8/25 Bubbas AMPS 180, +11 46, +11.5 89, PMPS 138, +1 295

Nice start! You're seeing a lot more blues on this dose YAY!
How's Bubbas feeling?
Yeah! Hes definitely doing pretty well on this dose! I will more than likely have to up his dose to 2 units though, I am doing a curve Sunday so we shall see what his lowest will get!

He is doing well! no puking, probably due to the Cerenia, and this is day 2 of his antibiotics for his pancreatitis...praying it helps! Put him back on his Purina DM prescription food last night due to the ER doc telling me that fancy feast is what probably gave bubbas the pancreatitis, but for some reason he isn't touching it! When i first gave it to him, he was fine, now all he wants is fancy feast. I am trying to find some really good quality, very diabetic friendly "topper" to add to this food so he can stick to his Purina DM.
 
Last edited:
Put him back on his Purina DM prescription food last night due to the ER doc telling me that fancy feast is what probably gave bubbas the pancreatitis
Garbage from the vet. BTW, many vets only get a few hours training on nutrition, often from the "vet" food company salespeople. Many cats grow to dislike DM, Bubbas is in good company. Have you ever read the ingredients list? It used to be called diabetes management. It's now called dietetic management, not diabetes management because the company was sued about the name, claiming it's something it's not, so had to change it. The most important food for Bubbas is the one he'll eat, and is low carb. Neko never ate Fancy Feast, and still got pancreatitis. I can name lots of cats who have had great diets, and still got p'titis. I would return the DM to the vet, tell them Bubbas won't eat it, and find some other food that he will eat.

Good to hear the Cerenia is working and he's not puking. Nice AMPS today. :cool:
 
Garbage from the vet. BTW, many vets only get a few hours training on nutrition, often from the "vet" food company salespeople. Many cats grow to dislike DM, Bubbas is in good company. Have you ever read the ingredients list? It used to be called diabetes management. It's now called dietetic management, not diabetes management because the company was sued about the name, claiming it's something it's not, so had to change it. The most important food for Bubbas is the one he'll eat, and is low carb. Neko never ate Fancy Feast, and still got pancreatitis. I can name lots of cats who have had great diets, and still got p'titis. I would return the DM to the vet, tell them Bubbas won't eat it, and find some other food that he will eat.

Good to hear the Cerenia is working and he's not puking. Nice AMPS today. :cool:
Well to explain a little bit, when bubbas was first diagnosed, I suggested to the vet that he gets Purina DM. He said sure and wrote me a prescription and i went and got it from PetSmart. Then the urgent care vet asked me what brand of food he was on before the scabs and throwing up and I said the Purina DM and she said to try that out. And I went and got it from PetSmart again. I went today and got him one can of Nulo brand and one can of the Instinct just to test and see which one he likes, because both of those brands are seeming to be higher in quality. I’m returning the Purina DM and getting either all Nulo or all Instinct. I gotta do more research on which one is better.

I noticed he didn’t eat barely any of his food from this morning, so when i got home I saw the majority of the food on plate, and I tested him and his blood sugar was 46!!!!! It’s never been that low!!! But I’m sure it because he barely had any food at all today.

EDIT: just checked it again 30 mins later and it was 82
 
Yikes! :eek: That 46 means a 0.25 unit reduction in dose. Regardless of whether he ate or not. I'm glad he came up. But if he dislikes that food so much he won't eat it when his blood sugar is low, he really needs a different food. You could feed either Nulo or Instinct, or both and give him variety. As long as they are low carb.
 
Yikes! :eek: That 46 means a 0.25 unit reduction in dose. Regardless of whether he ate or not. I'm glad he came up. But if he dislikes that food so much he won't eat it when his blood sugar is low, he really needs a different food. You could feed either Nulo or Instinct, or both and give him variety. As long as they are low carb.
Should I just do the reduction for tonight? Or stick to it? I’ve been needing to go his dose for a while but wanted to wait until curve day. He hasn’t hit anything below 100 since giving him the 1.75
And yeah, o gave him the Nulo and he liked it! I’m going to give him the Instinct in about 30 minutes for his dinner.
 
Back
Top