b4 trying levimir.
 
Hi Nadine,
Jill, with many years experience on here, told me it might be helpful to go and post on Tight Regulation Lantus forum so I just did. I'm hoping for some more opinions over there about Noodle's stubborn glucose numbers. Pet Tibbs for me. :smile:

Christi
 
Tight Regulation test many more times a day, raises the dose every 3 days. Otherwise the two forums are about the same.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
thanks Mel
i am not able to test that much so i am def a "relaxed lantus" girl. lol thanks
 
In my honest opinion, as long as you are feeding the dry D/M then you will have to keep raising the dose. The dry D/M is as much as 25% carb and too high for a sugarcat. Even one morsel will send my sugarcat's bg soaring. I removed the dry food from my household "cold turkey". It was hard but I leave canned food out for grazing and all my kitties have adapted. You really can't make a case for Lantus not working if there are other factors that could be making Tibbs go high. Lantus is a very good insulin and Levemir is not going to be any different under these circumstances.

So if you are transitioning off the D/M completely, then giving Lantus a good run in time and Dibbs numbers are still high, then maybe a switch in insulin should be considered.

I love Tibbs face!
 
wow. 25% carbs. well that def makes a difference. he has only a small but as u said if even a few pcs does the damage. i will change him over totally and see whst happens. thanls
 
Prop is sending Tibbs wet kisses.

Be aware to lower dose a bit when taken all dry away. And dont do it before you can be home to get some midcycle just i case Tibbs will go low. I dont expect adramatic drop since Tibbs havent had to much dry, but just in case.
 
Guess I missed he was still getting dry. There's your problem with his numbers. Dry DM is what had Cassanova at 11u and my foster Cali at 7u its 46% carbs. If I want to skyrocket either Autumn or Cassanova it only takes 1-2 kibble and I have a cat in the black.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Yes, and the day my Sunny got into Lucky's dry (Orijen, which seems pretty good carb-wise - at least in terms of dry), she jumped up into the 400s by an hour later. Hope Tibbs will do okay with no dry! Sometimes, they get upset when you take it away entirely. Lucky won't give it up, no matter how hard I try!
 
thanks everyone. i have been backing the dry food off so i will keep doing that until it's zero dry. he is on very little of it do it shouldn't b that hard. i hope !!!!!
 
How's baby boy doing today? Noodle has no ketones today--yay! But still in the pinks :sad: Got some great advice over on TR about what might help Noodle. I fattened his dose yesterday to 1.5fat and should have raised him by a quarter unit instead but now that I've done the 1.5fat, I was advised to do that for 4 more doses then raise him. Bet he'll bounce (he always seems to) but hope not. Fingers crossed for some lower numbers for Tibbsy :smile:

Christi
 
Nadine - if you're worried about leaving wet food out, just add some water to it before you leave. My daughter does this with her cat and by the time she gets home from work, he's finished a whole can of Fancy Feast. As the others have said, even a little bit of dry can make a huge difference.

RobinCot - I was going to quote you but your whole post is spot on so let me just say GREAT POST. Good info for everyone who hasn't made the switch yet.
 
thanks for all the ideas. question, when i have him on wet only, how long should it b b4 i start to worry about him going hypo? does the wet only take effect immediately or does it take some time to show up in his numbers? i know ecid but is there any generality? thanks
 
My cat dropped immediately (that same day) when I cut out dry food and continued to trend down for a couple days after that, too, though I cut the dose already on the days that I fed less dry. I had to cut her dose several times in a few days. Take a look at my spreadsheet and you'll see toward the top when I went to half and then all wet food with my cat who was on the other dry prescription "diabetic" food (W/D) originally.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top