8/25 Savannah amps 150, pmps 104 question

Status
Not open for further replies.

dd & savannah

Member Since 2010
Morning LL!

Yesterday

Seems like I have to keep giving some mc/hc here and there. Is there a +1 or +2 number/drop percentage I should give it? Should I just wait and see what happens? I won't always be home to get a +1 and I'm not sure if leaving gravy out is a good idea. Any thoughts?

Here were her numbers last night:
pmps 82-.85 given
+1 101
+2 78 mc/hc gravy given
+3 89
+4 123
+6 97

Thanks!
 
Re: 8/25 Savannah amps 150, question

hi
I will try to help with this...note, ECID..
it takes a bit of tracking (I'm starting to hate that word, lol!) to get an idea of how your kitty responds to HC - some are too sensitive
but tracking is good, making notes along the way on your SS

numbers in the 40's - gravy/HC yes


those numbers you had last nite after +2
LC would of been fine, it looks like she wanted to surf, and surfing in the 70's is great! Very good range.

as you can see the HC raised her into the blues by +4
so I'd say she responds good to the HC/MC mix to get numbers up.

food on board, the regular kind (LC) in the first couple of hours of a cycle is a good idea,
if you have to leave, you just leave plenty out - you could top the regular food with some MC mix

does that help? did I confuse? I'm still working on my ~O)
But let's see what others can add ok?
 
Re: 8/25 Savannah amps 150, question

I don't give HC or MC unless Tray gets in the 40-60 range but ECID so you might have to see how Savannah reacts to the food. It's alot of trial and error I think.
Good luck though!
 
Re: 8/25 Savannah amps 150, question

It sounds like you are trying to provide a cushion should numbers start to drop early in the cycle. If that's the case, before going further, when are you feeding now? Are you giving meals just at pre-shot times?
 
Re: 8/25 Savannah amps 150, question

Well, I guess we free feed. We always leave food out. She does eat around her preshot time, either right before or right after. She seems to nibble throughout the day. We put our fresh food in the am, sometimes midday around 3, before pmps, and around bedtime.
I am definitely nervous shooting low w/o being home. I am hoping I can get her amps earlier enough so that I can get a +.75/1 and would really hate to leave for work feeling anxious about it. She also seems to drop back down after +6, which also makes me a little weary as to what is going on.
The mc/hc hasn't been too bad and seems to be out of her system in a good amount of time. I guess I am wondering if maybe I should put some mc in her food on days that I think she may need a cushion.

Any advice would be great. Thanks!
 
Re: 8/25 Savannah amps 150, question

Iorwen & Tray said:
I don't give HC or MC unless Tray gets in the 40-60 range but ECID so you might have to see how Savannah reacts to the food. It's alot of trial and error I think.
Good luck though!

I guess HC is high carb and LC is low carb... but what does MC stand for? Medium Carb?
 
Looking at Savannah's SS, I don't see big drops that necessarily warrant intervening with higher carb food. I absolutely understand your concern when you can't be home to monitor. There are a couple of approaches you can consider.

Most beans here monitor numbers and wait for a drop below 40 (since Savannah's not newly diagnosed) so their cat earns a dose reduction. Once numbers drop into that range, they increase the carb content of food to bring numbers back up to above 50. It looks like you're a little nervous about allowing numbers to drop into those lower ranges.

There's an alternative route that's described in Tilly whereby a cat earns a dose reduction by staying in "normal" numbers (below 120) for a week. I'm using a modification of this approach with Gabby. I worked with Jill to use a plan to manipulate the curve using food. I'm doing this because Gabby is prone to plummeting numbers and not holding dose reductions. I've raised her insulin to a point where she is surfing in green numbers and if numbers look like they're dropping, I feed higher carb food to keep her from earning a dose reduction (with the exception of days like today when she surprises me).
 
I really am afraid of those lower numbers. I am also afraid of her bouncing. I just intervened again last night with some HC b/c she was 57 @ 3.5. I'll be home all day tomorrow (Friday) maybe I can get a better understanding of where this is all going.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top