8/24, Susie, 175 AMPS, 95 @+2, 72 @+3, 58 @+4, 57 @+5

Summer and Susie (GA)

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-23-susie-287-amps.251837/#post-2842067

A good start today. We will see if she follows her new pattern of having a good day, then a not-so-good day, then a good day and on and on.

The Tropics are heating up. Lots of new systems out in the Atlantic and Caribbean. Living in Florida can be scary when it comes to hurricanes and tropical storms. The peak of the season is September 10th. Right around the corner :arghh:

Wishing all the folks on this site a very safe and happy day. Wishing all the kitties on this site healthy, healing numbers.
 
@Bandit's Mom Any idea what is going on with Susie. She will have a good day, then a bad day, then a good day, then a bad day. Are all these yellows bounces? Is she going to be one of those cats that can't even get regulated because she is so bouncy. Shouldn't she be getting used to the lower numbers so she doesn't bounce all the time? I'm happy with the good days and then "boing". Any advice and suggestions?
 
@Bandit's Mom Any idea what is going on with Susie. She will have a good day, then a bad day, then a good day, then a bad day. Are all these yellows bounces? Is she going to be one of those cats that can't even get regulated because she is so bouncy. Shouldn't she be getting used to the lower numbers so she doesn't bounce all the time? I'm happy with the good days and then "boing". Any advice and suggestions?
Hi Summer, she is indeed bouncy. I know bounces are really frustrating. Some cats flatten out faster and some take a little longer and unfortunately, some never do. I think Susie needs a little more time. She has been on insulin 8 months now, but if you see her SS, her body has really had the opportunity to see greens only for the last 3 months or so when you switched to a more aggressive dosing method.

You're doing a great job of testing and feeding. Just give her some more time. You never know when they suddenly flip a switch and decide to stop bouncing. :bighug:
 
Summer, what Bhooma said is true. Let it sink in that Susie isn’t going to be like those cats (even my Tina) that read the protocol and fell, fairly easily into the Plan.
@Sue and Luci is very familiar with a kitty like Susie, I’ll bet! I used to try to figure out what Sue could do differently, but she was doing things right, and Luci just loved starting her days in the lemon tree!
 
Hi Summer, she is indeed bouncy. I know bounces are really frustrating. Some cats flatten out faster and some take a little longer and unfortunately, some never do. I think Susie needs a little more time. She has been on insulin 8 months now, but if you see her SS, her body has really had the opportunity to see greens only for the last 3 months or so when you switched to a more aggressive dosing method.

You're doing a great job of testing and feeding. Just give her some more time. You never know when they suddenly flip a switch and decide to stop bouncing. :bighug:
Thanks, Bhooma. Just wanted to make sure you didn't see something that I should be doing that I am not.
 
Summer, what Bhooma said is true. Let it sink in that Susie isn’t going to be like those cats (even my Tina) that read the protocol and fell, fairly easily into the Plan.
@Sue and Luci is very familiar with a kitty like Susie, I’ll bet! I used to try to figure out what Sue could do differently, but she was doing things right, and Luci just loved starting her days in the lemon tree!
Thanks, Jan. Susie doesn't believe in protocol or plan. She goes her own way.
 
Last edited:
I am happy about this, Mandy. As far as the fewer yellows - the day is still young and Susie has been known to "turn on a dime". I hope you are right about her little body getting more and more used to the lower numbers.
 
