8/24Cairo PMPS 119 +5/141

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103

Chill yourself Cairo!!

You got an entire 12 hour cycle to surf...no need to do it all at once, my friend!
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103

Am I doing something wrong? :cry: She dropped to 42 at +2.5! I'm giving her a tsp. of FF Gravy and checking again in 30 min.
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42

I'd test again in 20 minutes. If she is still low, give more HC or a little Karo syrup. I don't usually give advice because I am a novice, but that is what I would do.
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42

How's she doing Jeannie?

Don't forget to breathe....as long as you can get her to eat and you have the supplies you need, you're going to be OK
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42

Nope, not doing anything wrong and as scary as it is, it is a good thing as it means Cairo has no interest in being on insulin long term.....which is excellent news!

Looks like an OTJ trial might be in your very near future....


Let's see if the FF does its thing with the next test.....if it is not going up high enough, you may need to give a few drops of karo syrup....
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50

Well, she is up to 50. I'll check again in 30 min. and keep you posted. I DO feel much better just knowing I have someone watching over me. o:-)
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50

Just stopping to say Hi! No advice from me as I am new to this Lantus dance. Hope You and Cairo are doing good.
My Bobby did that yesterday, and this wonderful people helped us to go through this low #s

Judy
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50

So her +3 if 50....

When did you give food last and did you give any karo?
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50

Sorry, forgot to mention that. No Karo. I gave her 1 (very small) teaspoon of FF Gravy.
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50

...and it was approx. 30 min before I tested the +3. She actually gets mad that I'm not giving her MORE food!
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50

I would give her a little more food and test in 30.
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50

Good. I never stop doing the rinse, lather, repeat as in test, feed, until over 60 and later in the cycle. I feed Max his normal amounts of food during the first 6 hours of the cycle but adjust the carbs depending on how he tests.
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50

Once they drop below 50, you keep feeding/testing until you get them up into at least the 60's....then you stop feeding but keep testing to make sure they stay up

So once you get Cairo up into the 60's, then stop feeding and test 30 minutes later. Test AGAIN in another 30...if still in the 60's, keep testing every 30...if climbs into the 70's or higher, you can wait 1 hour for the next test, BUT if any of these tests drop down again, you go back to the feed/test until you're back into the 60's and then start the "clock" over

If it's a usual feeding time, and she's above 50, you can give her regular meal, just remember that the "lather/rinse/repeat" restarts after ANY food
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50, +4/47

Just a little note...Cairo could also still be feeling the effects of the depot from as far back at when she was on .5...some cats drain in a cycle or two, but sometimes the past dose can effect the current dose for 3-6 cycles

While it's POSSIBLE she's done with insulin already, I think we should just play it by ear for now. See where she's at when PMPS comes around, but I'd plan on shooting .1 again IF she's high enough

In the long run, you're going to be better off to give the extra support of that drop of insulin for a little longer than trying to go OTJ too soon and just having them have to go right back on again soon after
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50, +4/47

Jeannie, you're back at work tomorrow, aren't you?

when you started on Lantus, was there are change in food? Or was she already on canned low carb?

eta - would you begin giving her 1 tsp of low carb regular food at +9 if you aren't already doing that? if you can - at least in the day cycle.
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50, +4/47

Julie...she came to the FB group first and I'd suggested she wait to start the insulin for a week or two while she transitioned to low carb and learned to test.

I'm pretty sure that's what she did, so she had spent the first part of her spreadsheet learning to home test and transitioning

If they post on the FB group that they just got the diagnosis, I try to get them to do that, come here and introduce themselves and then if the food change doesn't do it, they're ready to safely start the insulin as well as having learned how to use the message board
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165,+1.5/103,+2.5/42,+3/50,+4/47,+4.5/55

Yes, Chris is correct. I transitioned into completely wet food (FF Classic) for 2 weeks before she even started insulin. I agree that it's probably premature to stop giving her insulin all together.

Yes, I'm back at work tomorrow.

