8/25 Rufus +11.75 428... (PMshot)... +3.4 297

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

347? Pooh. I think there was something in that chicken that didn't agree with his BGLs yesterday; we'll be cutting that out, and going back to the bonito flakes and a little bit of gator cat wrasslin' (if we have to).

WCR: Alert, focused (on food), and social. :) He's taken care of the basic business and is now surveying his demesne from the living room floor. Aww... limited sunbathing today, it's looking pretty dreary out his window.

Now if only we weren't out of: ~O)
 
Re: 8/25 Rufus AMPS 347

hi good morning!

is today your vetty appointment?

dont you hate being out of ~O) cat(2)_steam can-not-function, lol!!
 
Re: 8/25 Rufus AMPS 347

Yes, indeedy. Today we go to the Vet for a general "I wonder how he's doing" update. She wants to get a look at his BGL for herself, but I'll see if I can't get a test in before we have to leave - it might be interesting to see what the difference is and how high he'll go after an icky ride in the car! We'll print out his spreadsheet at the latest point and do all we can to impress her with the good movement he's made (and forgive the not-so-good movement. That's just temporary).

The Vet is already aware of felinediabetes.com and Janet & Binky's list - she found them herself, I think. I'm glad she's so interested and prepared to learn more in order to treat her patients. Some vets are just sticks in the mud when it comes to all that "newfangled" research. I think if I were to try to discuss this with my grandfather it would probably confuse the heck out of him; why on earth would a person spend all that time and money on a pet? Old school.

And as for coffee - I'm not even supposed to be having it (it seems I have no natural circadian rhythm - medication can tame it, but caffeine can really mess it up!)... the only thing is - I like it, and decaf' is TERRIBLE.
 
Re: 8/25 Rufus AMPS 347

out of coffee???? That would be like the end of the world around here. I think a trip to the store is in order. :lol: :lol:

Good luck at the vet - I think it is wonderful that she wants to learn and is open to it all. That is so great.
 
Re: 8/25 Rufus AMPS 347

Oh, end of the world? No kidding! The ladies my mother manages got her a whole collection of coffee-related things for... it was probably her birthday. In the package was a mug that read, "No Coffee, No Workee" - it couldn't be more accurate. She needs her Liquid Batteries! As for myself? Well, after dumping a ton of creamer in it, I just like the taste. :lol:
 
Re: 8/25 Rufus AMPS 347, +3 318, +6.75 294

"Oh bleh!" on those numbers. It's looking like I might have given him another partial today - I know I'm not using the syringe the way I did in the beginning. I need to get over it and just stick that baby all the way in there... gently. I will do it right tonight.

WCR: Good boy (for now! We'll just see how things go once we break out the carrier. :lol: ) LOTS of purring at +3, and we played with his favorite rattle-ball (*ahem* that would be the yellow and white fuzzy one, thank you) this morning - forgot about that. Currently napping on Tess - the Testing Chair.
 
Re: 8/25 Rufus AMPS 347... +11.75 428: Vet Update

We took Rufus to the vet/picked up Winnie (our 15-year-old Beagle/Dachshund with NORMAL bloodwork. Have you ever heard of a dog that age whose bloodwork is "normal"?) from the vet and had a chat about Rufus' spreadsheet, too. Doc thinks it's great that we're doing it and seems to be thinking this is a tool she wants more of her diabetic clients to use. Yay!

As expected, Rufus is pretty high tonight. Doc's orders say let's nudge him up to 1u, and since we were late getting home for Dinner/Shot-time, I decided to begin that tonight. No, I didn't get a PMPS. Bad, I know. I'm sure plenty of you know - it isn't pretty trying to wrangle two hungry animals at once /endbadexcuse.

I'm going to make his +3 more like a +3.5 so I can see deeper into onset. For my own sake: tomorrow's AM feeding/shot will be at 7:30am. Yay! Rest a little bit more in the morning. :roll:

WCR: Rufus handled himself very well at the vet and got lots of compliments for his beauty and... well... not clawing anybody in the eyes, I guess. :-D He even came out of the carrier on his own volition. (We once had a cat who went into the Mission Impossible pose and made you dump him out! Good old Sam). Currently swatting at a bug in the house. Otherwise, all kitty systems functioning on "normal".
 
Re: 8/25 Rufus AMPS 347... +11.75 428: Vet Update

good luck with the dosecrease! My suggestion is to monitor closely the next few days. The reason I hadn't suggested an increase yet is because with all those possible fur shots, we haven't really gotten a chance to see what 0.75 can do when he gets all of it for several days in a row. Most likely he was going to need the increase, but I wanted to wait and see what happened when his shed refilled.
 
Re: 8/25 Rufus AMPS 347... +11.75 428: Vet Update

Yep, I was wavering on the increase myself, particularly because of the fur shots. There was just no "control" in the equation to see what was keeping him high. If it turns out that the fur shots are what is keeping him up there, then I'll happily decrease. But we'll see what that extra .25 is giving him tonight. Definitely going to get that +3.5, even if we have to stretch bedtime a little. :)
 
Re: 8/25 Rufus AMPS 347... +11.75 428: Vet Update

Good luck with the dosecrease! And it is nice to hear Rufus did well at the vet. I like vets that are willing to look at what we do with this board - so nice to read.
 
Re: 8/25 Rufus +11.5 428... (PMshot)... +3.4 297

Thanks y'all. Rufus is coming down nicely at +3.4 (couldn't wait the full thirty minutes, lol). I'd be interested in getting some more numbers during the night, but I know from experience it's not a good idea to deny myself sleep... unless someone thinks he's falling too fast and he needs to be watched? @-)
 
Hi

nice vetty report, glad to see you impressed them.

dont worry if numbers look like they need monitoring someone will probably burst your bubble and make you stay up to test. :lol:
At least he is making his way down on his own watch.

Take it easy and have a good nite Bee!
 
Lol, no kidding! Well, I'll wish you a good night too, then... (no matter how long it lasts for me! :lol: )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top