8/24 Tigger AMPS 423 PMPS 335 +2=383

Status
Not open for further replies.

hnkstr

Member Since 2011
Here we go back up the hill. :sad:
I knew it was coming, the hunger last night was uncontrollable. See, this is where I'm stuck, he's not getting the nutrition he needs (obviously) so do I up his food to fill him when he's starving (Even after 3 cans of FF after work) or do I force a cutoff and leave him starving? If i feed him more it will only shoot the numbers up, but with IAA he's not getting what he needs into the cells so he is starving.

I need that Acro test result back soon. He's upped to 10 units and may look into getting the R but I will have to research that and try and find out how to get it and what it is exactly. Another prescription I assume?

As for getting Rockier, yes I was referring to the tumble down the hill with dropping numbers.
I need some things fixed before Tigger goes sledding down the hill. :lol: :lol:
Wish that sleep specialist appointment was sooner than Oct 7th. :sad:

A co-worker emailed me last night (one that actually is understdanding of the situation with Tigger) asking if there is something in my water. I don't think he was joking and it makes me wonder. I may mention Tigger when I go to Mayo next week.
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

Hi Brent. Here is your link to yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50615
I kind of scanned it. I wish I had time to read it all this morning. We have people on board that can help you with the IAA. I do think it would be wise to teach your pet sitter to test Tigger. That may come in mighty handy while you're away.

Right now, I'll just wish you a good morning, and Tigger to come down nice and easy.
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

Good Morning Brent,
Hope your evening went well. You don't need a prescription for the R. I just went into Cub pharmacy and got mine. Make sure you have one of the experts here work with you on using the R, don't do it on your own. It is powerful stuff.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

Brent,
With the appetite, it's OK to feed more until you can get Tigger a bit closer to regulated.
At the start, Oliver was eating close to 30oz of food a day, but now that he's regulated, that appetite is way down.
Yesterday, his dose was 25.25u and he ate about 10oz at most.

Using R will help you a great deal to pull Tigger's numbers down, but when you start, the first dose to try will be .1u or close to just one drop, and testing every hour for 4hours to learn how Tigger reacts to R. Some cats are much more sensitive to R and .25u for some is plenty to pull down BG 100 points or more. You may not see much reaction to the .1u, but it's best to be safe. You can practice with a used syringe - draw up .5u and then practice squeezing out drops by twisting the plunger.

Hopefully, you will get the acro result soon and then you will know if you need to aim for BG 100 - 250 or if you can push ahead for BG under 100.
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

I fed him a big Friskies can this morning and he looked at me immediately when it was done with a look in his eyes that said "Ok, appetizers are gone, where's the T-Bone?"
LOL

I am going to have to up his food, thanks for the info! Does anyone have a link to R? What's the real name?
I will get some and work with you guys to make sure I do it right.

Right now he's getting about 18 oz of FF. I will up it another can and see if that helps the appetite. If not i'll go to 24 oz, but should I start upping to by 1 unit every 6 shots for Lantus? Or stay put and get the R going?
I have a week before I need Substitute dosers (2 consecutive dosings next Wed night, thurs morning). Not sure how i'm going to do that. I may dose before heading down Wed and just have her dose Thurs morning.
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

Brent - I just read through your condo for yesterday. Sorry about the IAA diagnosis, but you at least know that that is one thing you are dealing with. Hoping that the acro test comes back negative.

Have you looked at care.com? That is who we have used to come up with our subs. There are usually vet techs on there who have experience testing and shooting. Tarragon is skittish too, but they know to burrito wrap him if he gets too unruly for them. I think they only had to do that once and now he just grumpily sits while they do it.