Yes, I've been giving her a heaping teaspoon of LC at +9 since, at that point, she hasn't eaten since a +6 (all this is based on Weekdays when I can't be here to feed her) ... on a side note, I ordered a 5 compartment auto feeder (should be here by Wednesday or Thurs.) So, at that point I can get her on a more frequent and regular feeding schedule. On weekends, I try and feed her a tsp of LC about every 2 hours.
 
Re: 8/24Cairo AMPS 165, +1.5/103, +2.5/42, +3/50, +4/47

She's on her way back up. She's at 63 at +5. However, it's with the help of 1 sm. tsp. HC mixed with 1 sm. tsp. of LC. Lather, rinse, repeat (or, whatever the phrase is) ;-)
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+1.5/103,+2.5/42,+3/50,+4/47,+4.5/55,+

Wow. Busy day. You're doing great! Yup, lather, rinse, repeat. You got this down!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+1.5/103,+2.5/42,+3/50,+4/47,+4.5/55,+

@ 60 (+5.5), Have to run an errand so this is a good time for hubby to attempt to test her at +6. I watched him do the +5.5 test and he was successful so, we'll see how it goes.
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+1.5/103,+2.5/42,+3/50,+4/47,+4.5/55,+

BTW...this will be his first time. Next, I'm going to teach him to give her insulin! :lol:
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+1.5/103,+2.5/42,+3/50,+4/47,+4.5/55,+

Now that she's in the 60's, you should see if she'll surf without more food....test again 30 minutes after you gave any food....if she's still going up you can probably wait an hour (without food) before you test again.

If after 30 minutes she goes down, you feed a little LC again (or HC if below 50) and the clock starts over...we want to see her coming up on her own for at least 2 hours past the last time she had any food
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+5.5/60

was she on dry food before her diagnosis and before Chris had you transition to low carb?

do you know what her BG was at diagnosis?
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+5.5/60

Julie: Yes, she was a free feeder on dry only before diagnosis. I can't remember the exact BG upon diagnosis but it was something like 480's.
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+5.5/60,+6/73,+6.5/81,+6.5/90

Are you back at work tomorrow? I"m assuming same schedule of monitoring that you had last week - so no one could check her from am +2 to am+5. Is that correct?

What time (& what time zone) do you shoot tonight? ie, how many hours now until you shoot?
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+5.5/60,+6/73,+6.5/81,+6.5/90

Yes, back to work tomorrow. I can sneak home at +5.5, but no, there isn't anyone that could test between +2 and +5 (so, basically no one can check her for a +3, +4, or +5) ... I can do +2 and +5.5.

I will shoot tonight at 5:30 pm. I'm mountain time zone (I think) :oops: ...I'm not really sure. I think Arizona (me) is on Calif. time right now. Right now it's 2:17 pm and I will shoot in approx. 3 hour and 10 min.
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+5.5/60,+6/73,+6.5/81,+6.5/90

Julie, you sound like you have a plan! I like that! Let me know if you have a suggestion.
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+5.5/60,+6/73,+6.5/81,+6.5/90

I like to gather data. :lol: does that make me a data-hoarder? ;-)

well . . . not sure that we have an exact plan, but here are the factors we're looking at:

Cairo has come down the dosing scale pretty quickly. Sometimes, as Chris mentioned, that means the previous dose's depot is still affecting things. Sometimes it can also mean that the cat is done with insulin and their pancreas has kicked back on.

That 165 this morning - cats *can* bounce from having insulin when they are done. So this could mean she needs a little longer on insulin, or it could mean she's done.

Personally, I'm concerned about her being left unmonitored tomorrow morning after getting a shot. The way she's going I wouldn't feel comfortable with shooting her and leaving.

At the moment, Marge and I are thinking you could either give the 0.1u tonight and skip the morning, or skip tonight and see what she does. There's no clear-cut way for us to know exactly what will happen.

So - what do you think? You want to try a shot tonight and skip tomorrow? If she goes below 50 again tonight with just the drop of insulin, i think that would say clearly that she's done.

