? 8/25 Macka PMBG 308 on AT (much lower than usual) what do I shoot?, +2 419, +4 646

Yes, I need to be brave. I've been worried about the infection clearing up for so many days now, it's finally happening and I panic (as always).
He's doing so well right now, lively, climbing on furniture, grooming, being cute... Ahhhh

Ok then, here we go 2.5.

It gets easier and easier to shoot lower numbers!! We all really want to see Macka get down to some yellows and blues.. then... GREENS!!! Shooting your pink PMPS is your start to new bravery!! You’ll be great ;)
 
I hope you can! You never know! Maybe Macka will have a nice safe and softly curved night!

Today I shot my lowest PMPS Too but I had a reduction today so it made it a little less stressful. I will be testing though before I got to bed to make sure Mowg stays safe!
 
Good for you for shooting the 2.5!!

I know it's scary for you, but remember, by testing, you will be able to keep him safe!
Thank you! I'm glad he has early shooting times so I can test plenty before midnight.

Not related but I found food that he cannot resist, it's raw! I never tried before (mainly because I'm vegetarian), but my mom told me she would give him raw ground beef in Paris. I tried the Small Batch raw sliders samples yesterday and he gobbled them like there was no tomorrow. I ended up buying a bag today and it's a total success. I wished I would transition slowly but that's all he wants to eat now. I hope it's going to be gentle on his tummy :facepalm:
 
Hi Penelope,
I'm glad Macka is feeling better! I have been looking at your feeding notes, and noticed you feed quite a bit at night. Is your little boy still thin? I have started feeding a bedtime snack, but haven't ever fed throughout the night. I was just curious and looking for things that could help.
 
Hi Penelope,
I'm glad Macka is feeling better! I have been looking at your feeding notes, and noticed you feed quite a bit at night. Is your little boy still thin? I have started feeding a bedtime snack, but haven't ever fed throughout the night. I was just curious and looking for things that could help.

Macka is not thin yet. He has a little belly :) He lost 500 grams since he arrived in the US (no more high carb dry food), but that's about it.
The thing that changed is that with high numbers, he is not the big eater that he was, so I have to feed him more than once to get a good amount of calories (350) into him. I try to offer him food as much as I can before going to bed (until maybe PM +4). I always wake up during the night around midnight to check on him because I worry so much, and will offer him a healthy snack (like FF) before going back to bed. I would say that when I did not feed him during the night, he would have lower AMBG, so I could be messing with his numbers. I don't know what is best honestly. But if you can sleep during the night, I'd say don't mess with your sleep and stay in bed as much as you can! I'm very, very exhausted.

How much does Tina weigh?
 
Penelope, is the raw food you got a complete meal nutritionally?
Raw is great, that’s all I feed my cats but you need to make sure it is balanced and is nutritionally complete. It should say so on the packet if it is.

How far are you along this cycle?
I can be around if you need support as it’s only 1.30 PM here.
You must try and get some sleep. I often had to test frequently at night because Sheba was a champion bouncer and diver, but I always went to sleep and set the alarm even if it was for only an hour until the next test.
 
Penelope, is the raw food you got a complete meal nutritionally?
Raw is great, that’s all I feed my cats but you need to make sure it is balanced and is nutritionally complete. It should say so on the packet if it is.

How far are you along this cycle?
I can be around if you need support as it’s only 1.30 PM here.
You must try and get some sleep. I often had to test frequently at night because Sheba was a champion bouncer and diver, but I always went to sleep and set the alarm even if it was for only an hour until the next test.
This raw food is called Small Batch https://smallbatchpets.com/catbatch-frozen. It says "complete and balanced" on the package. I hope it's ok? It's a brand we see in every health pet store in the frozen section.

Right now we are at almost +4 in the cycle (22:30 Pacific time). I was thinking of getting another test in 2 hours (+6), but I could also take it now?
 
If your +2 is higher than your PS it is a very good sign that you should go to bed!! Have a good sleep and dream of low stress low numbers for Macka:D
Yes it should be right? However, in the past, the pattern for a lower-than-normal PS number and a higher +2 meant another curve during the cycle, so I'm not sure...
 
the pattern for a lower-than-normal PS number and a higher +2 meant another curve during the cycle,

I don't see anywhere on your spreadsheet that he had a lower Pre-shot with a higher +2 where he went lower later in the cycle

You should feel confident that you can go to bed tonight and get some much needed sleep! He'll be fine!
 
I saw it on 8/09 AM & 7/27 PM!

But you're absolutely right, +4 is 646 :banghead: I believe he's bouncing. I'll go to bed now and leave his poor ears alone.
 
I saw it on 8/09 AM & 7/27 PM!

But you're absolutely right, +4 is 646 :banghead: I believe he's bouncing. I'll go to bed now and leave his poor ears alone.
Glad you had decided to go to bed!

Respectfully, I think you need to retrain your mind a little bit on what dangerous numbers are. The two days you mention above, are no where near the dangerous zone :) I wouldn’t stress too much until she’s starting to approach 68 on the alpha track.
 
