8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50617

Oh boy, lower start to the day.

New vet called last night and of course I was not home. My husband talked to him for a bit and what he got out of it was the vet thought she should be regulated by now and that she should be on a higher dose, which is what I am working towards apparently. The former vet never had her higher than 2 units. If he suggests another insulin, should I go with that or stick with the Lantus?
 
That's a nice AMPS to start your day Miss Kitty cat_pet_icon
I would stay with the Lantus for a while longer, if your vet suggests otherwise. That's just my opinion. Lantus is a great insulin. My vet claims to be "a PZI man", and knows very little about Lantus (or Levemir).
 
i think miss kitty is just beginning to show a nice response. if i were in your shoes, i'd continue following the tight regulation protocol and stick with lantus for the time being. :-D

just my thoughts...
 
I agree with the others. I would give Lantus more time. Miss Kitty is looking better and you need to give Lantus time to do its magic.

Good luck!!
 
Thanks, I would like to stick with it too. Even though she has been diagnosed since December of 2010, I have only been doing it this way since June. The other vet would have her off and on at times, when she went low, they would say don't give any insulin and they would have her from 1 unit to 1.5 to 2 units, never over 2 units. I hope the new vet will work with me for a while this way. He said he has been a diabetic himself for 35 years.
 
I agree with the others. Miss Kitty is starting to show the benefits of consistent dosing and following the tight regulation protocol.
I have found some vets just don't get it - you just have to sometimes smile and nod - and carry on down your chosen path! :-D
Great AMPS there!
 
Hi guys .. very sweet start to the day miss kitty! Our vet also was unfamiliar with lantus when we asked her about it .. after she did research she wrote us the 'script and we have used it ever since .. mocha bounced all over the place for a good long time but now she is enjoying her condo at the falls .. have a great day!
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

Need advice. I am going out for the evening, need to leave the house at 630p, her shot time is 530p. Should I just skip the shot?? I'm off tomorrow and Friday, so I can monitor her those days and the weekend. Should I give some HC food??
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

Miss Kitty has definately earned a decrease.

What time zone are you in? How long will you be gone tonight?
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

I'm at workk right now and can't see ss.

Did you get any tests between AMPS and +11? Did she eat today - when?

Have you re-tested?
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

I just gave it to her while I was testing her plus a little tuna. She had a little tuna when I tested her at +11 with the 37 reading. Do you think I should skip the shot for tonight?
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

Hold off on more food until you see the next number.
You've got an hour or so to stall.
My gut feeling is not to skip, but maybe shoot a reduced dose - numbers permitting.
Can you get a +12 and +12.5?

Hopefully others will chime in...

I'm going to run into the house so I can see ss. BRB
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

+12 is preshot right? I can get that and probably the +12.5. I haven't added these new number to the ss yet.
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

She is at 58. I really wouldn't feel comfortable giving her a shot now and then walking out the door. No one is here to even watch her. Oh boy.
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

Agreed.

Call it a "fur shot" and start your reduced dose in the AM.

Feed her her normal meal before you go

eta - grab another test if you can, and test when you return
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

April

I would be reticent to shoot a number that is food influenced unless you are experienced doing it and you will be there. For her to drop this late in the cycle, it's possible that after the food wears off, she'll come back down. And if you aren't there, that is a problem.

I'm just jumping in here and haven't read it all yet but do you absolutely have to leave or can you stall a little longer?
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

My husband informed me we need to leave at 6P. I'm going to test her one more time and leave her dinner for her. I can test a couple times when I get back home too.
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

I agree with Sandy. If you have to go, skip the shot and start over again tomorrow at your normal shot time or if you want to move her shot time, tomorrow would be the time to do it.

If she is high in the morning, you have two choices:
1. shoot the current dose through the bounce. If you do this, you must be home to monitor because sometimes they will come right back down (and sometimes fast) esp on a full shed. Again...this is only an option if you are there to closely monitor her and you are comfortable with her "possibly" having low numbers.

2. shoot the .25u dose reduction she earned today which I believe would be from 2.25u today to 2.0u tomorrow? I looked at your SS but had a sudden blackout on what your current dose is....sorry ;-)

Are those clear options and you ok with choosing one of them? She was just clearing her bounce today....my girl does it like this just about every time.
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

Yes, that's clear. Thanks again for all the help. I will be home tomorrow so I can work with her better then.
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

last test before heading out the door is 74. I guess I can breathe a little easier.
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

So much for what the vet had to say! Nice job today.

Please remember to update your SS when you have a chance. And, take the "Help" out of your subject line.
 
Re: 8/24 Miss Kitty AMPS 172 HELP!! +11 37

Yes ma'am, I'm going to do all that right now. We just got back and she is at 238. Hope she doesn't go too high by tomorrow morning, but better safe than sorry.
 
She'll come back down.
If she is high in the morning,and I expect she will be, if you are able, go with option 1 (that cycle only, then you go with the reduced dose for PM cycle)

Marjorie and Gracie said:
If she is high in the morning, you have two choices:
1. shoot the current dose through the bounce. If you do this, you must be home to monitor because sometimes they will come right back down (and sometimes fast) esp on a full shed. Again...this is only an option if you are there to closely monitor her and you are comfortable with her "possibly" having low numbers.

2. shoot the .25u dose reduction she earned today which I believe would be from 2.25u today to 2.0u tomorrow? I looked at your SS but had a sudden blackout on what your current dose is....sorry ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top