The good thing is that there are a lot of really great people here who have a lot of knowledge on IAA.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

R just stands for "regular" insulin. i think you can get it everywhere without prescription. don't use it yet, though. you want someone to be available to stay with you during the hours you're using it. also, with your overall numbers high, i'd go for an overall increase in the lantus at this point.

i think i would add a zero or nearly zero carb food for the extra calories right now, just so you're not adding to his carb load. the fish foods are like that, boiled chicken, straight meat (wahoo for that t-bone) also. fish is normally not encouraged, especially for male cats, because it can cause urinary tract problems, but if it were me, i think i would probably use some for right now. are you adding water to his food? that can help him feel more full also. i give punkin extra plain chicken for those extra calories when he seems to be really hungry.
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

I just signed up for Care.com and will see if there are any experienced people in the area.
Still not sure if Tigger will let anyone else do his ears, but may try it.

When you say I need to wait until I have someone to stay with me when i use it (the R), what do you mean exactly?

I'm still not sure how i'm going to pull this off when i'm gone all day long. Little concerned how to handle the breaking point where he drops big time.
I do have some 0 carb canned FF, the shrimp one is 0 Carb. I will pick up some more chicken and start giving him more boiled chicken instead of upping the canned food.
Now he's at an even 10 units and came in at 423 this morning, should I go to 11 units when i get home?
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

Brent,
It is just in the beginning, until you know how Tigger reacts that you must be around, so most times, you can first try R some evening or on the weekend when you have a spare 4hrs.

What you are doing is basically giving a yank on the high 423 and pull it down to even 350 or more, and then your lantus/levemir can take over and continue going lower but more slowly.

Think of it like a relay race.... R is the quick and dirty insulin - it's in, pulls down within a couple hours, then it's gone. At that point, your long lasting insulin takes over, and hopefully, you will see a similar curve as Tigger has in the past but at a lower level.

R is in and reacts in a couple hours and then it's gone by +4.
it is a good idea to let people on the board know that you want to try R tonite and people can say OK I'll be around so if you have questions, I can help you. In most cases, that tiny .1u dose dose nothing much at all, so the next try would be .25u R and the same thing .... test every hour for 4 hours, because R has its own nadir, just like your long lasting insulin, and you don't want the two nadirs to happen at the same time.

Don't worry, you will be fine. A great deal of others here have used R and can help you.
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

i know in the past when people were trying R (I haven't used it) that Libby has made herself available for the 5 hours after the shot. It's a harsher, quicker acting insulin - the important thing is that you don't want the nadir of the lantus to coincide with the strongest action of the R - so timing is very important on it. after giving the R you test every hour to see how Tigger's body responds to it. My understanding is that most cats don't do much with .1, but we start with that tiny amount so as to not give too much. the next time you have a high number and time to do it, you give a .2 and then test every hour after that shot.

it's important to only do this test - giving both insulins at the same time - when you are at the right timing of the cycle - don't just give it any time.

with an experienced person helping you learn how to use it it's a good tool to add to the toolbox. punkin has been overall fairly flat, so i don't use it. i've just increased his lantus and it's been fine so far.

good call on the care.com. what city are you in? i think you've said, but sorry i don't remember. there might be a FDMB member there who can help you out - sometimes people are close and can do that. i just called my vet's office and asked the receptionist if anyone would hire out to test & shoot punkin, and one of the techs had a diabetic cat briefly. she's the one that i call now. she charges me $15 per visit - which i think is pretty reasonable.

one thing i've learned through all of this is it doesn't help you to worry ahead. with the rest of life it's easier to plan ahead - not with this. you just take it one day at a time. for now, you don't need it. the most important thing right now is to wait for the acro results and to go ahead in following the dosing protocol in the meantime. wait 6 cycles, increase by .5u. when we have all the info in then we can help you get the "just right" strategy going. probably most people here work also - there are ways to work around work schedules! one step at a time.

marjorie has some awesome patience pants if you need to borrow them. :lol:
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

Ok, i will head to the pharmacy at lunch and pick up some R.
if I understand this correctly, it is the same as my nephew. He takes insulin when he eats and also takes Lantus for the all day effect.
Difference being I am not dosing per carb intake like my nephew, i'm just starting at .1u and upping if needed.

