My vet is out of town for 3 weeks!
Unless you have another vet you'd rather see, you'll have to go to whomever is covering his practice while he's out of town if Ravan needs to see a vet.
I'm in the same time zone as you. Make a decision before closing time so you aren't left with an expensive ER as your only choice.
Everything looked good. Even his Kidney values have stabilized. Dr. said his teeth looked good also.
That's a plus!
His BG started rising at 3:30 yesterday morning. It's steady climbing. So far he's acting OK eating & even playing, chasing leaves. In 18 months I've never seen this happen so quickly?
I'm happy to hear he doesn't seem to be bothered. I have no idea what's wrong. None of us can tell/diagnosis over the Internet.
I have seen BG rise as quickly as Ravan's has. I've even seen it go higher. When it happened with Alex it was usually a sign of a p-titis flare starting up, but I don't know what it *could* be with Ravan. However, there were also times when it just appeared to be a blip on the radar... gone as quickly as it came on.
It's weird with cats... they can be seemingly fine one minute, and not fine only a minute later. I think cats are masters of hiding physical problems.
I can't tell you what to do or even know what's best in your situation. All I can do is suggest if you're truly scared and worried the best thing to do is have him seen by a vet. You've had pets for years. If your gut is telling you something is wrong, there is probably something wrong.
These seizures loom in the back of my mind. Ravan having one so recently makes this more concerning than it might have been otherwise. Having him seen by a vet may be best for that reason alone.
Should I raise his does PM if he's still high? I've been using calipers & only increasing by tiny amounts?
That's a call you'll have to make based on your knowledge of Ravan AND whether you're willing, able, and can commit to monitoring him carefully if needed. If you feel he needs more than a minute dose adjustment, increase by up to 0.25 unit. Play it by ear. Give him what you think he needs. Don't worry about 'protocol'.
FWIW, I've never found calipers necessary nor am I a proponent of calipers except for when more than one person in a household is administering shots. IMHO, they do more for a caregiver's confidence and peace of mind than anything else... and there's something to be said for that, but to each his own.
Just my thoughts...