8/24 Tink AMPS 290, +2=225, +4=178, +6=135 BLUE!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123954

Wasn't able to post yesterday as I had an all-day volunteer event. We increased Tink's dose to 2.25u last night. Looking GREAT today... (comparatively speaking) but wondering if we're gonna see a bounce or not.

Tink was VERY alert and "purry" this morning... even played with a new ball I got them yesterday (one of those metal balls that chime that you roll in your hands - usually come in pairs or triplets).


Wanted to reply to this last comment on my last condo:

julie & punkin (ga) said:
The first tool you use with low numbers is food - so a timed feeder can really be a blessing when you work. I just posted a link in Cairo's condo today about timed feeders.

When I had to go back to work while punkin was diabetic, we would set the timed feeder to open at +3 every day for his second breakfast. If he was lower than expected at preshot, we might put higher carb food in there to open at +3. We sometimes had it open at +3.5, +4 and +4.5 - a total of 4 compartments scheduled to open at 30 minute intervals. That last opening would happen at 11:30am. Then either my husband or I would drive home at 11:30 or noon to recheck him and if needed to refill the feeder and reset the timers to open again. I get off work early in the afternoon and we could have the feeder open every half hour til i got home if needed.

If Tink can be counted on to eat, a timed feeder can really give you peace of mind.

Tink can DEFINITELY be counted on to eat. And I do have the PetSafe 5 so will keep this in mind. I grabbed some FF gravy lovers, and have 4 cans of that currently in the event of a hypo. There is also a store nearby that sells it that's open early/late. I am not a big FF fan though, so need to review the list and find some mc cans - as well as maybe some of the new Wellness gravy formulas that I would assume are hc.
 
Re: 8/24 Tink AMPS 290, +2=225, +4=17, +6=135 BLUE!!!!

Just stopping to say Hi!
I am new to the dance, but I was wondering if the +4=17 is a typo? if no how do you handle that #?

Judy
 
Re: 8/24 Tink AMPS 290, +2=225, +4=17, +6=135 BLUE!!!!

Oops... yes, that would be a typo. :) It was 178. 17 would definitely be a hypo!! Thanks for catching it!
 
Re: 8/24 Tink AMPS 290, +2=225, +4=17, +6=135 BLUE!!!!

JenM said:
Oops... yes, that would be a typo. :) It was 178. 17 would definitely be a hypo!! Thanks for catching it!
Noo a problem!, I am new to this, I was just wondering this is the first time I see such as low # and human is not freaking out! :lol:
Hope Think stays in the blue row an then the green
 
photo.jpg

Lovin' that blue today. :-D

I recently switched from FF gravy lovers to Merck Cowboy Cookout. It's 18% carbs too. Neko doesn't handle wheat well which is what the FF uses for carbs, but the potatoes and peas in the CC seem to do the job for her. Of course, it's ECID so you'd have to see if it works for Tink.
 
nice to see tink coming down into better numbers! i'm curious - i see on your spreadsheet that he's had treats with all those blue numbers today. are those higher carbs, ie, are you trying to keep him from going lower? or are they just lc treats?
 
No, the treats are just 100% freeze dried turkey. I buy the "dog" version of them as it's WAY cheaper - but I break them into "cat size" bites. He's been getting pieces about the size of the tip of my pinky finger. He's just getting leary of all the pokes, so I'm starting to use treats again. I've been using them intermittenly (without noting them on SS) but we'd shied away from them for awhile due to the high numbers. But lately he's trying to avoid me when I call him... so I'm trying to use a little positive reinforcement. :)

AND... "WHEEEEEE".... here we go back up that roller coaster. Hoping this bounce wont be as bad... but given that he's raised 130pts in an hour and a half without food... I'm not sure what to expect. :? I think today was the longest time he's spent in blue though... so that's a good thing.
 
treats are powerful motivators! i gave punkin boiled chicken breasts, which are apparently better than chocolate for people! :lol:

the more he gets into green/blue numbers, the more likely he will stop reacting to them.
 
Yup... definitely bouncing. Hopefully it clears quickly. He spent at least 5 hours under 200 today, likely a bit more. So I'll count that as a win. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top