8/25 Ozy AMBG-34; stalled 2 hrs,AMPS-228,PMPS-310

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/25 AMPS-1-34

You didn't shoot, right? If not, you can change AMPS to AMBG so people know you didn't shoot. :-D

I'd just give a teaspoon or two of HC food and re-test in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 8/25 AMBG-1-34,now 110

We gave him karo syrup and higher carb food... quite a bit of it. I guess that was a mistake, but now he is at 110. Whew. I guess it's just a question of monitoring and feeding now, isn't it?

What about the insulin? Skip it entirely or what?
 
Re: 8/25 AMBG-34,+.5- 110

I don't know about the insulin, but I would definitely keep testing throughout the day. The karo and HC food will wear off eventually. Do you have plenty of test supplies and more HC food just in case?
 
Re: 8/25 AMBG-34,+.5- 110

Well, if your schedule can accommodate stalling, you can wait 2 hours and see where he is once the food wears off and then shoot the full dose. You could shoot a reduced dose now if you schedule can't accommodate stalling, as long as you'll be home to test and monitor, in case he starts dropping again when the HC wears off. If you aren't around today, I'd skip, just to be safe.
 
Re: 8/25 AMBG-34,+.5- 110

How long can you delay today and stay on schedule? If the answer is not long, then it looks like you are skipping this morning. Otherwise you have to wait for the effects of the karo/food to wear off and see where he is before shooting. Even if you skip, you might want to test a bit early in the cycle to make sure he's OK when the karo wears off.

BTW, you can add Ozy's name to the first subject line.

And breathe, feeding that 34 was the right thing to do.
 
Re: 8/25 AMBG-34,+.5- 110,+1-169

Thanks, Wendy & Nikki. It's nice to have a little hand holding. Plenty of food and test strips. Yes, I am home to test. It was just a little scary and shocking.
 
Re: 8/25 AMBG-34,+.5- 110,+1-169

I've learned that days like this are a good way to see how much the HC food brings the BG up and how long its effects last. Now you can have that data available for next time.
 
Re: 8/25 AMBG-34,+.5- 110,+1-169

You definitely earned a dose reduction. ( back to 3.75 )

Can your schedule handle the delay? You would shoot next 12 hours from whenever you shoot this morning.
Your options are to delay.
Or you could give a BCS.... a lesser dose so you don't lose your momentum....and drain the depot.

and third option is skip.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34,+.5- 110,+1-169

I still get freaked out when Nikki throws me a number in the 30's and she's NOT on insulin!!

Great job testing and catching that number! That's exactly why it's so good to test before every shot! :-D
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34,+.5- 110,+1-169

I've never posted in Ozy's condo before but wanted to offer some support until someone more experienced chimed in. You're doing a good job.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34,+.5- 110,+1-169

Thanks, carfurby. Yes, we got it right back up. However, I think we over fed and over dosed the karo. Maybe his liver won't notice that low number....

And thanks, Nikki and Rhiannon.

How long do I wait for the food to wear off before shooting? And hasn't he earned a reduction?
 
Re: 8/25 AMBG-34,+.5- 110,+1-169

Hi - I won't be around much today to follow trough on this, but do agree on what has been said so far.
There is no harm in skipping the shot this morning, or stalling too. You'll need to recheck numbers to see where Ozy is, as that HC will wear off soon. I'd check every 30 minutes or so until you are sure Ozy can maintain safe Numbers. I agree with Wendy on the timing of stalling etc I also would check through the day and see how he's doing.
You did the right thing by feeding that 34. It did earn Ozzy a reduction too. Congrats!
Good luck, I hope all goes well today. I am sure it will. You did well.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34,+.5- 110,+1-169

Don't worry about overfeeding and giving lots of karo. I did that the first time I saw a green and it was only in the 60s. It's so easy to panic. I've learned to take a deep breath and give one teaspoon at a time. Of course the 30s are something I've not had to deal with yet.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34,+.5- 110,+1-169

Well, thank you all for being there. It is nice not to be alone.

I will continue to test. I can accommodate whatever he needs. I am lucky that way. The vet is also open 7 days and close by. Not sure what they would do. Maybe I should ask more questions about their experience with diabetic cats. I know they have a few cats who live there that their people gave up because they are diabetic and the people couldn't/wouldn't care for them.

The option that appeals to me most is to wait until the high carb wears off and if his number is okay, shoot a reduced dose of 3.75... Are you saying it takes two hours to wear off?

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34,+.5- 110,+1-169

Ozy has definitely earned a deduction! Congratulation. :-D :-D

If your schedule can accommodate at least a 2 hour delay tonight and tomorrow morning, and you want to shoot then keep testing every half hour until you start seeing the effects of the food wear off (numbers go down). Depending on how much you gave and the carb sensitivity of the cat, it could take a couple hours, plus or minus. Once you've seen him come down, and he's in safe numbers, then you can shoot. There is also no harm in skipping if your schedule can't handle the delay.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34,+.5- 110,+1-169

I don't know how long it takes to wear off. It probably depends on how much you gave him. I would suggest testing one hour after he ate and see if he is going up or down. If he's coming back down, I would test in 30 minutes to see how fast he is dropping. That should give you an idea of whether you want to shoot and how much to shoot.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34,+1-169,+1.5-194,+2-228

He is still going up at +2...

