8/25 *dose ?/advice* Bella AMPS 253, +3 170, +6 106, +9 153

Bellas_mom_2020

Member Since 2024
Good morning ☀️

Was hoping to get some advice or some thoughts. So Bella has been on the 1 unit for a month now and her numbers are pretty good. Most of her nadirs are in the green with some blues.

The issue I’m seeing is she’s bouncing so much over night. Last night she was 199 pre shot then 3 hours later dropped to 66. We fed her a snack and I checked her before bed and she was trending up so I kept what she didn’t finish in the auto feeder and this morning she was 253.

If she bounces so much wouldn’t it be because it’s too much insulin? Then has been happening a lot. It’s like we just can’t get her back to the lower AM numbers.

I was wondering if we should bring her down to 0.75 to see if the bouncing reduces.
 
Last edited:
She’s a long term diabetic now and earns reductions if under 40. I actually think she needs an increase. Reducing the dose won’t stop the bouncing. Staying in normal numbers will help. However you don’t have any tests at night past +3 so we don’t know if she’s dropping lower and then bouncing. What is your feeding schedule? Big drops can lead to bounces as well. @Wendy&Neko What do you think?
 
She’s a long term diabetic now and earns reductions if under 40. I actually think she needs an increase. Reducing the dose won’t stop the bouncing. Staying in normal numbers will help. However you don’t have any tests at night past +3 so we don’t know if she’s dropping lower and then bouncing. What is your feeding schedule? Big drops can lead to bounces as well. @Wendy&Neko What do you think?
Well I’m not comfortable with her going under 40 so they said something there’s another option if she gets like 3 bgs under 50 - something like that.

It’s hard to get a test during the night because I’m sleeping and so is my husband and he suffers from insomnia so if I got up to check her at like 2 am I’m disturbing his sleep and he has trouble going back to sleep so getting up during the night to check her doesn’t work for us.

We feed her fancy feast. She eats at 7 am, 1 pm, 7 pm and before we go to bed around 10:30. She doesn’t always eat food from the auto feeder when we leave it overnight so we try to give her a snack before we go to bed and most of the time she finishes it. Like last night she was 66 +3 PMPS and she still had some food left so she finished it and then we gave her a snack to keep her sugar from going lower and she ate half, I put the rest in the auto feeder and this morning it was still in there.
 
You can do 3 times under 50. That hasn’t happened yet either so no reduction. With TR an increase to 1.25 is what I would do. You don’t need to stay up or set an alarm at +6. If the +3 is showing a drop or the same bg could you try a +4? If you wake up to use the bathroom ever you could grab a test them. You could also get a +11 or +12 if awake. I dint think you are missing any lows though and an increase might help.
 
You can do 3 times under 50. That hasn’t happened yet either so no reduction. With TR an increase to 1.25 is what I would do. You don’t need to stay up or set an alarm at +6. If the +3 is showing a drop or the same bg could you try a +4? If you wake up to use the bathroom ever you could grab a test them. You could also get a +11 or +12 if awake. I dint think you are missing any lows though and an increase might help.

I do sometimes get a +4 if she’s low and I wait to go to bed so I can check to make sure she’s going up. I have grabbed a test if I wake up for the bathroom but it’s so hard to not make noise and we live in a one bedroom condo so the bedroom is right next to the living room where she stays during the night.

I feel 1.25 will make her go to low. She’s been getting low numbers at night, wouldn’t 1.25 bring her even lower?
 
I agree with Elise @tiffmaxee Bella needs more insulin, not less. If you want her to become tightly regulated, you need to get rid of those yellows she's seeing. She's bouncing because she's not getting a lot of green time. She's getting used to higher numbers.

Is there a reason you are mostly getting a +6 test during the day?
 
I agree with Elise @tiffmaxee Bella needs more insulin, not less. If you want her to become tightly regulated, you need to get rid of those yellows she's seeing. She's bouncing because she's not getting a lot of green time. She's getting used to higher numbers.

Is there a reason you are mostly getting a +6 test during the day?
she’s only getting yellow numbers in the morning, (except for the few she got pre shot last week in before her PM dose) other than that the rest of the day she’s in the greens/blues. If she’s dropping low already at night on 1 unit, isn’t she going to drop even lower at 1.25?

I get a +6 but that’s when my husband gets home from work. Today I got a ++3 AMPS & +9 PMPS. I try when I’m able to.
 
I figured the +6 was due to a work situation, at least on the week days.

She got yellows the 17-19th, and would have last night except by 1 point. Tightly regulated definition is generally below 150, and she's not there yet. Sometimes more insulin just lowers the higher numbers. Especially if she gets more used to greens.
 
I figured the +6 was due to a work situation, at least on the week days.

She got yellows the 17-19th, and would have last night except by 1 point. Tightly regulated definition is generally below 150, and she's not there yet. Sometimes more insulin just lowers the higher numbers. Especially if she gets more used to greens.
We try to get different times but unfortunately life is just busy sometimes and we’re not around at different times between work, appointments, errands and religious services. I’m trying to get other times but the weekends have been busy as well. Tomorrow and Wednesday I’ll be around all day so I’ll be able to get some other test times.
 
Back
Top