8/25 Sam pmps 123 I need an experienced eye, please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lar&Sam

Member Since 2017
Hi-
Thanks for looking. We got our meter yesterday and did the first curve today. I've read just about every sticky on the health forum and here, which lead me to believe I should not dose tonight. Can someone take a look at this spread sheet and tell me if I'm correct?
Just in case- I think SLGS appeals to me, but I'm also thinking my fella is getting way too much insulin right now.
Thanks for the guidance.
Lauren
 
If you get a Pre-shot under 200 (it quickly lowers to 150), you can do what we call "stall"....make sure you don't feed anything and then test again in 20-30 minutes

Knowing if the numbers are going up (without the influence of food) can make the decision on whether to shoot or not a lot easier.

While you're waiting, post for help. If you've already got a thread that day, edit the subject line and add something like "STALLING...HELP!" so people will know you're looking for guidance ....if you haven't already posted that day, just make that your subject!
 
Good catch. Regardless of which method you are following, that 47 warrants a reduction. New dose is 1.75u.

Not enough data to tell which way your kitty is going to go. In any case you will find out if his counter regulatory systems are functioning ; that 47 will likely cause a panic reaction, which is good because you'll know his body works to keep him safe.

If you skip, think of it as a fur shot.
 
Good morning :cool:

How is Sam today?

Please do not continue to give insulin without testing first.

I see in your remarks (ss) a couple comments regarding lethargy, crying and falling in the litter box. Please tell us more about all that as they can be symptoms of hypoglycemia , which is life threatening.
 
Good morning :cool: Please do not continue to give insulin without testing first. I see in your remarks (ss) a couple comments regarding lethargy, crying and falling in the litter box. Please tell us more about all that as they can be symptoms of hypoglycemia , which is life threatening.

THANK YOU for checking in on us. He is sleeping in his favorite spot, much more comfortable looking than this past week. We skipped dosing last night as I didn't feel comfortable shooting at 123. I will absolutely NOT be shooting blind anymore. He was having a lot of difficulty in movement, walking on his hocks... on the rare occasion he was walking at all, crying @ the box. I happened to catch him falling in the box and fed him some hc by hand. Yesterday when he threw the 47 I hand fed him some deli meat (I know the dangers, read the label and decided to go for it.)

I'm a bit emotionally strung out from this past week. He's been miserable and I was just trying to do what the doc told me to do. :banghead:
Now that the meter, has arrived I can take a far more proactive stance in his treatment. I plan on watching his numbers and hold off dosing unless he goes above 200.

Again, Sandy, Thank You so much for checking on him. I really appreciate it.
 
I'm glad to hear Sam is OK
I'm a bit emotionally strung out from this past week.
we all know that feeling.

He's been miserable and I was just trying to do what the doc told me to do. :banghead:
Sadly, most vets don't really know FD.
I'm glad you made it here to Lantus & Levimir Land (L&LL) and encourage you to post a daily condo (thread) so that we can best help you and Sam.

Read the stickies at the top of the forum starting here and ask questions.

Hang in there and hang in here
:cool:

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top