8/24 Michael AMPS 166 +3 170 PMPS 81 STALLING HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/25 Michael AMPS166

Psst....don't get TOO ahead of yourself, it is only 8/24, you may want to update your subject line.....

iz excited to play wif you today Michael....iz more funs when we can pway together! ~ Skooter


Nice job, Michael and mom! Now, surf safely with that blue there Michael!
 
Re: 8/24 Michael AMPS 166 +3 170

Thanks, Molly
Skooter, I'm going to try to surf with you today. It should be sooooo fun! Michael.
 
Re: 8/24 Michael AMPS 166 +3 170

Nice blue AMPS today Paula!

Surf those pretty blue waves today Michael....and if you want to dip your toes into the green lagoon, I'm sure your mamabean won't mind! She might freak out a little, but she'll be OK!....LOL
 
Re: 8/24 Michael AMPS 166 +3 170

The green lagoon will match his beautiful eyes!
Chris your'e right. I probably will freak, but I will just have to get past it.
 
Re: 8/24 Michael AMPS 166 +3 170

looking pretty good today, michael! i think the tapazole is responsible for his atypical cycles - but it's not a problem. he needs it so we work with it.

i saw your comment later last night about looking out for you - don't worry. there are several of us watching out for you and will help you. If you want, you could increase by 0.25u to try to get him into greens. But since you're not going for remission, it's ok if you want blue numbers to be your goal. typically you would want to keep him below renal threshold, somewhere around 200, to protect his kidneys.

So your choice - if you want to keep holding this dose, it seems like it is keeping him in decent numbers as his body is settling into it. If you'd like to get him a little lower, you could increase by 0.25u.

In order to measure that, because i know that is challenging, i'd just scoot the plunger to hold a hair more than it currently holds. It can be very helpful to keep a used syringe near by with colored water (tea, coffee) to use to compare your dose from one time to the next.
 
Re: 8/24 Michael AMPS 166 +3 170

Thanks, Julie.
The info is great. I didn't know renal threshold is under 200. I do want to protect his kidneys. Maybe he will stay in the blues for a while so Mr. L can get use to lower #'s.
The more info I get from people watching out for Michael, the more I understand, and know what to look at. (I think)
 
Re: 8/24 Michael AMPS 166 +3 170

it takes everyone a while to understand - and i'd think having had the brain aneurisms it would be even more difficult for you. i didn't really know much about diabetes before punkin became diabetic. I didn't understand why people had trouble getting regulated, but after working with punkin I got it. Cats are even more difficult than humans and dogs to get regulated.

It helped when I really understood that insulin is a hormone - so unlike taking the same dose of blood pressure meds every day for years on end, it's more like an adolescent girl's body. I have 2 daughters - so THAT, i got! :lol: think slamming doors and lots of tears - up one moment and down in the next. that's feline diabetes. :-D
 
Re: 8/24 Michael AMPS 166 +3 170

Julie
Couldn't agree more!
FD is awful . I try to take one day at a time, but it is so hard, when everything is constantly up & down!
 
Re: 8/24 Michael AMPS 166 +3 170

It made me smile seeing Michaels amps. Hopefully the trend continues for both Michael and you.
 
Re: 8/24 Michael AMPS 166 +3 170

I just tested pmps 85. I usually don't shoot below 100. Should I decrease the dose.
 
Re: 8/24 Michael AMPS 166 +3 170 PMPS 85 STALLING HELP!

Stall 30 minutes, without feeding, and test again. You don't decrease the dose unless they go below 50. Often when kitty starts out low they do a very flat cycle, but given that Michael was sliding down the PMPS, it's best to wait until he's on the rise or surfing before shooting.
 
Thanks Wendy
I waited 30 minutes without feeding and the bg went 81. Prior to the 30 minutes the bg was 85.
PMPS was originally 85, I waited 30 min. (didn't feed) tested again thebg was 81. The #'s are going down.
I just fed him. What should I do?
 
It looks like he's surfing, those numbers are within meter variance. But the decision is up to you. This could be an exciting cycle with you having to test frequently and manage low numbers. Or not. Michael's not talking. If you aren't able to monitor, I'd skip. You'll likely get a high number in the morning. Even if you shoot a reduced dose, there could still be some action tonight, though not as much as if you shoot the full dose. What do you feel like doing?
 
I'm still nervous, so I will reduce to 1u. He was on 1.5u. I want to keep him safe. I just tested again he is at 74. Since he keeps going down. I think I will skip.
 
that's ok to skip if you want. just expect that he will be high in the morning.

one more option: you can continue to test every 20-30 minutes, and then as soon as he starts up, you can shoot his regular dose then.

If you do that, his next shot is due 12 hrs later - some people can't work with their schedule being off.
 
Well look at Michael go!!

I had a feeling yesterday that he was up to something! I don't know exactly why, but something about his spreadsheet the last few days was just whispering to me "don't advise her to increase just yet!"

Most of us will shoot anything above 50 once we have the data to feel comfortable, but what you do tonight has to be what's comfortable for you. If you can be up all night and test if necessary, shooting low numbers can lead to beautiful flat green cycles....and all that wonderful pancreas healing time!

But if you can't stay up all night if necessary, don't have the supplies you need for an all night session or can't afford to be sleepy tomorrow, sometimes it's best to skip, but you can expect higher numbers tomorrow and the "6 cycle clock" starts over

At this point, it's really up to you and what you feel most comfortable doing. Since you fed, he'll probably have a food spike coming up soon, but you don't want to confuse that with a natural rise from the Lantus wearing off. Learning the difference just takes time and experience and even the most experienced people here sometimes guess wrong!

Good luck with whatever you decide to do! We'll always try to be here no matter what!
 
Don't understand why he keeps going down. He ate all his dinner. I was going to give him 1u until this happened. Now I am really confused. Its Sunday. The vet is closed and I don't have a way to Er. so to be safe I skipped the shot. Don't understand this dance at all. The vet isn't any help. I am so nervous right now, I don't know How much longer I can keep doing this. I'm stressed out all the time and Michael senses it. I don't want him to wither away to nothing. He is never going to get regulated if I keep skipping shots or reducing doses every time something like this happens. The vet increased his tap. for the hyperT to 2.5 tab bid. I didn't give him his pill tonight for fear that would make the bg go even lower. I'm terrified he is going to die before its his time.
 
he's basically flat, paula. i dont' think he's in any danger at all. it's not unusual for a cat to keep going down when you stall, but he'll begin to go up before long and likely once he starts up, he'll really zoom up.

you don't need the vet right now. His tapazole has been raising his BGs, not lowering them. I'd think you could give it to him, but if you want to wait until his BGs are rising, that's likely ok too.

I'd test again 30 minutes after the last test.
 
i wanted to add, paula, that you're doing fine. we all have to work up to shooting lower numbers at our own speed. it's perfectly ok. Michael's not going to die from this - we've had LOTS of cats be much higher than him for longer periods of time.

Once you've been confronted with a low preshot number, it's very likely you'll get one again. So if you want to shoot it next time, you'll have another chance. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top