? 8/25/26 LEO - AMPS 110 and 113. Shoot or not to shoot??

TresaM

Member
So, I'm not sure how bad I may have messed up Leo's bg but he was at 110 and 113 this am and I decided not to shoot. I didn't want to risk shooting and be at work and something happen to him. How bad did I mess him uo?
 
You did not mess up. When new to insulin you don’t shoot if under 200. As you gather data that number will lower. Sorry nobody replied sooner. It was the wee hours of the morning for me. How long did you wait for the second test? We suggest stalling without food and retesting in 20-30 minutes. With those numbers most likely you would have been told to skip.

You forgot to add your cat’s name to your subject. Please add that you are following custom dosing to your signature. I had to look at your ss to find that out.
 
Thank you so much for responding. Im at work and have been a nervous wreck. I won't be able to check him again until I get home. I just asked my neighbor to go check on him for me. So when he is under 200, don't dose him? And when I resume this evening, do I still give him 3 units or should I try 2? Thank you again.
 
10 to 11 lbs. The vet started him on 2 units on the 13th when he was diagnosed. Last week she upped it to 3 after I took him for his glucose curve test. I just didn't expect to see a number that low this morning. I even rechecked 2 more times to ensure it was accurate.
 
Don't forget to post for help if he seems too low at shot time. And you can always stall (without feeding for about 20-30 minutes) to see if he's coming up.
I hope you and Leo have a safe day 😻
 
I thought you were going to reduce the dose. The high PMPS is due to skipping insulin this morning.
I gave him 3 because he was so high however I am dropping him down to 2 as of this am. Im sure the vet isn't going to be thrilled about my decision as I take him at 730 for a glucose curve test.
 
If you test at home you won’t need to take him to the vet for a curve. The only curve my vet did was after the first shot. Until I started home testing I took him to the vet every 5 days just for a nadir test. They get stressed at the vet so usually the BG is inflated although Wendy’s Neko and some cats would be low at the vet.
 
Back
Top