8/25 Ahmin AMPS103,+2.5 65,+3.5 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

christine&ahmin

Member Since 2011
Yesterday condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50736

Hi everybody, wish you all have a good day!

Ahmin looks pretty good today, he went out to the balcony to enjoy the sunshine this morning, it's been a long time haven't see him there :-D

I start to minimise the amount of food to Ahmin today. He eats a lot since diabetes, as long as he's getting better now & i can see he gain back the weight he lost by FD, i think is the time to give him less food.
 
Re: 8/25 AMPS103

Julie, Good evening :?: to u!

Thanks for stopping in here to support us! Ahmin & I will do our best for the greens :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/25 AMPS103

you are very close. if i look in my crystal ball i'm going to predict greens for ahmin! :lol:

yes, it's 11 pm here, the news is on tv - i want to see what's happening with the weather/earthquake on the east coast, and then off to bed.

i hope you have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 8/25 AMPS103,+2.5 65

AMPS103 (3/4 small can of LC food)
+2.5 65 (1 teaspoon of HC gravy)

Should i give him either HC or LC food if number is 65 at +2.5? is it HC food to be given when number lower than 50?
 
AMPS103 (3/4 small can of LC food)
+2.5 65 (1 teaspoon of HC gravy)
+3 67
+3.5 67 (1/4 small can of LC food)

Numbers are going so similar to yesterday :mrgreen:
 
Beautiful greens again for Ahmin!

christine&ahmin said:
Should i give him either HC or LC food if number is 65 at +2.5? is it HC food to be given when number lower than 50?

If Ahmins numbers drop fast early, you can give 1 tsp HC - just like you did.
Good job!
 
Re: 8/25 Ahmin AMPS103 "Green afternoon"

What a beautiful green afternoon for Ahmin :mrgreen:
AMPS103 (3/4 small can of LC food)
+2.5 65 (1 teaspoon of HC gravy)
+3 67
+3.5 67 (1/4 small can of LC food)
+4.5 76
+6 86 (1 small can of LC food @+5)
+7.5 79
+10 83 (1/2 small can of LC food)

One question, since Ahmin DX, I start to test his urine glucose. test results are all negative starting from 08/23 (i test almost everytime he pee).
Is that mean he went into remission already? should i keep going to give him insulin?
 
Hi guys .. ahmin's numbers are looking GREAT! I don't want to give any advice as far as when you should stop giving insulin, but I know others are watching his SS and will guide you through everything .. you are doing awesome!
 
i think you're probably testing his urine for ketones. what exactly does the container call the things you're testing his urine with? is it something like Ketostix? ketones come from too high of blood sugar and are very serious. diabetics who are under control don't have ketones - but it doesn't mean he isn't diabetic anymore. he just doesn't have ketones!

they could also be for testing sugar in the urine - that is done instead of the blood glucose meter that you're using to get the 103-65-67 numbers today. if that's what you're using every time he pees, you are duplicating the process of checking his blood sugar with the numbered meter.

if it is ketones you're checking for, hopefully someone else will chime in here - but i think if his numbers are staying under 200 you don't have to check for ketones every day.

you're doing great - he is really responding very well to the insulin. don't go off it yet, though. there is a process of reducing his dose every time he goes below 50, and eventually that leads some cats to go off of insulin.

if he's one that will go into remission it will show up. he'll keep going below 50, you'll keep reducing by .25 til you get to .25, then you'll reduce by even smaller amounts until he doesn't need it any more. following that process gives him the greatest chance of staying off of insulin.
 
the stix i'm using is for test urine glucose. when Ahmin DX, my vet told me to test urine glucose everyday & test bg once or twice a week. since I found this fabulous forum, I change to test Ahmin's bg few times everyday. And to test urine glucose becomes a routine work for me even though I've consulted u guys this is duplicate with bg test, but it can make me feel more comfortable to test urine glucose.

julie1220 said:
you're doing great - he is really responding very well to the insulin. don't go off it yet, though. there is a process of reducing his dose every time he goes below 50, and eventually that leads some cats to go off of insulin.

if he's one that will go into remission it will show up. he'll keep going below 50, you'll keep reducing by .25 til you get to .25, then you'll reduce by even smaller amounts until he doesn't need it any more. following that process gives him the greatest chance of staying off of insulin.
I thought I shouldn't let him go below 50, therefore, in the recent cycles whenever i got the result of 60's i'll give him HC gravy. should i keep doing like this? :?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top