8/24 Sebastian AMPS 230 +3 275 +6 230 +9 248 PMPS 258 B-0HB 0.7

Justin & Sebastian

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

AMPS 230, 11lbs 14oz, B-0HB 1.5. Looks like he probably spent some time in the purples last night. Hopefully we can bring the numbers down today. Not going to give him a bubble yet but I'll check blood ketones again at midday and if he's higher I will.
 
Hope he starts coming down for you. Is he on an AB ? I think there was mention about needing one in a previous thread.
No, his blood work looked like possible infection so we were anticipating the possibility but all that came from the vet visit was an appt for the dental work.

However at this point I think tooth issues is very likely. Last night at dinner he went up to his food but didn't eat it right away so I gave him a 1/2 cerenia in case he was feeling nauseous. The only way I can give those tabs is to put it in his cheek and rub it until it dissolves, and when I did that last night he completely freaked out. He started pawing at his mouth and rubbing it on everything. When he finally settled down a little bit and tried to eat, he wouldn't chew and couldn't figure out how to eat. He eventually calmed down and went back to normal but it seemed like the pill put his mouth in pain.
 
So good news, after last night's episode I decided to pop into the vet to see if they can sneak him in if anything earlier opens up. There's a slot on Tuesday where they only had one scheduled so she checked with the surgeon and we can get him then, so only a couple days wait. Very happy.

I'll still check out the specialist link but I kinda think I'm more comfortable letting my normal vet do it. They're setup for it, they do it regularly, and they did his last one and I'd prefer him being somewhere where they already all know and love him rather than taking him somewhere brand new that wouldn't necessarily be aware of all his issues and nuances.
 
275@+3. Not too bad, considering how much he's eaten. I think I'm going to wind up holding the dose at 6.5u through Tuesday. Since fixing up his teeth will probably lead to lower BGs, and the fact that we'll have to fast him, I don't want to build up any larger of a depot than absolutely necessary.
 
That does sound like a tooth issues. Some other signs are dropping the food from their mouth while eating, tilting the head way over to one side while eating, excessive drooling, as you saw pawing at the mouth.

Bubba just about always went off his feed while he had a tooth issues. One issue wasn't even a full year after a cleaning and an extraction! sigh...

You might want to pick up some all meat baby food to give him if he goes off his feed, that would usually keep Bubba eating along with sprinkling a little flortiflora ontop.

I would call the vet and tell them that he is not eating for you and what you observed this morning with the pawing at his face. Once, my practive was going to make Bubba wait about 3 weeks and I was the squeaky wheel about him being a diabetic cat, not eating, and with giving him insulin, not a good thing, yatta yatta. You have an even better plead with a DKA kitty. Tell them that neither of you want to see that happen again and for them PLEASE to prioritize him. And maybe they should cover him with an AB to subdue any infection. That in itself with keep the infection quiet AND he might need something for pain like buprenorphine , but you are all ready giving him that.
 
Some other signs are dropping the food from their mouth while eating, tilting the head way over to one side while eating, excessive drooling, as you saw pawing at the mouth.
All things he did last night. He drooled real bad right after I gave him the pill, then the face pawing, then when he was trying to eat he kept dropping it and/or tilted to one side.

I would call the vet and tell them that he is not eating for you
He is eating, thankfully. It was only for about an hour after I gave the pill last night that he was having trouble, and even then he was trying to eat just couldn't figure out how. But after about an hour he was fine, ate all his night food and has eaten a ton this morning. So it seems like it's probably not a constant pain issue but the chemicals in the pill aggravating it and causing pain.
 
Poor little Sebastian, it's great to hear they're taking him in earlier than you expected. Have a great day Justin!
 
So would the 1.5 be equivalent to trace?
Negative actually. I made a dedicated thread in the main health forums where it was explained to me, apparently ketones don't start showing up on the urine strip until we get to at least 2.4 on the blood meter. I had one urine strip during that period that was a shade above negative, not dark enough for trace, and all others were negative. So the blood meter is basically like an early warning system.
 
Back
Top