? 8/24, Phoebe, PMPS 160

sam_j

Member Since 2022
Hello, this is my first post here. I've been keeping a spreadsheet of my cat Phoebe's glucose levels for the past few weeks.

Today she had a rather low PMPS test (160, using an AlphaTrak meter) and I'm unsure what the recommendation would be for her PM shot. Her regular dose is 2 units of Lantus. I'm not following any specific dosing protocol yet, the vet simply said to give 2 units twice a day and so that's what I've been doing. I see in the SLGS protocol one would skip a shot if the preshot value is under 150 (using a human meter), so by that rule I would skip today's shot since the AlphaTrak meter likely reads higher than a human meter.

But also, from Phoebe's past few days of data she typically has a high AMPS and then her numbers go down over the course of a day, often reaching the low 200s/high 100s in her PMPS, with her ultimate PM nadirs not being too low.

I don't want to skip a shot unnecessarily if doing so will mess up her "insulin depot" and give me wonky values for the next few days.

Here is her spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet..._1zOmdvZNcpAhAt4uFq4Ua1VA/edit#gid=1182885903
 
Welcome Sam and Phoebe , you couldn't have found a better group to join. We have many experienced members here and if it wasn't for their advice Tyler wouldn't be in remission since 1-24-21
It's great that you have your signature and SS set up already
Can you please add Lantus to your signature . Just tap in your name , then tap in signature and add it, then tap save

I noticed on your SS in the beginning you weren't shooting every 12 hours but I see you are now which is great

I see you have read the yellow stickys about Lantus
It would be helpful if you can pick a dosing method and add it to your signature and SS that will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed

We adjust the dose by how low the cat is dropping , not by the Pre Shots
We also adjust by 0.25 units at a time which I see you have been doing
It's really important to test before each shot.
I'm going to tag a few experienced members when it comes to doses
@Wendy&Neko

@tiffmaxee

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@sam_j

Here is the link for the dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Do you have a hypo kit set up such as
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
and honey

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
 
I don't have any high carb wet food, though I do still have some fresh dry kibble and high carb cat treats in an emergency. I also have a variety of syrups etc. I'll get some of the high carb wet food for the future.
 
Can you add New Member to your Title in front of the date .
With any dry food in the picture you will have to follow SLGS

Normal BG on the Alpha Trak is 68-150.
.On SLGS, you reduce the dose by .25 when he drops below 90 (on either meter human or pet )
Take action on a pet meter is 68 time to feed high carbs
We stay with the same dose for both cycles
Thought I'd mention this I know the test strips are very expensive, I used the AT in the beginning then switched to a human meter. Most of us use human meters that's what our numbers are based on, but if you want to use the AT that's fine
You can go to Walmart or order on line the
Relion Premier Classic for 9 dollars
17.88 for 100 test strips
At least you can run to Walmart and pick up test strips if you need them
 
Last edited:
Welcome. With SLGS you hold each dose for 7 days unless a reduction is earned. So you never should have raised his dose to 2.0 after the earned reduction. Since you did raise the dose give it 7 days unless he drops under 90 and earns a reduction.
 
I ended up giving her the PM shot at 7:30pm, half an hour later than usual. I gave the full 2 unit dose. The +4 BG measurement was then 357 (I even tested twice to make sure it wasn't a fluke) which surprised me.
 
With Lantus try to give it exactly the same time as the AM shot
You can be 15 minutes late every now and then or 30 minutes but it's really best to try and give it the same time every 12 hours.
It will take 5-7 days for the depot to fill unless she drops under 90 then you would decrease by 0.25 units

With that 96 you saw on 8-23 and then the black BG the next morning she could have what we call bouncing
Bounces happen when 1. they drop too low, 2. they drop too fast, 3. they drop into numbers their body isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all 3). The liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring the blood glucose back up. They "bounce" high. It can take up to 6 cycles (3 days) for those hormones to clear out of the body but usually, as the body gets more used to being in "good" numbers, the bounces won't last as long and they won't bounce as high. We call it "liver training school"
 
Last edited:
Back
Top