Or withhold her shot tonight and see what she does?
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+5.5/60,+6/73,+6.5/81,+6.5/90

you're on pacific time right now - same as me in Oregon. Arizona always mixes me up - they don't go to daylight savings time in the winter, so sometimes we're in the same time zone and sometimes not.
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+5.5/60,+6/73,+6.5/81,+6.5/90

Haha! Thanks for the time-zone lesson, I'm never sure of all that either since we never change.

I like to gather data too, so maybe we're BOTH data hoarders...? :cool:

It sounds like it might be better, or maybe a little more conclusive, to shoot tonight and see what happens. Then NOT shoot tomorrow morning.

Julie, IF this were Punkin, what would you do... or I could use the acronym "WWJ(ulie)D"? :lol: ...sometimes I crack myself up! Might be time for a quick nap!
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+5.5/60,+6/73,+6.5/81,+6.5/90, +9.5/99

Hi Jeannie,

Cairo is AWESOME! Could she please teach Clare to surf?

I just wanted to recommend that when you have a question you want to have answered, go back to your original post for the day and change the "Post icon" at the top of the page, that has "None" as the default, to the one with the ? with the circle around it. That way your post will show up as a question to the Wise Ones (and all the rest of us students) on the Board.

Surf safely tonight, Cairo!
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+5.5/60,+6/73,+6.5/81,+6.5/90, +9.5/99

hard to say - punkin had acromegaly, which is a different game from "normal" diabetic cats.

i could be persuaded either way. i guess i'd decide according to tonight's pmps. if Cairo is over 120, i'd probably go ahead and shoot. but i say that knowing that you have to work in the morning and you might very well have another long night tonight. we like to start OTJ trials on a green preshot if possible.
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+11/120

I tested almost an hour ago which was her +11 and she was 120. I'm going to shoot tonight and take my chances. If I have to stay up late again, I will.

Another question: IF she's NOT green in the morning, should I still refrain from giving her insulin?

...and do I click the "?" icon here on the reply or on the original post of the day? I feel like it should only be on this reply but I could be wrong :oops:
 
Re: 8/24CairoAMPS 165,+11/120

Hi Jeanie - given that Cairo went diving with a start of 165 today, I think I'd be reluctant to shoot tomorrow morning if she's just over 100. Did you notice Julie said that if Cairo is green tonight, to think about not shooting tonight either? That high number this morning could be her saying she's tired of insulin so I think we are suggesting you play safe in the morning and not shoot and see what happens.

You did right with the ? icon. Changing the icon on the first post is what makes it visible to everyone.
 
Re: 8/24Cairo PMPS 119

She was blue (119) for her PMPS. I gave her .1 units. I'll keep you posted with her numbers tonight.

Just to clarify for tomorrow morning:

If she's (a little) over 100= don't shoot!

If she's (a lot) over 100= don't shoot either...???

If she's (under) 100=definitely don't shoot?!? ...right?

In what situation WOULD I shoot in the morning?

I'm sorry...I must be a slow learner :roll:

Thanks again for the "icon" tutorial ;-)
 
Re: 8/24Cairo PMPS 119

Let's see what she does tonight - but it could be you don't shoot at all tomorrow, especially if she goes low again tonight.
 
Re: 8/24Cairo PMPS 119

the question is, was her 40's today left-over depot action from the previous 0.25u dose, or is that her genuine response to the 0.1u? if we knew the answer to that, we'd know what to do.

i think it was fine that you shot tonight. if she goes below 50 on this cycle, i'd say you just wouldn't shoot tomorrow, no matter what.

if she doesn't go below 50 then we're still left with the question of what to do in the morning. still, i'm reluctant to shoot her and leave her. as wendy says, let's see what she does tonight.
 
Re: 8/24Cairo PMPS 119, +1/110

That all makes perfect sense! Yes, let's see what happens. As of right now she dropped 9 points in 1 hour (I guess it's still too early to tell). But, like you said, as of right now...probably shouldn't shoot tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 8/24Cairo PMPS 119, +1/110

thanks for posting her numbers - that's not much of a drop, but we'll just keep watching.

in this case, i wouldn't do anything special to prevent her from going below 50. just feed her like you normally would. we want to know if the insulin is too much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top