Good morning Summer. I see Susie decided to take a dive into deeper waters today. :woot::woot: Hope you are able to sneak in your 11:00 nap :). How is your mom doing? I hope you can come terms with the holidays and be comfortable with your decisions. It is a lot and I think so many have found that they just can’t get their heart on board with big celebrations and all that entails. I don’t know what, if anything, your mom’s doctors say about big get togethers, but for Rob, his doctor put the nix on all of it because of his weakened immune system. My family, all my grandkids and their significant others are all unvaccinated and don’t wear masks. On Sunday he stayed outside, wore a mask and social distanced except with our great-grandsons. Unknowingly, last Christmas, we were there and my granddaughter, her husband and our 1 month old and 8 yr old great grandsons all had Covid and didn’t know it yet. We all dodged a bullet that day. :nailbiting: If I am sounding negative, I don’t mean to, just realistic about our situation. It could all change by November :rolleyes:
Sending hugs and a happy Tuesday to all. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope Susie continues to see that green, but stops bouncing around all over the place soon. Best of luck getting some naps and testing breaks in, but Susie is gonna do what Susie is gonna do apparently.
 
If you go back to the beginning of Susie's SS and scroll down you can see the improvement. There is hardly any pink now and lots of blues and greens. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks for the words of encouragement. Yes, it has been a week since we last saw a pink - thank goodness. I do hope someday she will stop all the bouncing but I know there is the possibility that she won't
 
Good morning Summer. I see Susie decided to take a dive into deeper waters today. :woot::woot: Hope you are able to sneak in your 11:00 nap :). How is your mom doing? I hope you can come terms with the holidays and be comfortable with your decisions. It is a lot and I think so many have found that they just can’t get their heart on board with big celebrations and all that entails. I don’t know what, if anything, your mom’s doctors say about big get togethers, but for Rob, his doctor put the nix on all of it because of his weakened immune system. My family, all my grandkids and their significant others are all unvaccinated and don’t wear masks. On Sunday he stayed outside, wore a mask and social distanced except with our great-grandsons. Unknowingly, last Christmas, we were there and my granddaughter, her husband and our 1 month old and 8 yr old great grandsons all had Covid and didn’t know it yet. We all dodged a bullet that day. :nailbiting: If I am sounding negative, I don’t mean to, just realistic about our situation. It could all change by November :rolleyes:
Sending hugs and a happy Tuesday to all. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Susie is doing well today. Is Rob your husband? You did dodge a bullet last year. Goodness, your family not being vaccinated is scary. I would be afraid to spend time with them. Last year, it was just my Mom and I for Thanksgiving and Christmas. We picked up a Thanksgiving meal and made a small Christmas dinner ourselves. No one else joined us. If things don't get better we will be doing that again this year although it is heart-breaking for my Mom. She has always loved the big family get-togethers and I keep thinking this will be her last, this will be her last............. You don't sound negative. You sound smart and especially concerned for Rob. My brother and sister-in-law travel a lot and my sister-in-law comes to our house every Tuesday on her lunch break. They are both vaccinated but I worry that she is going to bring the delta variant in to our house and my Mom is especially immune compromised. But, how do I bring this up with my sister-in-law? We stopped letting her come last year for many months but she is back now.

Anyway, nice to see all those greens that Dolly got yesterday. I saw in your notes yesterday "What Happened". Were you referring to Dolly's drop or something else?
 
I hope Susie continues to see that green, but stops bouncing around all over the place soon. Best of luck getting some naps and testing breaks in, but Susie is gonna do what Susie is gonna do apparently.
Yep, Susie has a mind of her own. Happy Remission Day to you, Alisa. May your Field Commander Cohen stand tough and always spend time at The Falls. :)
 
Last edited:
Nice cycle today :woot: hope it is followed by a calmer but still nice cycle :bighug:
Thanks, Marina, for checking on us. I am expecting a "bounce" after today. Can't figure out why her PMPS are usually better than the AMPS. I am trying to fed her last pm meal a little later in the cycle. Hoping that that might lower the AMPS. Anyway, I am grateful for today's numbers. Tomorrow, if she follows her typical pattern, she will be bouncing.
 
Wow, Summer, 50s today.
Hi Suzanne. Yes, 50s today but watch how high she will fly after today. I will have another "sucky" day tomorrow. Hope you are well and all your cats and kittens are doing well. Thank you for stopping in and checking on us. I hope you will always do this. By the way, can you send some of your Georgia rain down my way?
 
Back
Top