Macka is not thin yet. He has a little belly :) He lost 500 grams since he arrived in the US (no more high carb dry food), but that's about it.
The thing that changed is that with high numbers, he is not the big eater that he was, so I have to feed him more than once to get a good amount of calories (350) into him. I try to offer him food as much as I can before going to bed (until maybe PM +4). I always wake up during the night around midnight to check on him because I worry so much, and will offer him a healthy snack (like FF) before going back to bed. I would say that when I did not feed him during the night, he would have lower AMBG, so I could be messing with his numbers. I don't know what is best honestly. But if you can sleep during the night, I'd say don't mess with your sleep and stay in bed as much as you can! I'm very, very exhausted.

How much does Tina weigh?

Tina was 13 lbs at diagnosis, now 13.3 She should weigh about 12 lbs. She only eats 2 small cans, or 1 larger can of LC daily, spread into little snacks. She isn't active enough yet to need more food than she gets.

My best guess is that the extra feeding at night really could be keeping those numbers from looking better. I also saw where you fed MC one night when Macka was in mid blues. If he isn't underweight, I might try leaving out the night snacks. JMO!

I haven't been sleeping much either, but I blame myself for staying up 2 hours for another test, instead of going to bed and setting an alarm. You have to train yourself to do that . . . then hopefully go right back to bed asap. I don't want to die of a heart attack for not sleeping!!

Please, please, please, try to give Macka more insulin until he starts showing improvement. We went up to 3 for a while before we got to start our pretty fast decreases. I see a lot of similar situations. Everybody on this board wants to see Macka get better and better. Last weekend, my husband gave me a drink with a ton of carbs that I would not have fixed for myself. Like a dope, I didn't go grab some extra insulin. I ended up in the high 400s and felt like total hell. Macka cannot possibly feel good. When I've gone low, I always get some glucose tablets or orange juice to get back to normal. It's a darn shame our cats cannot tell us they are getting low. However we have the tools we need to take care of them. I know you have a kit for Macka in case he goes low!

Sure, he has an infection, and your vet is right that his numbers could start improving. BUT, since you have the tools you need, you should keep checking like you already do and still - give more insulin until he needs less!!! In my opinion, your vet is looking out for you more than for Macka.
There is no way I would sit around in terrible numbers, waiting to see if they would just fix themselves without intervention: insulin.

Huge hugs and wishes for your anxiety about all this to lessen.
 
My best guess is that the extra feeding at night really could be keeping those numbers from looking better. I also saw where you fed MC one night when Macka was in mid blues. If he isn't underweight, I might try leaving out the night snacks. JMO!

You're right. I should stop feeding him at night. When I leave some LC out for the night (usually 1/4 of Fancy Feast; nothing crazy), it's so that I can sleep a little more, knowing that he can snack in case he goes low. Does he ever? That's the thing, maybe not yet.

Please, please, please, try to give Macka more insulin until he starts showing improvement. We went up to 3 for a while before we got to start our pretty fast decreases. I see a lot of similar situations.

I've seen breakthroughs here as well just recently, all around 3 units. I will not lie, I'm terrified in advance, but I also want to see better numbers. I will increase tonight if his day is flat again. His infection cleared, one more day of Clavamox to go. The numbers went down a little but it's not that drastic, only by a few points.

In my opinion, your vet is looking out for you more than for Macka.
I think so too. She also thinks his overall condition is improving slowly (like muscle mass, coat) and does not want to rush the process I guess.


Thanks so much for your encouragements!
 
Glad you had decided to go to bed!

Respectfully, I think you need to retrain your mind a little bit on what dangerous numbers are. The two days you mention above, are no where near the dangerous zone :) I wouldn’t stress too much until she’s starting to approach 68 on the alpha track.
Oh yeah! I agree it was not danger zone at all, just an observation that a curve was happening after a lower PS number on those two days. I'm trying to read this data and find patterns where I can. In a way, it would be great if he approached the 68 on AT, just not all suddenly from a 500 please Macka!! Slowly and surely :)
 
, just not all suddenly from a 500 please Macka!! Slowly and surely :)

OMG definitely not! can you imagine!! I just wish that I could send you some calming and peaceful vibes so that you dont sweat these small victories as terrifying events :P

The great thing about you is that you always ask! so eventually you will build up your tolerance and get familiar with Mackas patterns. I still have to work hard to understand Mowgli's we will all get there ;)
 
One thing to remember Penelope is that once a cat is in lower numbers, the big drops you see when they are in high numbers are not as dramatic.
Sheba was a huge diver, so I understand your anxiety, but once she got into lower numbers, the drops were much smaller, even with the same amount of insulin. If Sheba had green Preshots I would shoot them because I knew the drops were not the same as they can be when the Preshot is high.
The more you let him experience the lower numbers, the more he will get used to them and the less he will react to them. At the moment his body thinks the high numbers are normal and his body needs to relearn what normal numbers are.
Does that make sense?
 
Sheba was a huge diver, so I understand your anxiety, but once she got into lower numbers, the drops were much smaller, even with the same amount of insulin. If Sheba had green Preshots I would shoot them because I knew the drops were not the same as they can be when the Preshot is high.
Thank you Bron, that's exactly what I need to hear. I'm ready for less drama, seriously :)
 
Back
Top