8/25 River AMPS=495 +2=394 +4=288 +6=279 +9=299

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picknickchick

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Today's numbers
7:15 495 (27.5 mmol/L) AMPS
7:30 2.75u Lantus *
9:30 394 (21.9)
11:30 288 (16)
1:30 279 (15.5)
4:30 299 (16.6)
6:00 335 (18.6)
7:00 367 (20.4)
7:00 2.75U Lantus *
9:00 445 (24.7)


*I added .25u to his morning shot, guessing that it's time to increase.
 
Re: 8/24 River AMPS=495 +2=394 +4=288

I can't tell from River's speadsheet whether you gave insulin last night. If you miss a shot, could you write skip in the units column so we know what was done. I'm wondering about that 495 this morning. A missed shot is one explanation. I also don't see a PMPS test or any night time tests. It's a good idea to get at least one test during each night cycle, such as one just before you go to bed, so you can see what River does at night. Some cats (such as my Neko) often go lower at night. Actually Neko almost exclusively goes low at night. :roll: If River had gone low at night, that could also explain this morning's number.

Paws crossed that increase brings his numbers into a better range.
 
Re: 8/24 River AMPS=495 +2=394 +4=288

Thanks for letting me know I hadn't updated the SS with last night's shot.
I'll set an alarm so I don't fall asleep so early tonight, and can get 1 or 2 tests in.

I don't know why he was so high this morning. He's been breathing noisily with some coughing, so I gave him a couple puffs with the Aerokat, which he despises.
My previous vet said that asthma attacks can affect BG numbers. I don't know if that's true, as a lot of other things she said were the opposite ;-)
 
Re: 8/24 River AMPS=495 +2=394 +4=288 +6=279

We have a couple of other kitties here with asthma. Check out Tarragon (Melissa) and Poe (Karen), Kismet (Courtney) condos. Courtney hasn't posted for a while but Kismet's BG was impacted by attacks.

Even a +2 test at night will be an indicator of what the evening cycle will look like. If it's lower than the PMPS, then you might want to set the alarm for a second test later.
 
Re: 8/24 River AMPS=495 +2=394 +4=288 +6=279

Thanks for the info about the other cats with asthma. I love this place, the wealth of knowledge.
Regarding the evening tests, I'm guessing that I want the +2 to be lower than the PMPS, but not by too much, is that correct?
Sounds like you are having a lovely day today, Wendy! I loved visiting Vancouver.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top