8/25, Bell, AMPS 291, +2 315, +3.5 332

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Yesterday

Wendy made a good catch yesterday that my vet was giving me repackaged insulin. I didn't realize that was a thing, I missed it in the stickies. I am just about out of my current vial and ordered a 3 ml Lantus pen from Chewy, but I'm guessing that will take 4 to 5 days since they need to get a prescription from the vet. I am going to check with the vet tomorrow to see if they can give me just enough insulin to tide me over until the pen arrives.

I am concerned that my insulin wasn't potent and that I will put Bell in danger with the new, strong insulin at the same dose. I don't see any floaties or opaqueness to my insulin. I have thought it strange that Bell reacted so strongly to her first doses of 0.25 and 0.5, but it took until 2.5 for her to see a lot of movement since. But I've also been advised that this is pretty normal for cats to react strongly at first. Anyone have experience with moving from a potentially less potent insulin vial/pen to a new one? Do we just monitor closely and have our hypo kits ready to catch any issues?

I asked yesterday about how to get the last bit out of an insulin vial. Just in case anyone reads this, I found that if I looked down at the vial while it was upside down, I could see the needle poke through the vial's membrane. It is quite the balancing act, but just getting that needle through the membrane and pulling was the best way to not get air sucked up in the syringe. I also read a tip here, to get bigger air bubbles out, you can flick the bubbles to the center of the upside-down syringe and actually suck in more air to create a larger bubble/air pocket. Then push all the air out to the recommended dose.

In Bell news, she is bouncing pretty hard. Hopefully just for today. Fingers crossed I can get two more 2.5 unit doses out of this vial before getting to the vet tomorrow. I did let her clean up her bottom for a little bit today. The scab came off with no bleeding. Just pink, new skin around the rupture. Might be a little swollen I've got the cone back on her until she sees the vet on Tuesday.
 
The Cosmic Queen is ready to get off this ship.
upload_2024-8-25_16-41-51.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-25_16-41-51.png
    upload_2024-8-25_16-41-51.png
    870.9 KB · Views: 109
Did you see my post yesterday about cheaper and faster places to get Lantus rather than Chewy? If the vet gives you a prescription tomorrow, you should be able to get insulin at a pharmacy tomorrow.

I think with a clear glass vial, instead of the dark brown thing the vet gave you, it should be easier to see the last bit of insulin.

As far as being careful when switching to new insulin, always a good idea not to do an increase on the cycle when you change vials/pens etc.
 
Thanks Wendy, I did see that, but I had already bought from Chewy before you posted. Worst comes to worst, I can just get a prescription and get a second pen from the pharmacy tomorrow.

Yup, won’t increase the dose with the new insulin, but I’m assuming staying at the same dose (as opposed to preemptively reducing) is the recommendation.
 
Since Bell is showing some reaction to the repackaged insulin, I suspect it's not all bad. Plus it's only been less than 2 months so it's not gone bad yet.
 
Don’t forget to check out this very important link about buying insulin.

I’ve bought a five pack of Lantus pens for $35 at my local CVS. The prescription MUST be written correctly and you need the coupon but it works. (You may need to try a few pharmacies if you get a dud pharmacist that can’t figure out the protocol)
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sourcing-insulin-more-economically.288053/#post-3164361
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sourcing-insulin-more-economically.288053/#post-3164361
 
Haha, I can’t believe my vet charged me $180 for a repackaged 2 ml vial.

Staci, is that a one time deal or can you use it multiple times? And wouldn’t your prescription have the pet name on it? Or do you have to get your vet on board with not putting any information on the prescription that indicates it is for a cat? That’s an amazing deal… I just worry if my vet would be willing to hide the fact it is for a cat especially since I’m not paying out the nose for their overpriced insulin :D. Sorry if you’ve answered this a million times, i can dig through the archive when I have more time tonight.

Appreciate the both of you very much!
 
Haha, I can’t believe my vet charged me $180 for a repackaged 2 ml vial.

Staci, is that a one time deal or can you use it multiple times? And wouldn’t your prescription have the pet name on it? Or do you have to get your vet on board with not putting any information on the prescription that indicates it is for a cat? That’s an amazing deal… I just worry if my vet would be willing to hide the fact it is for a cat especially since I’m not paying out the nose for their overpriced insulin :D. Sorry if you’ve answered this a million times, i can dig through the archive when I have more time tonight.

Appreciate the both of you very much!
Pet’s name is on the script. The pharmacist knew it was for a pet. No problem. They even had to call my vet’s office for their license #.
I’ve used it every time I need a new script. My vet gave several refills though :)

Let me know if you have questions.
 
Haha, I can’t believe my vet charged me $180 for a repackaged 2 ml vial.

Staci, is that a one time deal or can you use it multiple times? And wouldn’t your prescription have the pet name on it? Or do you have to get your vet on board with not putting any information on the prescription that indicates it is for a cat? That’s an amazing deal… I just worry if my vet would be willing to hide the fact it is for a cat especially since I’m not paying out the nose for their overpriced insulin :D. Sorry if you’ve answered this a million times, i can dig through the archive when I have more time tonight.

Appreciate the both of you very much!
By the way, I paid $300 for my first vial of Lantus. I was new and knew nothing. I was so freaked out. I did a ton of research to crack the code. I just knew there had to be a more affordable way.
I read about how to have the script worded (I didn’t make it up, just found a post with details).
I just try to share the info any time I see someone being overcharged. Makes my head explode.
 
oh woah that is so great! I can imagine that is a godsend for some of the kitties with the very high doses. you rock! I will try to get a script written how you describe and try it out!
 
She looks so adorable. So glad she’s doing so well. Sounds like she can lose her space cone very soon! :bighug::bighug:
I really hope we are past all this infection stuff. She is more than ready to get the cone off for good! I'm playing it safe until I can see the vet on Tuesday. She's getting plenty of cone breaks!
 
I'm not sure if I'll have time tomorrow with work to go pharmacy hopping, so I may have to pay up one more time, but this will be the route I take for all my future pens. I will keep you posted and I appreciate you so much :bighug:

I feel dumb that I let this vial get so low. I couldn't get a full dose tonight without an air pocket... I won't let that happen again :(
 
I'm not sure if I'll have time tomorrow with work to go pharmacy hopping, so I may have to pay up one more time, but this will be the route I take for all my future pens. I will keep you posted and I appreciate you so much :bighug:

I feel dumb that I let this vial get so low. I couldn't get a full dose tonight without an air pocket... I won't let that happen again :(
Now you know :)
Can’t beat yourself up for not knowing. I learned the hard way (and costly way, too!)
 
Back
Top