From what I have heard then, I will wait to do an increase since it has not been 6 cycles. I'll up it .5u after 6 cycles? This until I hear back from Acro, then the whole gameplan will change depending on if he is positive or negative.

Wow, had to modify this post, i totally butchered the English language on that last sentence!
:lol:
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

When I first used R for Do Lou I was home and gave him .1 to try out with at first but like others said until you know how they will react you want to make sure you are there to test and see how the R is responding with your cat hope Tigger comes on down from the ugly red floor soon this morning
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

Hi guys .. sorry to see tigger up high this morning and to hear of his uncontrollable hunger .. you are dealing with a lot right now and lots of new info to take in as well .. Just wanted to pop in and tell you that you are doing great! Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

Hi Brent,

hnkstr said:
Ok, i will head to the pharmacy at lunch and pick up some R.
if I understand this correctly, it is the same as my nephew. He takes insulin when he eats and also takes Lantus for the all day effect.

that's correct. Lantus is the "basal" insulin and R is given as a "bolus". It's nice t hat you don't need a scrip. and a big bottle is under $50. It's also not fussy (handling wise) and it lasts like forever. The full name is Humulin R, aka R or Regular.

Like Julie said, try not to think too far ahead. Step by step, the folks here will help you figure out the best strategies for your situations, as they arise.
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

Rats, found an absolute perfect fit on Care.com, but she's a bit too far (22 miles away, profile says up to 10).
I may subscribe and contact her anyways, but here's the bio:

Part-Time, 6 Years of Experience
I have worked 6 years consistently for two veterinary hospitals as both kennel staff and a veterinary assistant. I love animals, all kinds, and have 2 3-legged cats (one being a diabetic) and a dog; all rescued. I know a lot about animals and have a decent amount of experience. I have worked with both animals, children and people since I was 14 and absolutely love making connections with all three.


Her dad is also a Vet. ohmygod_smile That is so pefect.....
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

yeah, i'd totally ask her. one possibility - if she's youngish and without ties, maybe she would be happy to stay at your place. although with her own pets that might not work. but i'd ask - she sounds perfect!
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

Wish she lived closer then she could pop in every two hours or something.
I'll keep looking on the site and see what I can find, but she had everything I was looking for, and then some.
And she wasn't $20-$40 an hour, she is $5-$15. Maybe if I gave her gas money as well...

I think I just need to find a gf that's qualified as a Vet assistant or something! :lol:

I'll check Match.com and in the description i'll state "Looking for a girl that can test/dose a diabetic cat"
:lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423

If you join for a month, you can post a job and say exactly what you are looking for. That is what I did and got about 5 replies of people who have tested and shot. Good luck!!!
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423 PMPS 303

I"m liking his numbers here this afternoon. I'll take 303!
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423 PMPS 303

Vet called and left a message. She called MSU and they will have the Acro result on Friday.
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423 PMPS 303

I found my first pet sitter through my vet's office. She was wonderful -- a feline veterinary nurse. She moved and referred a friend who's a vet tech. She's just as good and Gabby is as temperamental as Tigger with having someone else near her.
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423 PMPS 303

Dangit, I messed up tonight and cost Tigger good numbers.
I was so interested in going to Walmart to get the R insulin, I fed but forgot to dose. So Tigger got a ton of food without being dosed right away. Two hours later he got his dose.
He's now up to 383. cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam

Oh well, gotta let that one bounce off me. Expecting high numbers tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 8/24 Tigger AMPS 423 PMPS 303

:lol: brent! you'll probably do it at least once more! fortunately, there will be another opportunity tomorrow to give the shot along with his food! :lol:

he'll come back down.

have a great evening!

ps - you want to change his ps number to the actual preshot number. and now your shot time tomorrow is 12 hours from whenever you gave the shot tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top