I don't know if it is all the food or if his liver kicked in.

Not sure what to do.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34,+1-169,+1.5-194,+2-228

The 194 and 228 is basically the same with meter variance. Maybe test again in 20 minutes and if he's still going up and you can live with your schedule being off, I'd shoot.

To get back to your normal test times, you'd shoot 30 minutes earlier once a day or 15 minutes earlier each shot so it can take a few days to get back to the regular schedule.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34.shot at+2,AMPS-228,+2-258

Since he didn't show any hypo symptoms I don't know that you HAVE to call. The vet will just tell you to lower the dose probably, which you are doing. :-D

I see he's still going up! He'll probably have a heck of a bounce from that low.

You may want to try and get a +10 or +11 when you can. I suspect that PMPS last night was a dropping number. When you shoot those you may want to set your alarm for a late night test just to be safe. (Those are the WORST!)
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34,+1-169,+1.5-194,+2-228

You don't need to notify your vet unless Ozy was experiencing symptomatic hypoglycemia. If Ozy was not experiencing symptoms, they it's just low numbers, not hypo.

I'm not clear -- did you shoot late?

You might want to look at this post on handling low pre-shots. You did the right thing -- you want to feed the 40s (or below) but you don't want to overdo it. You feed a little bit since it's at the end of the cycle and hopefully numbers will be coming up.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34.shot at+2,AMPS-228,+2-258

Yes, I shot at +2 and reduced his dose to 3.75. I think the only thing I did wrong was to over feed him. I tested him at PM+11 when I got up and he was at 31.... retested, got 34. The old adrenaline was a pumping. We gave him some Karo syrup and got out the high carb food. We tested every thirty minutes for two hours and it just kept going up, up, up. That is why I say we overdid the carbs. I had printed the handling low numbers sheet and reviewed it (we both did). Still, I overdid the carbs. That 31/34 scared the bejusus out of me.

I am unsure how to express all this in his SS. I did my best but not sure how to make it clear. I guess I didn't do the best job if you can't understand it.

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34; stalled 2 hrs,AMPS-228,+1-258

Nikki,

I was giving Ozy some time off from so much testing and me, too. Ozy was annoyed enough with me and my nurse Ratchett routine that he was hiding and grouchy and very much preferring John to me.

John stepped up and did a few tests and kept track of the times to test.

We are both worn out from the adrenaline rush this morning.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34; stalled 2 hrs,AMPS-228,+4-350

I don't know that you had all of the numbers on you SS when I looked. It makes sense to me now.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34.shot at+2,AMPS-228,+2-258

Nikki's Mom said:
You may want to try and get a +10 or +11 when you can. I suspect that PMPS last night was a dropping number. When you shoot those you may want to set your alarm for a late night test just to be safe. (Those are the WORST!)

Not sure what you see that says I should have tested in the middle of the night. What do you see? Or are you saying I should test every night?

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34; stalled 2 hrs,AMPS-228,+4-350

Sienne and Gabby said:
I don't know that you had all of the numbers on you SS when I looked. It makes sense to me now.

Thanks, Sienne. I did fix some typos and problems at some point.
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34; stalled 2 hrs,AMPS-228,+8-397

No, I was just suggesting that on nights when Ozy is dropping that you may want to set your alarm. You definitely don't have to do that every night! I generally would get a +2 and then decide based on that number. If Nikki wasn't dropping, I'd just get a test before bed and call it a night. If she was dropping, I'd set my alarm for a +6 or later just to make sure she wasn't super low in the morning. She had a habit of dropping overnight unfortunately for my sleep! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34; stalled 2 hrs,AMPS-228,+8-397

Hmmm... I thought it was normal to expect some drop by +2. I thought that a big drop, as opposed to a small drop, was the cue to monitor more. I guess the question is, what is a big enough drop to warrant a test?

I think I am going to get in the habit of testing when I get up to pee, which I always do. I wish Ozy would sleep upstairs with us. I wish he was close by at night.

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 8/25 Ozy AMBG-34; stalled 2 hrs,AMPS-228,+8-397

I think that's sort of a "know thy cat" kinda thing. Perfectly clear, right? :lol: That's a +10 or +11 can be helpful. Say Ozy was 100 at +6, then 300 at +11. If your pre-shot number was 250 and a +2 200, I'd make sure to get a later test.

On the other hand, if +6 was 100, +11 was 150, and pre-shot 200, you can probably just get that before bed and if it hasn't dropped too much you're in good shape. It really just differs from cat to cat and for each cat from day to day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top